Thankful

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2003
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 61
  2. Negative: 8 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyH
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    A superb album that shouldn't be missed by fans of great pop music and/or excellent singing. This is a prodigiously gifted young lady who deserves her success and long may she continue.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    8 for a combo of Kelly's voice, decent material, and a diversity of sounds that is exciting and admirable, a la Linda Ronstadt. I am holding back points for overproduction on most songs and a poor arrangement choice on "Beautiful Disaster" (and you know just how poor if you listened to her piano-only version of the song on the AI3 finale); on a happier note, I'm holding back 8 for a combo of Kelly's voice, decent material, and a diversity of sounds that is exciting and admirable, a la Linda Ronstadt. I am holding back points for overproduction on most songs and a poor arrangement choice on "Beautiful Disaster" (and you know just how poor if you listened to her piano-only version of the song on the AI3 finale); on a happier note, I'm holding back because I believe this is only the beginning and more and greater things are yet to come from Ms. Clarkson. Expand
  3. MattR
    May 15, 2003
    4
    Beautiful voice, pretty face and... a CD full of cliched, tired R&B songs. How many times can you sing "Oh Baby", seeing how many modulations and inflections you can throw in? Few memorable melodies, even fewer original song subjects. Someone get this girl a producer!
  4. SedaA.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    Kelly is one of few "truly" talented performers left in the business. Her stunning beauty of voice and personality shines through everything she does. With the talent of Miss Clarkson, we can all to hope to see her around for a long time.
  5. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    Very good album. The standout track is by far 'Just Missed The Train'. Too bad her sophmore effort couldn't be as good as this outstanding album. I hope she returns to this music really soon, because this whole rocker-chick thing isn't workin' dude!
  6. JasonC
    Nov 5, 2006
    7
    This is a decent album, but not really anything new or ground breaking. Why in the hell did Q magazine give this album a 20? lol! 20! It's not that bad even if you listen to it backwards.
  7. JF
    Jul 2, 2007
    5
    meh. some nice songs. great vocals (even if they are over the top at times)
  8. TracyJ
    May 4, 2003
    1
    She knows what she's doing.
  9. Cat
    Aug 12, 2007
    0
    Big time crap! This girl is very overrated and this album proves my point.
  10. CubbieB
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    incredible debut performance!
  11. lindsaym
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    kelly she rocks
  12. RaghuM
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Its a great album and Kelly has proved that she is not another dissapointing prodigy.Miss Independent is the best of all the tracks.The others are nice and cozy.I recommend this to all folks fed up with Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera.
  13. Dudedude
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Any1 who dislikes Kelly Clarkson is crazy. Q Magazine is stupid. KELLY RULES!!!
  14. MartinL
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    She is one of my favorite singers ever. I think she has a very smooth voice
  15. GabrielleB
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This CD is amazing!! Kelly Clarkson is my favorite singer and her album blew me away!! W2G Kelly! Woohoo!
  16. AlissaD
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best cd in the world!
  17. John
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    Great voice mixed with great looks. The songs on the album are mainly all very good quality and her powerful voice really shows in alot of the songs. A very good talent from a reality tv show.
  18. LuisG
    Jul 26, 2006
    7
    ...clarkson has a powerful voice ......which unfortunately fills a stellar producer album which are so focused on making hits they sell her short....the album is good not great....BREAKWAY is very much closer to where she belongs.....THANKFUL is play it safe territory ....why do records execs think they know everything....its called timing and persona.....and well clarkson is so freakin ...clarkson has a powerful voice ......which unfortunately fills a stellar producer album which are so focused on making hits they sell her short....the album is good not great....BREAKWAY is very much closer to where she belongs.....THANKFUL is play it safe territory ....why do records execs think they know everything....its called timing and persona.....and well clarkson is so freakin adorable and well those chops arent a drawback either..... Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Thankful is everything an American Idol viewer would expect from a debut album: the musical drama of Meat Loaf, Celine Dion, and the crew from Titanic, the R&B pyrotechnics of Whitney Houston, the (sub)urban melodrama of Mariah Carey and lots and lots of vocal gymnastics. That it all sounds like it came from a can is beside the point.
  2. Despite Clarkson's sublime vocal talents, excessive gloss at times overwhelms the quirky charm and personality she displayed on Idol.
  3. Her voice, at times raspy, at times beautifully sultry, is a potent reminder of why America embraced her.