Thank Me Later

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 275

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricY
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    TML is definitely one of the greates hip hop albums of the century. Drake has shown us, once again, his ability to be real and mix the genders. TML has different tempos and is one of those cds that you keep listening over and over and over again.
  2. KaosH
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: *Fireworks *Show Me A Good Time *Up All Night *Unforgettable *Over *Miss Me the weakest tracks on the CD to me are Karaoke, Light Up, and CeCe's Interlude (not really a track, its an interlude, but still i dont like it that much). I Think that 11 out of the 14 songs on the CD are that good. This is why I gave it a 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. MackM.
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    This album really aids a fan in relting to Drake's struggle. I believe the tone of the album, at best, portrays the many facets of the Degrassi Actor and Canada Native. I hope his sales later become a reflection of his hard work and dedication.
  4. AngeloS
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    I think it was a very heartfelt presentation, of the ups and downs of his new found success. Although he is thankful for his success, he also suffers quite a bit, as aspects of his live are slowly falling apart. He manages to put these in words, and that is why this album is so amazing.
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Drake again is showing his potential in the future he is well past his peers at Cash Money Records and is on his way to the top of the food chain, his songs are smart and bring class to the table when it comes to mainstream rap. His work so far has been good if he can keep it up he will show people what it really means to be an artist. He has been releasing stuff constantly and has thatDrake again is showing his potential in the future he is well past his peers at Cash Money Records and is on his way to the top of the food chain, his songs are smart and bring class to the table when it comes to mainstream rap. His work so far has been good if he can keep it up he will show people what it really means to be an artist. He has been releasing stuff constantly and has that workaholic mentality that Lil Wayne has and it has served them both well, they are examples of what you can accomplished when you are determined, and work your hardest, to the best of your abilities. Light Up was an incredible song, and not his only one either, Thank Me Later has numerous hits that would stand out on any album. One of the best mainstream albums of the year so far. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    I was expecting more from him his mixtape was just great and he did good for an debut album there are songs that caught my eye such as the swagger filled song "Fancy" and the boastful "Show Me A Good Time" but those that lack substance is "Karaoke" which seems so bland and kind of pointless Drake has shown us he has potential but let's face it this is no where near better than "So FarI was expecting more from him his mixtape was just great and he did good for an debut album there are songs that caught my eye such as the swagger filled song "Fancy" and the boastful "Show Me A Good Time" but those that lack substance is "Karaoke" which seems so bland and kind of pointless Drake has shown us he has potential but let's face it this is no where near better than "So Far Gone" it is However a good album I gave him an 8 due to his intro and outro songs being attention grabbers in sum you will not be disappointed as long as you don't have the mixtape on your mind Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    This album is almost perfect. I find that most of the songs are wonderful, though occasionally you might notice the same beats in the background. This album represents, and lives up to the hype that is Drake, the lyrics are what get me, they are deep, well thought out and at times witty. Drake let's us into his mind and soul for this album, and describes the very essence of who he is. TheThis album is almost perfect. I find that most of the songs are wonderful, though occasionally you might notice the same beats in the background. This album represents, and lives up to the hype that is Drake, the lyrics are what get me, they are deep, well thought out and at times witty. Drake let's us into his mind and soul for this album, and describes the very essence of who he is. The album is good, I wouldn't say great, because a couple of the middle tracks aren't incredible, and don't fit in, but most of the songs are fabulous tunes, that fans of almost any genre can enjoy. I'm not using this argument as an excuse, but Drake himself knew the album wouldn't be perfect because Motown Records pushed him to make the album date, and wouldn't allow an extension. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    In this album, Drake voices his opinion on fame, fortune, and women. From his strong to soft voice, to his excitement in the lyrical raps that he writes, this album shows a promised future for the X Degrassi star. I wish him all the best.
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    This album was good. I like this album but too much singing in it. This album was more rnb than hip hop. I think Drake did a great job with his first album. Really good songs. I think this is one of the best hip hop album of the year.
  10. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    Good positive debut album in my opinion from Drake. When first listening to it, i enjoyed the album and admired the talent he had. Granted there are a few tracks that arent fantastic but Drake wil only learn for the next time. However i do feel that he may need to show off his rapping more than what he showed cos he clearly has it. If he does that he will definitely earn even more respectGood positive debut album in my opinion from Drake. When first listening to it, i enjoyed the album and admired the talent he had. Granted there are a few tracks that arent fantastic but Drake wil only learn for the next time. However i do feel that he may need to show off his rapping more than what he showed cos he clearly has it. If he does that he will definitely earn even more respect than he already has. Expand
  11. May 19, 2011
    8
    This is a good album. Really. He opens up with the incredibly emotional & fantastically worded "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)", and continues his flow with tracks like "Up All Night (f. Nicki Minaj)", as well as "Fancy (f. Swizz Beatz & T.I.). However, this album sinks with some of his weaker tracks, such as "The Resistance" & "Thank Me Now", which ends the album on a shaky (and annoying)This is a good album. Really. He opens up with the incredibly emotional & fantastically worded "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)", and continues his flow with tracks like "Up All Night (f. Nicki Minaj)", as well as "Fancy (f. Swizz Beatz & T.I.). However, this album sinks with some of his weaker tracks, such as "The Resistance" & "Thank Me Now", which ends the album on a shaky (and annoying) note. However, this album shines, and I hope he nails "Take Care" like he did with this. I also hope to see some more material like his "So Far Gone" mixtape. Key Tracks: "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)" "Fancy (f. T.I. & Swizz Beatz" Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Powerful and deep. Drake's self-conscious persona mixed with addicting beats conjures up a masterful album. His singing may not be the best, but his vocals help paint a more vivid picture for the average listener. Drake does not disappoint on this album, he is a very talented rapper who is aware of the rewards and consequences of fame.
  13. Feb 23, 2015
    7
    Drake has finally put a footprint in the rap industry after the release of this album. There is a perfect mix of slow, melodic beats and fast-paced jams that you can nod your head to.
  14. Apr 5, 2015
    6
    This album isn't bad but it really doesn't show Drake's talent as a rapper. This album mostly consists of songs that are just slow R&B with very few songs that show him rapping. Honestly it gets a B- from me. Highlights: "Up All Night", "Miss Me". Worst song: "Find Your Love"
  15. GregC
    Jun 18, 2010
    9
    Impressive debut album. Drake possesses some serious skills on the mic, being able to actually hold a tune unlike his advocaries who think that they could, and if you're still on that whole "Drake can't rap" boat, I advise you to get off because it's a quickly sinking ship.
  16. MarkC
    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    This album was hyped to be so much, but was a completely let down. As a Hip hop fan, this is awful, Drake may as well call himself a Pop artist, he cant sing and just uses Autotune like theres no tomorrow.
  17. LashaeR
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album especially for a debut. I love the fact that not only can he rap but he sings , and when he sings it's actually pleasant.
  18. ArmandoC.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    The smooth beats and really deep and insightful lyrics makes this a great album overall. Drake is very skilled and he knows it!
  19. JDX
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Is it a classic, almost. Not many new faces can make and album of this caliber the first time out which makes it even more impressive. Of course there will be haters, there always are, but Drake more than delivered on his hype in my view and they will just have to swallow it.
  20. JayM
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    One of the top albums of the year already. The synth chill beats he has on the album make it a perfect CD to waste the day listening to. Sometimes the subject topic is monotonous but overall Drake has fully embedded himself as a power in the rap game with this album.
  21. pitom
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Genuine introspection and bone-chilling production.
  22. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a real testament to how deep of an artist drake is. You can see a real variety of sounds whether it be more upbeat rap songs like Over or Miss Me, to a more slowed down, RnB style with songs like Cece's Interlude, Fireworks, and Shut It Down. The album is great, very fun to listen all the way through, and cant wait for more from him
  23. KCc
    Jun 18, 2010
    0
    One of the most disappointing debuts in hip hop!!! Drake sounds like a whiny f**kin' teenager looking for love. The problem is Drake has no pain or real issues to deal with. I guess when you grow up rich you're biggest problem is worrying about what happened to your high school jump off. This album sucks!!!!
  24. CodyT
    Jun 17, 2010
    3
    Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you look elsewhere for in your face spitting, because you won't find it here on this lackluster debut. Expand
  25. ChaoseK
    Jun 16, 2010
    0
    This autotune strash is just awful. His Lyrics are WACK as hell, & his flow is even more stupid. I hate Auto tune & his rapping is even worse. None of his songs are beyond just O.K, He gets by only because of his style & the fact that his futuristic music takes you to a place, a very strange place but a place nonetheless. I kinda like
  26. JMartinsS
    Jun 19, 2010
    0
    Awful, he can't sing, so what does he do all album? Sing. WIthout auto tune, this guy would be a laughing stock
  27. RandyJ
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    This reshapes the genre as much as 808's and Heartbreak. A classic piece of music that explores the limits of hip-hop, R&B, and pop.
  28. AjayD
    Jun 15, 2010
    2
    Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then this. In the end, I would recommend this Album to the young listeners. The Adults need to listen to better Hip Hop like Joe Budden, Crooked I, Nas, Tech N9ne, Atmosphere, Jedi Mind Tricks, Chad (Canadian), and others. Expand
  29. RyanD.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    Thank me later is really a nice laid back album. Drake is very depth in his lyric choice. His style is more energetic and calm in his debut album.He goes hard every song and kills it with is collabos with other artists.
  30. timothya
    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate hoax to trick people into thinking he is an updated version of the typical hardcore "street" rapper. Drake does not contribute anything new to the rap game, but instead comes off as a failed hybrid of lil wayne and Kanye west. Bragging abouts his exploits (in a less coy way than his contemporaries) and trying bitterly to have people understand that being rich and famous is difficult. We get it Drake, we are supposed to relate to you. However, in the end he is not the middle/upper class savior rap fans were hoping for. I think I will be thanking him much later, like never...That being said I like "Miss me" "Find your love" (I don't know why), "Thank me Now" and "show me a good time". Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.