• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    60
    That's Why God Made the Radio is the dad-rock album of the year.
  2. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    Even if you weren't expecting much from everyone's favourite four part harmony-peddling pension queue, this record would be something of a mixed bag.
  3. It's good to have them back--but only just.
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    The sterility and cleanliness of [the album's engineering and production] affords these 12 songs all the warmth and personality of a motorway hotel's car park.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    While all members sound terrific behind the microphone, particularly when the harmonies are at their thickest, Love's lead turns on the god-awful "Daybreak Over the Ocean" and "Beaches in Mind" are excruciatingly over-played in their winky retro-ness and, quite frankly, an embarrassment.
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    The album is an un- even but deeply touching work by a clearly flawed Great Band – one that, at its best, always aimed for the heavens, even if it didn't always reach them.
  7. May 31, 2012
    60
    Just as you're about to dismiss the album entirely, something extraordinary happens. The final three tracks – From There to Back Again, Pacific Coast Highway and Summer's Gone – form a kind of suite that is easily the best thing Brian Wilson has put his name to in the last 30 years.
  8. Jun 5, 2012
    58
    The best bits of Radio sound like a fan finally getting to play with all the toys. It's a respectful approach, let down too often by sub-par material.
  9. Aug 9, 2012
    50
    That's Why God Made the Radio isn't a bad album. It's just not the album everyone wanted.
  10. Jun 26, 2012
    50
    Not unlistenable, but simply not special.
  11. Uncut
    Jun 1, 2012
    50
    Ruthless schmaltz is, predictably, the order of the day. [Jul 2012, p.69]
  12. May 31, 2012
    50
    That's Why God Made The Radio isn't terrible or embarrassing, it is just is a bit safe.
  13. Jun 7, 2012
    40
    Most of the album is moronic Mike Love nostalgia that makes Kokomo sound good in retrospect.
  14. 40
    [TWGMTR] is pitifully thin stuff, with far too many nostalgic hankerings.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Despite a serious mid-album cheese-lull, the album begins and ends very strongly. From There To Back Again is the best track on here, harkingDespite a serious mid-album cheese-lull, the album begins and ends very strongly. From There To Back Again is the best track on here, harking back to a Sunflower-like production and reminding me of that album's At My Window. Al Jardine is in especially fine voice throughout. Certainly well worth checking out. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    After hearing the title track on youtube, I found myself humming the song for the next few days. I was impressed how great the harmonies wereAfter hearing the title track on youtube, I found myself humming the song for the next few days. I was impressed how great the harmonies were from the band. My wife surprised me on Father's Day and bought the CD or me. I didn't expect much. After all, the group are in their late sixties and early 70's. But I was surprised how much I enjoyed the CD. The harmonies are excellent. Highlights on the CD for me are the title track, the catchy "Isn't It Time" "The Private Life Of Bill And Sue" echoes how I feel about all the crummy reality TV there is on today, "Beaches In Mind" "From There And Back Again" Yes I also like "Daybreak Over The Ocean" and the haunting "Summer's Gone" All in all, an enjoyable CD to listen to on a summer's day. Yes, it may not be their best ever, but it makes me want them to record more music Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    On first listen I thought it wasn't too good. Now I think its okay. They'll do better next time though. My favourite tracks are Isn't It Time,On first listen I thought it wasn't too good. Now I think its okay. They'll do better next time though. My favourite tracks are Isn't It Time, From There To Back Again(feels most like a Pet Sounds track), Pacific Coast Highway, and Summer's Gone. I think I would've liked the album much more if it was filled with tracks like the final three... Full Review »