The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 - Justin Timberlake
The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drake and Jay-Z appear as guests on the second half of The 20/20 Experience project co-produced with Timothy Mosley and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    83
    Timberlake reined in his musical vision just enough to make this album more focused and engaging--but didn’t lose sight of his desire to take chances.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    In a world of quicker, faster, harder, it’s intriguing when songs spread out, taking their time to get to the point or create landscapes beyond the hook.
  3. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    This is a tighter record than the first volume, particularly the come-to-bed cheek of Cabaret, featuring his current chart competitor Drake. Things get slushier towards the end with Only When I Walk Away and Not a Bad Thing.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 includes a few pop gems, but as an album, it pales in comparison to its older sibling.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    This feels like an unnecessary and slightly cynical afterthought, much like a lot of pop music. It isn’t necessarily all bad in terms of quality. But it is utterly dispensable.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    20
    2 of 2, then, is an incredibly frustrating experience.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of the year contains many great songs i dont understand why it's getting negative reviews by critics this album isOne of the best albums of the year contains many great songs i dont understand why it's getting negative reviews by critics this album is really perfect im so in love with it Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's a great album even better than the first seem to be like futuresex/lovesound than the 20/20 experience best track cabaret -tKO- tbtnIt's a great album even better than the first seem to be like futuresex/lovesound than the 20/20 experience best track cabaret -tKO- tbtn amenisa -murder i want Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very veryThis is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Better than the first part. It took me to get used to this album, but after a while I couldn't stop listening to the songs. Drink You Away wasBetter than the first part. It took me to get used to this album, but after a while I couldn't stop listening to the songs. Drink You Away was a pleasant surprise and Only When I Walk Away has an amazing beat! Amnesia is definitely my favorite!
    The album would have been perfect if it wasn't for Not A Bad Thing. I'm sure JT only included this song because some people didn't like the experimental style of the 20/20. They wanted a more normal song with lyrics about love and bubblegum chorus. And this was the result. NABD is unnecessary in the album. Only When I Walk Away would be the perfect ending.

    Highlights: Amnesia, Drink You Away, Cabaret, Only When I Walk Away.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2014
    6
    Not as good as the first, but it has some songs that are good. Sometimes the production is really repetitive, and at other times some songsNot as good as the first, but it has some songs that are good. Sometimes the production is really repetitive, and at other times some songs are well done like "Take Back The Night" or "Not a Bad Thing" which is my favourite song of the album. ¿Could be his worst album? Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Ok the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second partOk the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second part the same year is a little rushed. I understand there's no wrong to having a part two. But In the same year that's rushed. How are the songs. Some of the songs are good. Take back the night is my favorite it's a fun and great song. But it's a pattern that Justin really drags on in these long songs. True blood is horribly and painfully to listen to over 9 minutes. And some you got it on are just plain boring. Some other stand outs are TKO and Amnesia. So yeah part 2 was only ok Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    A primeira parte era ruim,a segunda pior ainda.
    A única coisa legal que tem é um título de música que soa bem TKO,então,não merece nem 1.
    É
    A primeira parte era ruim,a segunda pior ainda.
    A única coisa legal que tem é um título de música que soa bem TKO,então,não merece nem 1.
    É 0 mesmo,e mande ele aprender que voz não faz album.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews