The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 - Justin Timberlake
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 141

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    6
    Not as good as the first, but it has some songs that are good. Sometimes the production is really repetitive, and at other times some songs are well done like "Take Back The Night" or "Not a Bad Thing" which is my favourite song of the album. ¿Could be his worst album?
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Um ótimo álbum em que as músicas se encaixam e não se perdem, com sonoridade boa e que agrada, talvez alguns não gostem da parte em que algumas músicas são longas, porém não são repetitivas e cumpre o tempo da faixa com arte.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    A primeira parte era ruim,a segunda pior ainda.
    A única coisa legal que tem é um título de música que soa bem TKO,então,não merece nem 1.
    É 0 mesmo,e mande ele aprender que voz não faz album.
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Better than the first part. It took me to get used to this album, but after a while I couldn't stop listening to the songs. Drink You Away was a pleasant surprise and Only When I Walk Away has an amazing beat! Amnesia is definitely my favorite!
    The album would have been perfect if it wasn't for Not A Bad Thing. I'm sure JT only included this song because some people didn't like the
    experimental style of the 20/20. They wanted a more normal song with lyrics about love and bubblegum chorus. And this was the result. NABD is unnecessary in the album. Only When I Walk Away would be the perfect ending.

    Highlights: Amnesia, Drink You Away, Cabaret, Only When I Walk Away.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    10
    BETTER THAN THE FIRST PART!!!!! He Was so Good on this album. Great job, Justin Timberlake! Favorite Tracks: Gimme what I don't know (I Want), TKO, Take Back the night, Only When I Walk Away, Not A Bad Thing
  6. May 14, 2014
    0
    Sadly, It's garbage. It's the polar opposite of the surprisingly good first 20/20 Experience album. It's like this crappy rap/R&B sort of mix with poor production. I did not like a single song on this album and would not recommend it at all. Stick with the first album, It's far better.
  7. May 3, 2014
    6
    It's not necessarily a bad album.
    It's just a little messy.
    If they spent a little more time on the album, then this album would be possibly better than the first.
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    It is a very mediocre album as a whole. The best word to define it is boring. Also repetitive maybe. There are a few songs which are as good as the best songs on 20/20 part 1. These are "Drink you Away" and "Amnesia" basically. The rest is not worth it. Very disappointing and uninspired. Part 1 had some great songs and some other too boring ones, but this second part is just two much of the same medicine. Expand
  9. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Would you call it a symphony of sounds perhaps,or would you call it terrible,maybe.....the are great tracks in there like Drink You Away(that has a nice groove to it) , Only When I walk away( its way better off than True Blood) and Blindness but there are too terrible tracks like True Blood that includes retarded mainstream words you'd find in a pop song like her skin is so white so white (so what)? Once is enough .....Amnesia ( Amnesia every memory fades away till its gone where did you go , most of us know what Amnesia is so you don't have to repeat it like 15 times in a song ) ....let's just say this not terrible , not amazing , just mediocre . Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    60? Really is good just as the first part of the complete experience... you guys don't need to have a excellent music taste to know it, Justin saved pop music this year! Is a complete pop masterpiece.
  11. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    First of all, I wanna talk about the few compliments I have to give. The main one is that the overall sound & production style can be pretty good. While I wouldn’t say the melodies are as catchy or the instrumentation is as distinctive from track to track, for a lot of the time they’re at least serviceable. The rhythm sections at their best are tight, punchy & keep the songs going at a good pace. “Take Back the Night” was a fantastic choice for the lead single. It’s a smooth slice of late-70’s disco-funk that works in all departments. It’s a fun party song that does everything a fun party song can do right. It has that same natural coolness that made “Suit & Tie” another great first impression. The one other song I have nothing negative to say anything about is “Amnesia”, an effectively melancholy breakup song with some of the best lyrics on the whole album. The bluesy guitar riffs in “Only When I Walk Away” were also a great touch. Now onto the negatives…

    I thought the first 20/20 was pretty good, if a little bloated or cheesy at times. The songwriting was solid for the most part & there was still a potentially great pop album with the core songs. But here, in most cases not even those are worth existing. The first big problem is the lyrics. There are extremely badly written corny metaphors for girls/sex/etc in nearly every song of the first half that just come off cheesy & forced. There’s no real creativity to be found in any of them. And when you take away the “symbolism” those first they're really boring in terms of subject matter, never going outside generic tropes of clubbing & sex. “Murder” actually had a fairly interesting concept going for it about a beautiful but deceptive girl that only sets out to break hearts. But that whole theme is undercut by the narrator happily giving in to her temptation. It really sends a mixed message as to what the listener is supposed to take from this song, made even worse with the cringe-worthy Yoko Ono/Beatles reference in the first few bars of Jay-Z’s verse. And “TKO” just feels awkwardly phoned-in. I’ve personally never been in the situation described in the song, but I find it too one-dimensional to come off authentic. “Amnesia” uses its figurative language to enhance the emotion being conveyed, which “TKO” fails to do all that well.

    Also, this is a horribly unfocused album. In one song JT is a womanizing playboy, then in the next he’s on the innocent receiving end of a breakup, then in the next he’s reflecting on his current long-term relationship. All I see is either 1) an identity crisis of JT’s musical persona, or 2) a compilation of random outtakes from the first one. And after all the unabashed misogyny & douchey pickup lines, the album ends with 2 songs called “Not a Bad Thing” and “Pair of Wings” that try to portray him as some innocent nice-guy. The former is a generic love song void of personality that sounds like a bad N’SYNC outtake remixed for Radio Disney. And the latter finds JT trying both desperately & lazily to get the fangirls swooning (even though chances are he succeeded with that goal). For any of the little complaints I had about the lyrical content in the first one, it at least felt sincere a good majority of the time. This on the other hand is one painfully forced moment after the next. Case in point: “Drink You Away”, a lame attempt at country that finds JT embarrassingly out of his element. He seems to just grab at the lyrical theme’s default traits rather than actually being creative about it & making it his own.

    The second big problem is the the song lengths. He said in an interview, “If Pink Floyd & Led Zeppelin & Queen can do 10-minute songs then why can’t we?” Look, the last thing I ever wanna do is put a versatile artist in a stylistic box, but it’s clear from quotes like this that he simply doesn’t know his creative strengths & weaknesses. These aren’t ambitious epics, but meandering messes that do nothing but slow down any momentum the 4 to 5-minute pop song before it had. He also said “we’ll decide the radio edits later”, which would make sense if these didn’t just sound like pop songs with boring, nauseatingly incessant nonsense tacked on to double the run time for no good reason. “Only When I Walk Away” (as well as a lot of other songs here) would’ve been perfect if it just stopped at around the 4 minute mark instead of devolving into endless repetition & annoying vocal splicing that only drags the song as a whole down. The worst case is “True Blood”, which goes on for 10 minutes, half of which has absolutely no reason to be there. You wanna make a long song? Go ahead. But don’t think ambitious experimentation means taking a good pop song & bloating it to the point where all appeal is lost. Basically this is easily my least favorite album of 2013 so far.

    Top 3 tracks: Take Back the Night, Amnesia, Only When I Walk Away
    Score: 39/100
    My Facebook review page: That Non-Elitist Music Fan
    Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    I am so disappointed with this record. The first volume really hooked me in a way I didn't expect. And this one has done the opposite; not a single song really worth listening to a second time. How bizarre.
  13. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    When Justin announced a sequel to the highly successful 20/20 Experience, I wasn't overly thrilled. I found the album to be one of the most overrated of the year and thought it was just ok, but not fitting for a comeback album and certainly not worthy of so much praise. So, the prospect of listening to more of the same didn't sound ideal and the first two singles definitely didn't sound promising. But I was pleased to find that Part 2 is a marked improvement. While the first part was too safe, in my opinion, part 2 is darker and edgier. From the seductive Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), the chilling True Blood, the bluesy Drink You Away, the throwback JT sound of Amnesia, the sexy Only When I Walk Away, the romantic Pair Of Wings and the hypnotic Blindness, this is in a different league to part 1. If these really are leftover from part 1, I am baffled as to why they weren't considered good enough to make the initial cut. But I am even more baffled by critics and the public giving it a worse reception than part 1. Ok, this isn't Justin's best work and there are clunkers like Take Back The Night and TKO, but it's so much more interesting and artistic than part 1. It's such a shame to see the superior body of work not sell as well and have more lukewarm reception. Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Ok the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second part the same year is a little rushed. I understand there's no wrong to having a part two. But In the same year that's rushed. How are the songs. Some of the songs are good. Take back the night is my favorite it's a fun and great song. But it's a pattern that Justin really drags on in these long songs. True blood is horribly and painfully to listen to over 9 minutes. And some you got it on are just plain boring. Some other stand outs are TKO and Amnesia. So yeah part 2 was only ok Expand
  15. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I dont like this MJ stylistic. However,this stuff is not trashy. I think yet the arrangements could be better, the voice of Justin more highlighted. I don't understand the idea of sustaining almost every track on album…It looks like Justin would like to tell us "Look at this…this is real art, not casual pop song…" Well, I don't buy it. We all know possibilty of remixes and so on…In my opinion studio album does not really need such a procedure. Expand
  16. Oct 23, 2013
    4
    When I had first heard of this album, I though Justin would improve and get better from The 20/20 Experience. He doesn't. Now here we are with 74 minutes of material to delve into from JT. The problem is that most of the songs aren't remotely interesting, new, or meaningful. Sometimes on this album Justin doesn't even try to make the songs catchy or memorable. Halfway through, you begin to realize how sporadic, redundant, tenacious and irritating this album is. The album is weak upon beginning but finishes strong with the 5 min. tracks towards the end. This album isn't all that focused either, I feel that he doesn't really reach the goal he was trying to go for. Here he has missed his target immensely and provided an experience that isn't memorable nor is it worth much. By leaving us with this, there isn't much to look forward to for Timberlake's music if he keeps going at it this way. If you think this is "refreshing" or "revolutionary" then so be it, I can't imagine why though. Here Timberlake has reached too far out ambitiously and he isn't necessarily ahead of the game now, he's lost.

    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more music reviews
    Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    2
    Frustrating. A sequel that never should have existed, at least he will profit from it. Justin is selling crappy songs.

    "I don’t understand it, tell me how could you be so low" OK
  18. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you ever read my reviews, you see that Justin Timberlake's "The 20/20 Experience" is for me one of the best albums of the year. And when they announced that Timberlake will be releasing a sequel to 20/20 Experience, I couldn't be more excited but I had to restrain myself, because most sequels to successful albums are very rare and aren't very good. Now saying that, "The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2" isn't as outstanding as it's predecessor, but this is still a great album and a sequel that surprisingly works. Once again the production design is impeccable with careful editing and brilliant use of storytelling, as 20/20 Experience part 1 was about the positives of love, part 2 is more about the negatives of love. The story is transitioned from the first one and it feels like one big production. Timberlake is incredible when it comes to singing, as he blends with the music very well. The problems I have involve the tone, which is odd. The opening song "Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want)" is very sexual, then it feels dark and even a little fantasy like, after that it's fun, then dark, and the final few songs are about the redemption of love. It tells a great story, it just needs to work on the tone. Also, this was a problem for people on the previous album, but the album is long. Part 1 never felt boring despite it's almost 80 minute album length, however Part 2 drags on and feels overlong on a couple of tracks which include "True Blood" and the 11 minute "Not a Bad Thing" which literally has two songs in one. One final note is that this album is more dark and mysterious unlike the first which was more light and fun, so much that this album has a parental advisory sticker. Overall as a whole Part 2 doesn't match what made Part 1 so special, and even brings in a few new problems. But it's still an achievement in music that should still be celebrated and the complete 20/20 experience will be one of the most talked about achievements for a very long time. Expand
  19. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    I actually never took the time to listen to JT, but this album just blow my mind away!!! The production is beyond good and JT's voice sounds absolutely stunning. This album gives me so much life. Murder is the best song for me, it does something to me I just keep doing weird stuff.
  20. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Os Criticos soestão Retados Porque ele vai Vender Dois CDs no mesmo ano Então eles acham isso um Exporação do Capital, mas o 2 of 2 Muito Bom e Viciante pecou apenas no Tempo das Musicas (Exceto Amnesia)! 10 Para esseCd
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work.
  22. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    This is a very good album.The Album is very catchy and dynamic. His vocal sound just as good as always. The only issue is the bloated track time otherwise i don't see nothing wrong. Some Standouts are "Cabaret" "TKO" Take Back the Night" and "You Got it On."
  23. Oct 1, 2013
    5
    Part 1 was alright I'd give it a 7.5/10 but Part 2 is utter garbage, don't even bother listening. The production is really repetitive and boring, same goes for the lyrics.
  24. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's a great album even better than the first seem to be like futuresex/lovesound than the 20/20 experience best track cabaret -tKO- tbtn amenisa -murder i want
  25. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    After Part I was easily one of my favorite albums of the year so far, this one was most certainly disappointing. Was it bad? Nah. Was it Part I? No. There's really no reason for these tracks to be released on a full length LP, would have made more sense to just make the first one longer and include like 3-5 of these tracks.
  26. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    What a great album it surprised me i didnt expect this way better than i thought i liked part 1 but this one is even better than that JT's vocals and the production are awesome it's very dark and entertaining it is JT at his best cant expect more for sure
  27. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    It's a great album: there are very few others in the music business that can craft daring sounds that are both unique and pleasing at the same time. Mixed in with his incredible vocals and there you have it: a perfect 20/20 formula. The album starts off with Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), which literally made me feel as if I was in a jungle (and that's a good thing). Things then took a dark turn with songs like Amnesia, Murder, TKO & True Blood, which are equally appealing. As Mr. Timberlake put it himself, Part 2 truly is Part 1's dark older sister, because it has a completely different vibe. You are truly in for a sensuous and dark experience this time around. The best thing about JT's songs is that about halfway thru each of them, he shapeshifts the beat and takes it into a whole new direction. That's what makes his music so great. The 20/20 Experience justifies itself for having 10 minute long songs, because it kills you when the song is finally over. The only negative thing I have to say (which prevented this from getting a 10) is that the album does not live up to its younger sister, The 20/20 Experience Part 1. Apart from that, you are in for a real treat. Expand
  28. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I think the 20/20 Experience Part 2 is even better then Part 1. It's darker, it's sexier and I'm in love with all of the songs. These music critics who are hating on it either are not really listening or like they did with FS/LS some of them will go back a year from now and up their rating.
  29. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the best tracks JT fans gonna love this album it's something between part 1 and futuresex/lovesound
  30. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of the year contains many great songs i dont understand why it's getting negative reviews by critics this album is really perfect im so in love with it
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Part 2, by comparison [to Part 1], simply feels like an inessential cash grab, and it's strong evidence that everyone’s favorite pop star might be overstaying his welcome.
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    40
    Cabaret with Drake has a catchy hook and gorgeously cheesy lyrics only Timberlake can pull off. The countrified Drink You Away almost works. The rest is forgettable.