• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 164

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    When Justin announced a sequel to the highly successful 20/20 Experience, I wasn't overly thrilled. I found the album to be one of the most overrated of the year and thought it was just ok, but not fitting for a comeback album and certainly not worthy of so much praise. So, the prospect of listening to more of the same didn't sound ideal and the first two singles definitely didn't soundWhen Justin announced a sequel to the highly successful 20/20 Experience, I wasn't overly thrilled. I found the album to be one of the most overrated of the year and thought it was just ok, but not fitting for a comeback album and certainly not worthy of so much praise. So, the prospect of listening to more of the same didn't sound ideal and the first two singles definitely didn't sound promising. But I was pleased to find that Part 2 is a marked improvement. While the first part was too safe, in my opinion, part 2 is darker and edgier. From the seductive Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), the chilling True Blood, the bluesy Drink You Away, the throwback JT sound of Amnesia, the sexy Only When I Walk Away, the romantic Pair Of Wings and the hypnotic Blindness, this is in a different league to part 1. If these really are leftover from part 1, I am baffled as to why they weren't considered good enough to make the initial cut. But I am even more baffled by critics and the public giving it a worse reception than part 1. Ok, this isn't Justin's best work and there are clunkers like Take Back The Night and TKO, but it's so much more interesting and artistic than part 1. It's such a shame to see the superior body of work not sell as well and have more lukewarm reception. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    4
    When I had first heard of this album, I though Justin would improve and get better from The 20/20 Experience. He doesn't. Now here we are with 74 minutes of material to delve into from JT. The problem is that most of the songs aren't remotely interesting, new, or meaningful. Sometimes on this album Justin doesn't even try to make the songs catchy or memorable. Halfway through, you beginWhen I had first heard of this album, I though Justin would improve and get better from The 20/20 Experience. He doesn't. Now here we are with 74 minutes of material to delve into from JT. The problem is that most of the songs aren't remotely interesting, new, or meaningful. Sometimes on this album Justin doesn't even try to make the songs catchy or memorable. Halfway through, you begin to realize how sporadic, redundant, tenacious and irritating this album is. The album is weak upon beginning but finishes strong with the 5 min. tracks towards the end. This album isn't all that focused either, I feel that he doesn't really reach the goal he was trying to go for. Here he has missed his target immensely and provided an experience that isn't memorable nor is it worth much. By leaving us with this, there isn't much to look forward to for Timberlake's music if he keeps going at it this way. If you think this is "refreshing" or "revolutionary" then so be it, I can't imagine why though. Here Timberlake has reached too far out ambitiously and he isn't necessarily ahead of the game now, he's lost.

    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more music reviews
    Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Ok the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second part the same year is a little rushed. I understand there's no wrong to having a part two. But In the same year that's rushed. How are the songs. Some of the songs are good. Take back the night is my favorite it's a fun and great song. But it's a patternOk the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second part the same year is a little rushed. I understand there's no wrong to having a part two. But In the same year that's rushed. How are the songs. Some of the songs are good. Take back the night is my favorite it's a fun and great song. But it's a pattern that Justin really drags on in these long songs. True blood is horribly and painfully to listen to over 9 minutes. And some you got it on are just plain boring. Some other stand outs are TKO and Amnesia. So yeah part 2 was only ok Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    It is a very mediocre album as a whole. The best word to define it is boring. Also repetitive maybe. There are a few songs which are as good as the best songs on 20/20 part 1. These are "Drink you Away" and "Amnesia" basically. The rest is not worth it. Very disappointing and uninspired. Part 1 had some great songs and some other too boring ones, but this second part is just two much ofIt is a very mediocre album as a whole. The best word to define it is boring. Also repetitive maybe. There are a few songs which are as good as the best songs on 20/20 part 1. These are "Drink you Away" and "Amnesia" basically. The rest is not worth it. Very disappointing and uninspired. Part 1 had some great songs and some other too boring ones, but this second part is just two much of the same medicine. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2015
    6
    Not as good as the first, but it has some songs that are good. Sometimes the production is really repetitive, and at other times some songs are well done like Take Back The Night or Not a Bad Thing, which is my favourite song of the album. ¿Could be his worst album? I don't really enjoyed as the others, but as I said, there're some some songs that I don't know its functions.
  6. May 3, 2014
    6
    It's not necessarily a bad album.
    It's just a little messy.
    If they spent a little more time on the album, then this album would be possibly better than the first.
  7. Oct 1, 2013
    5
    Part 1 was alright I'd give it a 7.5/10 but Part 2 is utter garbage, don't even bother listening. The production is really repetitive and boring, same goes for the lyrics.
  8. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Would you call it a symphony of sounds perhaps,or would you call it terrible,maybe.....the are great tracks in there like Drink You Away(that has a nice groove to it) , Only When I walk away( its way better off than True Blood) and Blindness but there are too terrible tracks like True Blood that includes retarded mainstream words you'd find in a pop song like her skin is so white so whiteWould you call it a symphony of sounds perhaps,or would you call it terrible,maybe.....the are great tracks in there like Drink You Away(that has a nice groove to it) , Only When I walk away( its way better off than True Blood) and Blindness but there are too terrible tracks like True Blood that includes retarded mainstream words you'd find in a pop song like her skin is so white so white (so what)? Once is enough .....Amnesia ( Amnesia every memory fades away till its gone where did you go , most of us know what Amnesia is so you don't have to repeat it like 15 times in a song ) ....let's just say this not terrible , not amazing , just mediocre . Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Part 2, by comparison [to Part 1], simply feels like an inessential cash grab, and it's strong evidence that everyone’s favorite pop star might be overstaying his welcome.
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    40
    Cabaret with Drake has a catchy hook and gorgeously cheesy lyrics only Timberlake can pull off. The countrified Drink You Away almost works. The rest is forgettable.