The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 - Justin Timberlake
The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drake and Jay-Z appear as guests on the second half of The 20/20 Experience project co-produced with Timothy Mosley and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    83
    Timberlake reined in his musical vision just enough to make this album more focused and engaging--but didn’t lose sight of his desire to take chances.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    In a world of quicker, faster, harder, it’s intriguing when songs spread out, taking their time to get to the point or create landscapes beyond the hook.
  3. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    This is a tighter record than the first volume, particularly the come-to-bed cheek of Cabaret, featuring his current chart competitor Drake. Things get slushier towards the end with Only When I Walk Away and Not a Bad Thing.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 includes a few pop gems, but as an album, it pales in comparison to its older sibling.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    This feels like an unnecessary and slightly cynical afterthought, much like a lot of pop music. It isn’t necessarily all bad in terms of quality. But it is utterly dispensable.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    20
    2 of 2, then, is an incredibly frustrating experience.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I think the 20/20 Experience Part 2 is even better then Part 1. It's darker, it's sexier and I'm in love with all of the songs. These music critics who are hating on it either are not really listening or like they did with FS/LS some of them will go back a year from now and up their rating. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's a great album even better than the first seem to be like futuresex/lovesound than the 20/20 experience best track cabaret -tKO- tbtn amenisa -murder i want Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you ever read my reviews, you see that Justin Timberlake's "The 20/20 Experience" is for me one of the best albums of the year. And when they announced that Timberlake will be releasing a sequel to 20/20 Experience, I couldn't be more excited but I had to restrain myself, because most sequels to successful albums are very rare and aren't very good. Now saying that, "The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2" isn't as outstanding as it's predecessor, but this is still a great album and a sequel that surprisingly works. Once again the production design is impeccable with careful editing and brilliant use of storytelling, as 20/20 Experience part 1 was about the positives of love, part 2 is more about the negatives of love. The story is transitioned from the first one and it feels like one big production. Timberlake is incredible when it comes to singing, as he blends with the music very well. The problems I have involve the tone, which is odd. The opening song "Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want)" is very sexual, then it feels dark and even a little fantasy like, after that it's fun, then dark, and the final few songs are about the redemption of love. It tells a great story, it just needs to work on the tone. Also, this was a problem for people on the previous album, but the album is long. Part 1 never felt boring despite it's almost 80 minute album length, however Part 2 drags on and feels overlong on a couple of tracks which include "True Blood" and the 11 minute "Not a Bad Thing" which literally has two songs in one. One final note is that this album is more dark and mysterious unlike the first which was more light and fun, so much that this album has a parental advisory sticker. Overall as a whole Part 2 doesn't match what made Part 1 so special, and even brings in a few new problems. But it's still an achievement in music that should still be celebrated and the complete 20/20 experience will be one of the most talked about achievements for a very long time. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    After Part I was easily one of my favorite albums of the year so far, this one was most certainly disappointing. Was it bad? Nah. Was it Part I? No. There's really no reason for these tracks to be released on a full length LP, would have made more sense to just make the first one longer and include like 3-5 of these tracks. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Ok the first part of the 20/20 experience I liked because it had some great songs and Justin's voice was great. However having a second part the same year is a little rushed. I understand there's no wrong to having a part two. But In the same year that's rushed. How are the songs. Some of the songs are good. Take back the night is my favorite it's a fun and great song. But it's a pattern that Justin really drags on in these long songs. True blood is horribly and painfully to listen to over 9 minutes. And some you got it on are just plain boring. Some other stand outs are TKO and Amnesia. So yeah part 2 was only ok Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    2
    Frustrating. A sequel that never should have existed, at least he will profit from it. Justin is selling crappy songs.

    "I don’t understand
    it, tell me how could you be so low" OK Expand

See all 23 User Reviews