User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 214

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricY
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    TML is definitely one of the greates hip hop albums of the century. Drake has shown us, once again, his ability to be real and mix the genders. TML has different tempos and is one of those cds that you keep listening over and over and over again.
  2. KaosH
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: *Fireworks *Show Me A Good Time *Up All Night *Unforgettable *Over *Miss Me the weakest tracks on the CD to me are Karaoke, Light Up, and CeCe's Interlude (not really a track, its an interlude, but still i dont like it that much). I Think that 11 out of the 14 songs on the CD are that good. This is why I gave it a 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. MackM.
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    This album really aids a fan in relting to Drake's struggle. I believe the tone of the album, at best, portrays the many facets of the Degrassi Actor and Canada Native. I hope his sales later become a reflection of his hard work and dedication.
  4. AngeloS
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    I think it was a very heartfelt presentation, of the ups and downs of his new found success. Although he is thankful for his success, he also suffers quite a bit, as aspects of his live are slowly falling apart. He manages to put these in words, and that is why this album is so amazing.
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Drake again is showing his potential in the future he is well past his peers at Cash Money Records and is on his way to the top of the food chain, his songs are smart and bring class to the table when it comes to mainstream rap. His work so far has been good if he can keep it up he will show people what it really means to be an artist. He has been releasing stuff constantly and has thatDrake again is showing his potential in the future he is well past his peers at Cash Money Records and is on his way to the top of the food chain, his songs are smart and bring class to the table when it comes to mainstream rap. His work so far has been good if he can keep it up he will show people what it really means to be an artist. He has been releasing stuff constantly and has that workaholic mentality that Lil Wayne has and it has served them both well, they are examples of what you can accomplished when you are determined, and work your hardest, to the best of your abilities. Light Up was an incredible song, and not his only one either, Thank Me Later has numerous hits that would stand out on any album. One of the best mainstream albums of the year so far. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    I was expecting more from him his mixtape was just great and he did good for an debut album there are songs that caught my eye such as the swagger filled song "Fancy" and the boastful "Show Me A Good Time" but those that lack substance is "Karaoke" which seems so bland and kind of pointless Drake has shown us he has potential but let's face it this is no where near better than "So FarI was expecting more from him his mixtape was just great and he did good for an debut album there are songs that caught my eye such as the swagger filled song "Fancy" and the boastful "Show Me A Good Time" but those that lack substance is "Karaoke" which seems so bland and kind of pointless Drake has shown us he has potential but let's face it this is no where near better than "So Far Gone" it is However a good album I gave him an 8 due to his intro and outro songs being attention grabbers in sum you will not be disappointed as long as you don't have the mixtape on your mind Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    This album is almost perfect. I find that most of the songs are wonderful, though occasionally you might notice the same beats in the background. This album represents, and lives up to the hype that is Drake, the lyrics are what get me, they are deep, well thought out and at times witty. Drake let's us into his mind and soul for this album, and describes the very essence of who he is. TheThis album is almost perfect. I find that most of the songs are wonderful, though occasionally you might notice the same beats in the background. This album represents, and lives up to the hype that is Drake, the lyrics are what get me, they are deep, well thought out and at times witty. Drake let's us into his mind and soul for this album, and describes the very essence of who he is. The album is good, I wouldn't say great, because a couple of the middle tracks aren't incredible, and don't fit in, but most of the songs are fabulous tunes, that fans of almost any genre can enjoy. I'm not using this argument as an excuse, but Drake himself knew the album wouldn't be perfect because Motown Records pushed him to make the album date, and wouldn't allow an extension. Collapse
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    In this album, Drake voices his opinion on fame, fortune, and women. From his strong to soft voice, to his excitement in the lyrical raps that he writes, this album shows a promised future for the X Degrassi star. I wish him all the best.
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    This album was good. I like this album but too much singing in it. This album was more rnb than hip hop. I think Drake did a great job with his first album. Really good songs. I think this is one of the best hip hop album of the year.
  10. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    Good positive debut album in my opinion from Drake. When first listening to it, i enjoyed the album and admired the talent he had. Granted there are a few tracks that arent fantastic but Drake wil only learn for the next time. However i do feel that he may need to show off his rapping more than what he showed cos he clearly has it. If he does that he will definitely earn even more respectGood positive debut album in my opinion from Drake. When first listening to it, i enjoyed the album and admired the talent he had. Granted there are a few tracks that arent fantastic but Drake wil only learn for the next time. However i do feel that he may need to show off his rapping more than what he showed cos he clearly has it. If he does that he will definitely earn even more respect than he already has. Expand
  11. May 19, 2011
    8
    This is a good album. Really. He opens up with the incredibly emotional & fantastically worded "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)", and continues his flow with tracks like "Up All Night (f. Nicki Minaj)", as well as "Fancy (f. Swizz Beatz & T.I.). However, this album sinks with some of his weaker tracks, such as "The Resistance" & "Thank Me Now", which ends the album on a shaky (and annoying)This is a good album. Really. He opens up with the incredibly emotional & fantastically worded "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)", and continues his flow with tracks like "Up All Night (f. Nicki Minaj)", as well as "Fancy (f. Swizz Beatz & T.I.). However, this album sinks with some of his weaker tracks, such as "The Resistance" & "Thank Me Now", which ends the album on a shaky (and annoying) note. However, this album shines, and I hope he nails "Take Care" like he did with this. I also hope to see some more material like his "So Far Gone" mixtape. Key Tracks: "Fireworks (f. Alicia Keys)" "Fancy (f. T.I. & Swizz Beatz" Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Powerful and deep. Drake's self-conscious persona mixed with addicting beats conjures up a masterful album. His singing may not be the best, but his vocals help paint a more vivid picture for the average listener. Drake does not disappoint on this album, he is a very talented rapper who is aware of the rewards and consequences of fame.
  13. GregC
    Jun 18, 2010
    9
    Impressive debut album. Drake possesses some serious skills on the mic, being able to actually hold a tune unlike his advocaries who think that they could, and if you're still on that whole "Drake can't rap" boat, I advise you to get off because it's a quickly sinking ship.
  14. MarkC
    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    This album was hyped to be so much, but was a completely let down. As a Hip hop fan, this is awful, Drake may as well call himself a Pop artist, he cant sing and just uses Autotune like theres no tomorrow.
  15. LashaeR
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album especially for a debut. I love the fact that not only can he rap but he sings , and when he sings it's actually pleasant.
  16. ArmandoC.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    The smooth beats and really deep and insightful lyrics makes this a great album overall. Drake is very skilled and he knows it!
  17. JDX
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Is it a classic, almost. Not many new faces can make and album of this caliber the first time out which makes it even more impressive. Of course there will be haters, there always are, but Drake more than delivered on his hype in my view and they will just have to swallow it.
  18. JayM
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    One of the top albums of the year already. The synth chill beats he has on the album make it a perfect CD to waste the day listening to. Sometimes the subject topic is monotonous but overall Drake has fully embedded himself as a power in the rap game with this album.
  19. pitom
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Genuine introspection and bone-chilling production.
  20. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a real testament to how deep of an artist drake is. You can see a real variety of sounds whether it be more upbeat rap songs like Over or Miss Me, to a more slowed down, RnB style with songs like Cece's Interlude, Fireworks, and Shut It Down. The album is great, very fun to listen all the way through, and cant wait for more from him
  21. KCc
    Jun 18, 2010
    0
    One of the most disappointing debuts in hip hop!!! Drake sounds like a whiny f**kin' teenager looking for love. The problem is Drake has no pain or real issues to deal with. I guess when you grow up rich you're biggest problem is worrying about what happened to your high school jump off. This album sucks!!!!
  22. CodyT
    Jun 17, 2010
    3
    Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you look elsewhere for in your face spitting, because you won't find it here on this lackluster debut. Expand
  23. ChaoseK
    Jun 16, 2010
    0
    This autotune strash is just awful. His Lyrics are WACK as hell, & his flow is even more stupid. I hate Auto tune & his rapping is even worse. None of his songs are beyond just O.K, He gets by only because of his style & the fact that his futuristic music takes you to a place, a very strange place but a place nonetheless. I kinda like
  24. JMartinsS
    Jun 19, 2010
    0
    Awful, he can't sing, so what does he do all album? Sing. WIthout auto tune, this guy would be a laughing stock
  25. RandyJ
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    This reshapes the genre as much as 808's and Heartbreak. A classic piece of music that explores the limits of hip-hop, R&B, and pop.
  26. AjayD
    Jun 15, 2010
    2
    Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then this. In the end, I would recommend this Album to the young listeners. The Adults need to listen to better Hip Hop like Joe Budden, Crooked I, Nas, Tech N9ne, Atmosphere, Jedi Mind Tricks, Chad (Canadian), and others. Expand
  27. RyanD.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    Thank me later is really a nice laid back album. Drake is very depth in his lyric choice. His style is more energetic and calm in his debut album.He goes hard every song and kills it with is collabos with other artists.
  28. timothya
    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate hoax to trick people into thinking he is an updated version of the typical hardcore "street" rapper. Drake does not contribute anything new to the rap game, but instead comes off as a failed hybrid of lil wayne and Kanye west. Bragging abouts his exploits (in a less coy way than his contemporaries) and trying bitterly to have people understand that being rich and famous is difficult. We get it Drake, we are supposed to relate to you. However, in the end he is not the middle/upper class savior rap fans were hoping for. I think I will be thanking him much later, like never...That being said I like "Miss me" "Find your love" (I don't know why), "Thank me Now" and "show me a good time". Expand
  29. JD
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    Its pretty good. I could you some more of his mixtape style rapping. Also I dont like the AUTOtune in some of the songs.
  30. VictorH
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Incredible!
  31. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    There's some deep stuff here on Drake's debut. There's also a lot of trash, probably because Lil Wayne mentored him.
  32. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    Drake is right. We still have to thank him later.

    Last year, Drake was the most talked-about star. He built up an incredible amount of hype with his mixtapes. HE signed on to the Young Money vessel. He had Lil Wayne's support. He had Jay-Z's support. So Far Gone sounded like an album. Fans were SO DAMN anxious for the release of his debut album. Like a rising basketball star on his way to
    Drake is right. We still have to thank him later.

    Last year, Drake was the most talked-about star. He built up an incredible amount of hype with his mixtapes. HE signed on to the Young Money vessel. He had Lil Wayne's support. He had Jay-Z's support. So Far Gone sounded like an album. Fans were SO DAMN anxious for the release of his debut album. Like a rising basketball star on his way to slam dunk, Drake had fans anticipating that moment of truth.

    That ball hit the board.

    Of course his diehard fans will applaud this album so much they'll campaign for it to be a classic. Trouble is, music lovers like myself know that would be a waste of time. This album is not bad but not great either. It's average.

    Drake isn't a half-bad rapper. He is better than many of the craploaders out there. But he isn't great. While some of his rhymes are good punches, his flow is a weakness. It rarely varies, and Drake sounds monotonous and uninteresting halfway through the album. His content too could be better. He isn't the best at braggadocio. But he could talk a little more. Pretty much the whole album is about his rise to fame, money, cars, and girls. Pretty mainstream.

    Another weakness is the beats. There are rarely any beats that stand out, save for "Over". Otherwise, all the beats are bland and quiet, really slowing the pace of the album. Yet another common weakness is the superior guest spots. Many times MCs are faced with the fact that their guest feature rip them up on their own track. Drake is no different. His blunder? All his rap guests outshine him.

    But the key to Drake's success is his ability to sing. He may not be trained but his voice is smooth, easily recognizable, and catchy. Find Your Love is the best track on the album because his singing really gives the song mood and pop sensibility.

    So the album isn't a complete disaster in no way. It was kind of what was expected, which isn't good because Drake is capable of doing so much more.
    Expand
  33. Dec 16, 2010
    0
    This is the most depressing CD I have ever heard. Considering he's Lil Wayne's protege I expected more flash and fun, but wow was I dissappointed. I don't feel sorry for this guy, stop whining so much and stop talking about being the greatest, you got a long long way to get there. Flash in the pan.
  34. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Money;Drugs;Sex. That's all he cares about apparently... He should learn to make some original lyrics instead of the same repetitive crap that they always have today.
  35. IanK.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    One of the most true and real rap albums to ever be released. Drake raps with realism and relates to his listeners by telling us about his life.
  36. JamieRitchie
    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    amazing album
  37. Michael
    Jun 15, 2010
    7
    Overall this was an average album. I am completely surprised that the metascore is at 82 right now. I recently listened to Eminem's recovery and that smashes on this album. If this album is an 82, then Recovery should at the very least be a 90!
  38. chada
    Jun 17, 2010
    5
    I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse he's just not talented enough to master the "Rap" side of the table he has catchy hooks but weak metaphors like"I can make you speak my language Rosetta stone" and a lack of substance and mediocre cadences make this one of the weakest rap debuts Note-No great rapper in history has had a weak or mediocre debut! Expand
  39. JMoney
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    UNDISPUTED Album of the year!!!
  40. Jan 9, 2011
    3
    I couldn't even listen to the whole album. I've heard better albums and rappers. But I'm going to give him a 3 because his singles (Over, Find Your Love) are epic.
  41. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I Made an account just to say that this album is amazing. After seeing reviews by dumb **** like CodyT giving this masterpiece a 3/10 makes me question the competence of the average human (codyT suck a big dick). Anyone else giving this a negative review you are crazy seriously if I knew you people Id beat the **** out of each one of you thats how much love I got for drake his musicI Made an account just to say that this album is amazing. After seeing reviews by dumb **** like CodyT giving this masterpiece a 3/10 makes me question the competence of the average human (codyT suck a big dick). Anyone else giving this a negative review you are crazy seriously if I knew you people Id beat the **** out of each one of you thats how much love I got for drake his music completes me, keep making that beautiful music Drake (amazing)! Expand
  42. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    At its best, this album is mediocre. Is Drake trying to be a pop artist, or a hip hop artist? "Thank Me Later"? I can't be thankful for something I'm reasonably ungrateful for.
  43. CodyH.
    Jun 15, 2010
    5
    Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the album. Drake attempts to use emotionally charged lyrics, but comes short. Overall the album is worth listening to but nothing special. Expand
  44. Gurjb
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Amazing how can these critics give this cd such unfair acclaim when they give artists like guccci mane soulja boy and others stupid rappers such good reviews.
  45. ConradM.
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able to show people what the real difference is between R&B and Pop. It is rare that a rapper can switch so freely between rapping and singing while still remaining in flow; even Kanye West had to do separate albums for each. The inside booklet is rather touching, but also ironic that he is thanking everyone else when the album's title suggests otherwise. The guest stars on this album supplement Drake well, with rappers Nicki Minaj, T.I., Jay-Z, Lil Wayne and Young Jeezy amplifying Drake's lyrical ability, and singers R&B Alicia Keys and The-Dream showing off his more emotional side. No I.D., Crada, Boi-1da, 40, Matthew Burnett, Tone Mason, Jeff Bhasker and Al-Khaaliq all show off their own production skills by helping Drake achieve what he has, and Producer-Rappers Swizz Beatz, Timbaland and Kanye West have given us their best. I am not going to ruin too much for you by mentioning any specific new tracks-that is up to you to think about-but European Bonus track Best I Ever Had is able to conclude the album by reminding us why we bought it. It shows us the journey Drake has travelled, and how much he has changed since his big breakthrough, So Far Gone, and you must remember this is his first album; Eminem himself didn't start off as great as he is now, anyone remember Infinite? Expand
  46. khalid
    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    Its a solid debut album...im not really sure if this is better than b.o.b.s album, then a good bit of tracks are r n b, but if you really like drake then this is a good album.
  47. ChadL
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Great album, all the way through. Lives up to the hype.
  48. DougL
    Jun 16, 2010
    9
    This wasn't what we expected, and it's the best surprise of the year.
  49. NathanJ
    Jun 19, 2010
    8
    The love songs, the clubblin', but don't get famous. With solid production from Boi-1da and 40 and features by Young Jeezy and Jay-Z this album will surely get some plays on your portable music device. A
  50. AndrewW.
    Jun 19, 2010
    10
    One of the most beautiful and impressing debuts of modern-day hip hop. Drake raps amazing flow over unusual but original slow-tempo beats, in "Fireworks", "The Resistance", and others. Hopefully, this will be what one of the best rappers in the spotlight will do until its over.
  51. Aug 18, 2010
    8
    Bit of a disappointing debut to be honest, but "Thank Me Later" sports a lot of impressive tracks from yours truly. I guess you can thank him later when he releases a more impressive album that hits hard like the Slim Shady LP did back in 1999.
  52. Aug 28, 2010
    7
    This is the use of autotune we need. To make it sound good. Wayne uses autotune but we dont criticize him on that. This kid is good, but not as good as up and comers like Kid Cudi and J Cole
  53. Aug 13, 2010
    6
    Drake shares some fresh cultural perspective, though mainly adhering to hip-hop archetypes. The single "Over", is definitely destined to be a classic anthem with sublime string and horn overlays. Musically, there is much room for improvement, mainly in style and cohesion. Replay value: 1/5.
  54. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Drake is probaly one of the most talented Canadian artists I have ever seen, (I wouldnt be surpized if a "Best New Artist" Grammy came his way soon) but some of the songs on this album are just plain boring. And I'm not saying all slow music is boring, but it should at least keep the listener engaged while listening to the music.
  55. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    This has to be my favourite album of 2010 (beats Kanye). Drakes raps are good and 40s beats are insane. Good to see an album with a slower BPM can still dominate on todays charts. I love it!!!
  56. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    After over a year of listening to Thank Me Later I have come to the realization that this is a classic album. Though many hip-hop fans discredit his talent because of the fact that he was an actor, or because he's half white or because of how often he sings, there is no denying the impact this album will have on hip-hop's future. I'm not saying impact alone makes a classic, but I believeAfter over a year of listening to Thank Me Later I have come to the realization that this is a classic album. Though many hip-hop fans discredit his talent because of the fact that he was an actor, or because he's half white or because of how often he sings, there is no denying the impact this album will have on hip-hop's future. I'm not saying impact alone makes a classic, but I believe Drake's unique style of music will continue to influence new artists such as The Weeknd and others. The main reason Thank Me Later is a classic is the lyrical talent displayed. Drake has mastered the art of connecting to listeners in a way that few artists ever have. Songs like The Resistance and Unforgettable tell the stories of young people all around the world. Over is a perfect example of what every new artists dreams their first single will be, epic, catchy and revolutionary all at the same time. Top to bottom this album satisfies. Expand
  57. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    This man and J. Cole will lead hip-hop into this decade. Nov. 15 Take Care
    Best Tracks
    "Karaoke"
    "Fireworks"
    "Over"
    "Fancy"
    "Miss Me"
    "Shut It Down"
    "Light Up"
  58. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    A Solid Debut With Phat Rhymes, Beats, And Flow And Delivery Are All It Really Takes For A MC Like Drake. But Those Rhymes Could Be Improved. And His Delivery Could Be Better As Well.
  59. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Not the worse debut but not the best. Drake is at his best when rapping so you wouldn't expect this album by a rapper to have slow songs where he's actually singing. The writing on the album is best part about it because he is talking about his life and about how it'schanging now that he is famous. People will look back on this album and say it was better than all the other rap albums thatNot the worse debut but not the best. Drake is at his best when rapping so you wouldn't expect this album by a rapper to have slow songs where he's actually singing. The writing on the album is best part about it because he is talking about his life and about how it'schanging now that he is famous. People will look back on this album and say it was better than all the other rap albums that released in 2010. Expand
  60. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    Drake truly announced himself to the world. From the previews that were seen in So Far Gone, to this is a big step but I felt he was lacking something.
  61. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Not half bad. The album explains how Drake feels about fame success. It's totally worth a listen. My two favorite tracks are the last two ("Find Your Love" and "Thank Me Now") because they are both extremely catchy and make a lot of sense, in my opinion.
  62. Feb 23, 2015
    7
    Drake has finally put a footprint in the rap industry after the release of this album. There is a perfect mix of slow, melodic beats and fast-paced jams that you can nod your head to.
  63. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    Drake is so versatile and this is a good start from him as I look forward to bigger and better things from him.

    Best songs:
    1. Light Up
    2. Miss Me
    3. Unforgettable
    4. The Resistance
    5. Fireworks
  64. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    Continuing to demonstrate the widespread effect hip hop has gained globally, Drake is the first international hip hop artist. He has a much more impressive pedigree once you peel back a layer or two. Not only does he write and co-produce a lot of his own material, he has just as much validity as a singer.....as he has with his flow.
  65. Apr 5, 2015
    6
    This album isn't bad but it really doesn't show Drake's talent as a rapper. This album mostly consists of songs that are just slow R&B with very few songs that show him rapping. Honestly it gets a B- from me. Highlights: "Up All Night", "Miss Me". Worst song: "Find Your Love"
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.