The 20/20 Experience - Justin Timberlake
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 235

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years.
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    After 7 years, JT and Timbaland are back. Let me say they created a masterpiece of today (future) pop/R&B music. Yes, it's different, but it had to be after FutureSex/LoveSounds. This album has only 10 tracks, but it's long enough (7 minutes long tracks are standard). Most of the time is this album ingenious (multilayered sound and lyrics). One listen is not enough to reveal all the hiddenAfter 7 years, JT and Timbaland are back. Let me say they created a masterpiece of today (future) pop/R&B music. Yes, it's different, but it had to be after FutureSex/LoveSounds. This album has only 10 tracks, but it's long enough (7 minutes long tracks are standard). Most of the time is this album ingenious (multilayered sound and lyrics). One listen is not enough to reveal all the hidden treasures. Maybe it wil become the classic, maybe not, but I hope it does. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Great album, it may be the best album of the year. It's nice to see someone put the time and effort into making a song longer than 3 minutes. The more I listen the better it get's, that's how I know it'll be in my rotation for a while.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    It's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course, most of the songs are 5 to 10 minutes long) but once you gave it two or three listens, most of the songs start to get stuck in your head. I would say Mirrors and Tunnel Vision are the songs that doesn't take too long to like because they're not thatIt's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course, most of the songs are 5 to 10 minutes long) but once you gave it two or three listens, most of the songs start to get stuck in your head. I would say Mirrors and Tunnel Vision are the songs that doesn't take too long to like because they're not that unusual. Mirrors is reminding people of Cry Me A River, but it's definitely a better, mature song, dedicated to his wife. Tunnel Vision's beat somehow reminds me of Ayo Technology here and there, but it's way more effective with a beat so addictive that could actually turn this song into a radio-hit if edited to a shorter version. Suit and Tie was his first single, which had mixed reviews at first but most of people actually ended up enjoying it days later, demonstrates exactly what to expect in this album: songs that doesn't sound like modern pop/r&b and more like a classic r&b/neo-soul album, thing that it's likely to disappoint a lot of fans at first but believe me, give it the proper listen it deserves and it will grow on you somehow. Not all the songs are great but most of them are likely to make you repeat them over and over again for a couple a days. Also, I have to point out the last album's song, Blue Ocean Floor. This is the track that I absolutely think most people will fall in love with in the whole album. It cans sound a little weird at first because we are not used to ballads and ultra-serene sounds in Timberlake's albums but those ballads and serene, abstract sounds along with his best showcase of his impressive, inspired vocals to date make for what is with no doubt the best, most memorable song of his new album and even one of the best of his career, simply because it is extremely powerful and shows how much JB has become a mature person in these 7 years out of the music industry, and men, if those 7 year's weren't worth the wait... Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Best pop/r&b album I've heard in years,amazing production. Timberlake also proves he is a great vocalist.
    What need to be strengthened is the lyrics.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit &After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit & Tie. Now that the album is released the kinds of music are split. The tracks that truly stand out are "Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, Strawberry Bubblegum, That Girl, Mirrors and Blue Ocean Floor." The rest are good tracks, but they just didn't wow me, like the ones I mentioned. To choose the best track would be hard because I have a tie between Mirrors & Blue Ocean Floor. I would have to choose Mirrors because it has more of a "hit" quality. Overall the album is really good, It has radio quality even though they are mostly seven minutes long. The radio will just cut some parts of the songs though. Justin Timberlake has announced that he will release another album later this year, I hope it will be as equal or even better than this one. I just hope it will have more songs that are shorter. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    For all the JT fans that associate him to his 'Cry Me A River' days, this record is going to be a little too hard to soak in... for a while. After that, it's going to be the best thing they've ever heard. It's a record that needs time to grow on you. Once you listen to it a few times, you'll automatically find the music a breath of fresh air. We're surrounded by the music by the likes ofFor all the JT fans that associate him to his 'Cry Me A River' days, this record is going to be a little too hard to soak in... for a while. After that, it's going to be the best thing they've ever heard. It's a record that needs time to grow on you. Once you listen to it a few times, you'll automatically find the music a breath of fresh air. We're surrounded by the music by the likes of Rihanna, Drake, Jay Z, Usher, etc. The music of theirs is almost the same, with a few exceptions. This album is different, just like 'FutureSex/LoveSounds' was, when it released in 2006.

    This is a great album and with time, it'll grow on you. A masterpiece, it is, for me. Kudos to JT and Timbaland and I can't wait for the 2nd Volume to the album, coming out in November, this year.

    Cheers.
    Expand
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Downloaded this with my zune music pass and I'm disappointed but it's still a decent album.
    Just expected more, most of the songs sound the same except for a 1 or 2 tracks
  9. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I used to snicker at the mention of Justin Timberlake's name. But the N*SYNC days are long gone now and a new JT is here. A JT that borrows without stealing from MJ's "Wanna Be Startin' Something" to create a 7-minute oriental epic who's lyrics are basically the chorus sung over and over again but still works marvellously. He was even able to compose some fantastic songs written aroundI used to snicker at the mention of Justin Timberlake's name. But the N*SYNC days are long gone now and a new JT is here. A JT that borrows without stealing from MJ's "Wanna Be Startin' Something" to create a 7-minute oriental epic who's lyrics are basically the chorus sung over and over again but still works marvellously. He was even able to compose some fantastic songs written around pretty terrible/overused concepts: love drug in Pusher Love Girl or Strawberry Bubblegum which really is an ode to his wife's vagina. The weakest song on here might actually be the first single, Suit & Tie, but it is still an above-average piece of work. Of course Timberlake is back but so is Timbaland, the mastermind behind FutureSex/LoveSounds who had since fell of. He is at the top of his game, using without overusing his signature ad-libs on Don't Hold The Wall, one of the real standouts of The 20/20 Experience and producing most of the songs without using samples. He even gets a verse on the bonus track "Dress On". Both bonuses are welcome additions, however, they do not really fit in with the rest of the album and it is understandable that they were left out. "Body Count" has a Justified vibe to it which I am sure will please a lot of his earlier fans.
    I really recommend you pick this album up. I barely ever buy CD's and after listening to it on iTunes, I actually went out of my way to pick up the deluxe version of it. The last time I did that was for Channel Orange. This is a similarly enjoyable album.
    Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocalThis album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocal parts, which ultimately shine through and are especially intriguing in harmony with each other. Overall a 9.5 for sure; a versatile display of old soul influences and the future of (good) pop music. Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    Alright Justin, you've got some balls on you. I cannot help respecting what Justin Timberlake has done in making The 20/20 Experience. Let us not forget that he's still one of the biggest names in pop music regardless of the time he's had off just look at the amount of hype the album has received: he’s managed to make the cover of naff tween magazines and the front cover of PitchforkAlright Justin, you've got some balls on you. I cannot help respecting what Justin Timberlake has done in making The 20/20 Experience. Let us not forget that he's still one of the biggest names in pop music regardless of the time he's had off just look at the amount of hype the album has received: he’s managed to make the cover of naff tween magazines and the front cover of Pitchfork during the same media frenzy. Yet, he comes back with a pop album made up of ten tracks which average out at seven minutes each. The shortest track is nearly five minutes long, which is kind of remarkable in that he could be so adventurous and bold when he could have played the safe card after such a long solo absence. As a decision, I can take it and admire it for what it is, but that doesn't mean I have to enjoy the decision exactly. See, while the most interesting aspect of the album is the fact that Timberlake hasn't exactly played it safe, it’s also that decision which has made the album a wholly unsatisfying one.

    I have to admit that I really admire The 20/20 Experience as an album and I really admire Justin Timberlake as an artist for embarking on a project that carries a sense of risk and an enormous amount of pressure with it. On the whole The 20/20 Experience is a bold piece of work that, for the most part, displays some of Justin's more adventurous desires when it comes to creating concepts and songs themselves there's some excellent choruses on here and I've come away humming a few of the more obvious future singles. But in the end it leaves Justin sounding a little too full of himself and too involved in the ideas he's clearly had lots of since he started writing this album. Most of the album's tracks should end a good three or four minutes before they do (none of the tracks warrant even being 6 minutes long, never mind 8 minutes) and Justin rarely displays a sense of restraint or ability to know when to just knock out an idea quickly and leave a lasting mark, like he used to in the beginning of his solo career, but there are enough of pop’s most traditional and effective qualities on show to at least make 20/20 enjoyable for the most part. You've got to give credit to Justin for trying something like this, and credit to him for showing slightly more ambition to branch out, but sometimes creases need ironing more than once.
    Expand
  12. May 14, 2014
    7
    No doubt that Timberlake has a great voice and the production on this album is sick. That are plenty of good songs on it as well. My biggest issue with it though is that they are so needlessly long with 7 of the tracks on the album having a run time of 7 minutes or longer. It's stuff like that that sort of ruins the greatness of it a bit. If they were cut down some, Made less repetitive, INo doubt that Timberlake has a great voice and the production on this album is sick. That are plenty of good songs on it as well. My biggest issue with it though is that they are so needlessly long with 7 of the tracks on the album having a run time of 7 minutes or longer. It's stuff like that that sort of ruins the greatness of it a bit. If they were cut down some, Made less repetitive, I more than likely would have given this album an 8 or 9.

    Definitely worth taking a chance on even if you are not a Timberlake fan (FYI - I am not) because it's surprisingly good.
    Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    First let me say I am a big JT fan. After 7 years i was expecting something that would blow me away but apart from the obviously excellent production values, the vast majority of the album is middling R&B.
    I was actually laughing at the banality of some of the Lyrics. Apart from the last song there was not a single track that made me want to actually get up and dance. I don't see where
    First let me say I am a big JT fan. After 7 years i was expecting something that would blow me away but apart from the obviously excellent production values, the vast majority of the album is middling R&B.
    I was actually laughing at the banality of some of the Lyrics. Apart from the last song there was not a single track that made me want to actually get up and dance. I don't see where the hits are going to come from apart from the last track. Well produced but safe and boring R&B. Perhaps the happy married life has robbed him of the sexy, funky, creative edge his previous albums were known for. Romantic, bland mush that I can only imagine would be popular with suburban white girls who claim to love R&B
    Expand
  14. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    After 7 years, the songs sound too familiar. Timbaland's production really hasn't changed much. Justin maybe growing as an artist, but his songs are not what I expected after the long wait between albums. You can see his focus is more on being an Actor now.

    The songs are way too long. It worked on the Future Sex/ Love Sounds album since they were technically two songs. On 20/20, the end
    After 7 years, the songs sound too familiar. Timbaland's production really hasn't changed much. Justin maybe growing as an artist, but his songs are not what I expected after the long wait between albums. You can see his focus is more on being an Actor now.

    The songs are way too long. It worked on the Future Sex/ Love Sounds album since they were technically two songs. On 20/20, the end of certain songs felt unnecessarily extended. Lyrics are quite poor for a veteran of pop songs. Some lyrics just don't work with what he's trying to portray, but I understand this will album will be universally accepted since we need some Pop 'savior'.
    Expand
  15. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this album completely. It is exactly what I envisioned the album to be after his release of Suit and Tie and you can truly hear the effort that JT has put towards this album as nearly all the songs (except three) are about 8 minutes long a true experience. I'm still figuring out whether the continued collaboration between Timbaland and Timberlake is a positive or a negativeI enjoyed this album completely. It is exactly what I envisioned the album to be after his release of Suit and Tie and you can truly hear the effort that JT has put towards this album as nearly all the songs (except three) are about 8 minutes long a true experience. I'm still figuring out whether the continued collaboration between Timbaland and Timberlake is a positive or a negative aspect of the production as it is very similar to JT's previous albums but then again why stop an amazing pair simply because it is expected? My favourite song on this record is possibly Strawberry Bubblegum it's composition and styling is reminiscent of Sade with the "mellow" lyrics and tone. I can truly see this album winning Best Album in the Grammy's 2014 or maybe I am speaking to soon... Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    good and nice album but very disappointed because its not good as i thought after waiting 7 years
    and most tracks r over 7 minutes so how can it be on radio and has the success that deserve
    i was thinking it will be the best album in 2013 but i think it will be too hard to acheive that
  17. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    DIS DA SWAG BOMB OF 2013 DIS BOI NOW HOW TO PLAY DA VIOLIN HA HA SWAG LVL 42 OH YEAH DIS BOI KNOW IT HA HA YEAH JT U BRING DA SEXY BAK HEHE
    In all seriousness this album is pretty damn good, giving fantastic emotional R&B rhythm in every song.
  18. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    What makes me angry is when I see all these reviews just bashing the CD and comparing him to other artists who have came out 15 years later and just keep saying the songs are too long, when really he has a diverse album in which he showcases his range and his creativeness...and for anyone who saw his Future Sex/Love Show, the long songs that switch beat over half way through will be a partWhat makes me angry is when I see all these reviews just bashing the CD and comparing him to other artists who have came out 15 years later and just keep saying the songs are too long, when really he has a diverse album in which he showcases his range and his creativeness...and for anyone who saw his Future Sex/Love Show, the long songs that switch beat over half way through will be a part where he showcases his smooth dancing at the concert swooning the ladies. Love the "big band feel" that you hear in Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, and That Girl. Then you have songs like Let the Groove Get In which reminds me a little of Rock Your Body. Its the equivalent on this CD. My two personal favorites are Strawberry Bubblegum and Spaceship Coupe which have gotten some knocks for the lyrics being cheesy but the songs are so smooth and although they're slower songs they got a little step to em thatll make you nod your head (with Spaceship Coupe being more upbeat). Blue Ocean floor is by far the slowest song but its also the deepest song on the CD really making you think with its lyrics. It's comparable to FutureSexLoveSound's Losing My Way, but you can definitely hear the growth of JT in this song. Tunnel Vision a fast upbeat exciting song that transition with Timbaland beat boxing and some hard beats then goes soft and then picks back up. The song is a smooth rollercoaster. I dont even need to say anything about Mirrors its just an awesome song...I mean overall it's a great CD. And if you get Target's exclusive CD you also get Body Count and Dress On which are two nice additions. I think overall (including those last two songs which brings the song total to 12 songs) I could listen to 9 songs on repeat and they would never get old. It's got a nice mix of upbeat and slow. old school sound and new school sound, and I think its a great CD. On a scale of 1-100, I'd give it a 94. Definitely solid Expand
  19. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Some tracks aren't very distinctive whilst others stand out as classical and catchy tunes. Justin's return to the music industry is astounding considering his last album was so long ago.
  20. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    After all these year, JT has come back and dominated the airwaves, making sure to produce songs that get played over the radios ever 36 minutes on average. and might i say, great job for giving us a great album. nothing is as it seems in this voyage to the human heart. but what should we expect?
  21. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The new "neo-soul" style in the album is the most thing that kept me hooked to the record. We don't have ex-musketeers tha will be ruling the charts and getting critical acclaim. Well we have them [Britney Spears, Justin Timeberlake and Christina Aguilera] and this album shows that JT is the supreme. Absolute masterpiece. Expand
  22. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    A long, elaborate, almost intricate album. At a first listen it would seem basically devoid of hit singles, but it is only because Timberlake pushes the boundaries of pop music, striving for longer songs (8 tracks are over seven minutes long) and delivering less immediate melodies. But radio edits prove that at the heart of every song in The 20/20 Experience there is a smash hit.A long, elaborate, almost intricate album. At a first listen it would seem basically devoid of hit singles, but it is only because Timberlake pushes the boundaries of pop music, striving for longer songs (8 tracks are over seven minutes long) and delivering less immediate melodies. But radio edits prove that at the heart of every song in The 20/20 Experience there is a smash hit. Timberlake's vocal performance is gracious as usual, so inspired he sounds like he's actually dancing. The only fault is that sometimes the transitions between different moments in a song are not smooth, but there is well over an hour of continuous enjoyment. Expand
  23. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Like fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down toLike fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down to the Blue Ocean Floor. I was amazed with the sound and tones of each track. This album is damn near perfect. Note: This album is for lovers of R&B/Soul music not EDM or bubblegum pop. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    By far his best work yet. The 20/20 Experience returns us to the groovy, poppy, sounds that we heard from FutureSex/LoveSounds, with the addition of some more classic R&B tones and influences that I personal was pleasantly surprised to hear.
  25. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Incredible album filled with fantastic awesomeness. Okay, that's not a good way to start a review. But it's true. It stars with the magic "Pusher Love Girl", flows with the hit single "Suit & Tie", gets a little messy with "Don't Hold the Wall", romantic with "Strawberry Bubblegum", extraordinary with "Tunnel Vision", magical with "Spaceship Coupe", groovy with "That Girl", annoying (butIncredible album filled with fantastic awesomeness. Okay, that's not a good way to start a review. But it's true. It stars with the magic "Pusher Love Girl", flows with the hit single "Suit & Tie", gets a little messy with "Don't Hold the Wall", romantic with "Strawberry Bubblegum", extraordinary with "Tunnel Vision", magical with "Spaceship Coupe", groovy with "That Girl", annoying (but catchy) with "Let the Groove Get In", deep with "Mirrors" and beautiful with "Blue Ocean Floor". The only thing missing here is a dance pop song. But that obviously was not the goal. Expand
  26. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    I'm glad to see JT after 7 long years. I was long waiting for an album and he didn't fail to deliver. The songs are catchy and addictive and Timbaland's production is also good. So, overall this album is worth listening to.
  27. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    This is the best and his most matured album that Justin Timberlake ever made.
    The lenghtly songs of the album made everyone had their eyebrows raised because nobody listens to very long songs. But, it seems like the lenghtly songs made every listener's time worth it.
    The tracklist is perfect, from the perfect opener, "Pusher Love Girl" to the perfect closer, "Blue Ocean Floor", it's like
    This is the best and his most matured album that Justin Timberlake ever made.
    The lenghtly songs of the album made everyone had their eyebrows raised because nobody listens to very long songs. But, it seems like the lenghtly songs made every listener's time worth it.
    The tracklist is perfect, from the perfect opener, "Pusher Love Girl" to the perfect closer, "Blue Ocean Floor", it's like you're listening to the soundtrack of a Hollywood classic.
    The only song that was a miss is "Let the Groove In", which I felt like its somehow upbeat Latin tune is a bit out of place from this album.
    The lyrics may be mediocre but the sophisticated production backs it up perfectly.
    Timbaland's catchy back-up vocals and JT's amazing voice made this album very catchy as its own right.
    Let's not forget how JT learned from producing other songs for other artists with Timbaland and puts everything that he learned into this album.
    This ambitiously made album is a perfect album to buy for any fan and any non-fan who would proudly say that they're glad to buy this album.
    Expand
  28. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A seriously good album considering his long absence. Could be the best pop album of the year, JT throw away his old R'n'B style and reinvent himself on this LP. Most of the tracks are long and few of them feels rather lengthy, making the highs and lows of the album more apparent. But still, mostly highs, mostly highs. Highlight tracks: Mirrors, Suit & Tie, Blue Ocean Floor, Strawberry Bubblegum
  29. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I am not a big fan of JT, although I do think he is talented. I was anxious to hear a new album from him since it had been so long between releases. And, let me say this- it sounds dated. Ultra-electronica sounding (which Usher did late last year). Not that JT's voice is to blame, but I think the producer is where to point the finger. Timaland was the producer and he hasn't made anythingI am not a big fan of JT, although I do think he is talented. I was anxious to hear a new album from him since it had been so long between releases. And, let me say this- it sounds dated. Ultra-electronica sounding (which Usher did late last year). Not that JT's voice is to blame, but I think the producer is where to point the finger. Timaland was the producer and he hasn't made anything good since MIssy Elliot. Additonally the material/subject is nothing extraordinary (which is disappointing) and each song is 7 minutes long leaving a casual fan like me to skip to the next track. Glad I didn't spend money on this. LOL. Expand
  30. May 31, 2013
    7
    This album’s best aspects for the most part are the production & singing. Musically it goes in a fairly diverse amount of territories on the pop spectrum. It ranges from old-school horn/guitar-driven R&B to the modern electronically-tinged interpretations of R&B that was practically the trademark sound of his last album FutureSex/LoveSounds to some more worldly styles that incorporateThis album’s best aspects for the most part are the production & singing. Musically it goes in a fairly diverse amount of territories on the pop spectrum. It ranges from old-school horn/guitar-driven R&B to the modern electronically-tinged interpretations of R&B that was practically the trademark sound of his last album FutureSex/LoveSounds to some more worldly styles that incorporate tribal rhythm sections & mantra-like chant choruses that go on for a good majority of the song, to the minimalist closer Blue Ocean Floor that defies pop structure by running on solely a looped & seemingly backmasked keyboard part, creating an appropriately vast & subdued atmosphere for the beautifully sentimental lyrics about dedication to your significant other. This is one advantage 20/20 has over FS/LS; its ambitious & diverse (by pop album standards) instrumentation makes things a bit more sonically interesting from track to track in addition to the knack for great earworm hooks that has been a constant positive throughout JT’s career, whereas in the past, with a couple exceptions his work has been pop music through-and-through. On the mixed side of things, the lyrics are very hit-and-miss.They’re pretty much all about love (surprise surprise) though in a generally more mature direction than in the past; more ClassyBack than SexyBack. The thing is that the way these more sentimental ideas come across differs in success from track to track. Some tracks that pull this off exceptionally well include Mirrors & Tunnel Vision. The former is a very well-crafted & sincere affirmation that he and his significant other are perfect for each other and meant to last, playing on the term “better half” & tweaking the metaphor a bit. It’s basically this album’s My Love, except it sounds a little less made-for-radio while never losing its accessibility. The latter takes on a similar concept but focuses in more on the devoted & slightly obsessive side of things. It can get a bit cheesy in a couple lines but in comes off endearing rather than cringeworthy. Now if only that’d be the case with some of the other songs here... Some songs like Pusher Love Girl or Spaceship Coupe do nothing more than beat a bad metaphor (drugs & outer space respectively) into the ground until it’s reduced to dust. Heck, Pusher can’t even stay consistent; is the girl the drug or the dealer or it that actually JT that’s one of those things or what? Meanwhile Coupe devolves into replicating the lower points of FutureSex/LoveSounds, throwing out nothing but corny space-sex jokes. And while Strawberry Bubblegum doesn’t beat the titular concept entirely into the ground (in fact containing some pretty good lyrics), it’s still in the same ballpark of metaphoric lameness. It’s further amplified by the facepalm-inducing intro, which for 40 seconds beats into your skull that the song is “dedicated to you” like JT’s for some reason still pandering to the boy-band fangirl demo. It seems that on 20/20, lyrics can only work if they’re one of 2 extremes: the heart-pouring ballads & the lighthearted good-time songs. The songs in this category would include the uplifting & optimistic Don’t Hold the Wall, the dancey, fun & lyrically simple Let the Groove Get In (which like people have been saying sounds a lot like Michael Jackson’s Wanna Be Startin’ Something, but not to the point of ripoff in my opinion) & the suave, sophisticated ode to high-class attire Suit & Tie. When Suit & Tie was released as the first single I was pleasantly surprised (since this was from before I really got into his work), even if it was a bit flawed. Namely in the awful-sounding intro & as well as the meandering & unnecessary verse from Jay-Z. On repeated listens I found a couple cool lines in there, but I definitely would have shortened it. Plus there’s a couple lines in the second verse of the song (Stop, lemme get a good look at it So thick, now I know why they call it a fatty) that just irk me. Is he talking about drugs? His girl’s butt? Either way it’s a bit out of place in an otherwise very mature song. Easily the biggest problem in this album though is the song lengths. Since FS/LS for some reason JT’s had this odd obsession with outros & interludes. And sometimes, like on What Goes Around Comes Around, it works really well, adding sort of a new dimension to the song & giving it more personality & presence. Other times though it just feels tacked on for no reason other than to seem more ambitious a musician than he really is. Unfortunately for the most part this strategy just doesn’t work. It usually falls into at least one of a number of outcomes; either it tacks on practically a remix of the same song, repeats the same 1 or 2 lines for 4 minutes, or just stays on the same groove for WAY too long. Still despite these gripes, JT's in fine form here. He just needs to learn to focus more on his strengths. 70/100 Expand
  31. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Timberlake has set the bar for every album left to come out in 2013. The production that has been handled by Timbaland is almost flawless and Timberlake's vocals flow smoothly with the beat of each song. All in all, the album is a great listen and has many potential hit songs.
  32. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Man, it's been a while since we've heard from Justin Timberlake (or JT for short) in the music world. After debuting his new single "Suit & Tie" with Jay-Z, everyone was curious to see what Timberlake was going to do next and with the announcement of two albums in one year (20/20 Experience 2 of 2 comes out later this fall) we all wanted to see how Timberlake could do it. Ladies andMan, it's been a while since we've heard from Justin Timberlake (or JT for short) in the music world. After debuting his new single "Suit & Tie" with Jay-Z, everyone was curious to see what Timberlake was going to do next and with the announcement of two albums in one year (20/20 Experience 2 of 2 comes out later this fall) we all wanted to see how Timberlake could do it. Ladies and Gentlemen JT did it, "The 20/20 Experience" may possibly be one of the best albums I've heard in quite sometime, Exceptionally written, Expertly produced, and well, excellent. The one thing that could keep this from being the best album of the year could be Timberlake's second release this year, we'll have to see. 20/20 Experience is unconventional to all Pop music out there, it's different and at times it's just R&B, it's Brilliant. Justin Timberlake is at the top of his game here, his vocals here are Natural, Toned in Well, and flows smoothly with everything going on. The album is only about ten songs long, but it's also a little more than 70 minutes long, I was consistently into the music all the way until the final seconds of the last song "Blue Ocean Floor", speaking of songs there are many standout's here, which include "Suit & Tie", "Let the Groove Get in", "Pusher Love Girl", and "Tunnel Vision" all sound amazing. Hardly any problems here but listeners looking for mainstream Pop should stay away from this, it's very different and if you want something different then this is a must. One of the Best albums of 2013, "The 20/20 Experience" is a wonderful experience and something that will go down as one of Timberlake's best and most iconic releases...ever. Expand
  33. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Listening to this new offering of Timbalake, I was blown away. They have taken their sound, and seemingly perfected it, and you cannot help but absorb it all.
  34. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music. While better than his debut album, he falls just short of doing better than his last outing, "FutureSex/LoveSound". He starts the album out amazingly with "Pusher Love Girl" (which, by the way, should have been the albums first single instead of "Suit &The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music. While better than his debut album, he falls just short of doing better than his last outing, "FutureSex/LoveSound". He starts the album out amazingly with "Pusher Love Girl" (which, by the way, should have been the albums first single instead of "Suit & Tie"). Then you get to Suit & Tie, which by now, is incredibly overplayed, but a still relatively good song, then you finish Track 5, "Tunnel Vision", which isn't that good, then you get to "Spaceship Coupe", which isn't that good either, but you start "That Girl" and "Let The Groove In" and all's forgiven. Then you hit the second single off this album, "Mirrors", and finish off with "Blue Ocean Floor". Aside from the two aforementioned tracks that weren't that good, this album is amazing. Relieving to hear from Justin Timberlake again. He's better suited making music, rather than starring in sub-par movies. I can't wait for Volume 2 of The 20/20 Experience when it comes out this Fall. Expand
  35. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    By the fourth song, I began to question why in the world I would listen to this.

    Timberlake's voice is flawless, don't get me wrong; he's got a very smooth voice that goes well into the R&B genre of the industry, silky and warm. It's also good making general pop music too, so there is a hint of diversity. And some of the background instrumental is nice too, kinda like a dream in some
    By the fourth song, I began to question why in the world I would listen to this.

    Timberlake's voice is flawless, don't get me wrong; he's got a very smooth voice that goes well into the R&B genre of the industry, silky and warm. It's also good making general pop music too, so there is a hint of diversity. And some of the background instrumental is nice too, kinda like a dream in some cases.

    However, that's all that can be said of this album. The production falls flat and becomes questionable right from the very start. The songs drag on for longer than they need too, considering the lyricism is lacking in any general depth or meaning and the instrumentals don't do any justice. And at 70 minutes long, it DRAGS. I don't mind the fact that people would like this album, I really don't. It sounds nice, sometimes; the fact of the matter is is that there's nothing to it. Nothing on this album has any substance whatsoever, and it's easier to listen to nails on a chalkboard for five minutes than over an hour of this.
    Expand
  36. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    Justin has made a habit out of taking big breaks between albums, but this was ridiculous. After six and a half years, everyone thought he'd disappeared for good and was completely devoted to acting now, but then, out of the blue, a new single got released with an album coming real soon. Despite the sudden announcement, fans responded well and Mirrors was even a #1 smash for threeJustin has made a habit out of taking big breaks between albums, but this was ridiculous. After six and a half years, everyone thought he'd disappeared for good and was completely devoted to acting now, but then, out of the blue, a new single got released with an album coming real soon. Despite the sudden announcement, fans responded well and Mirrors was even a #1 smash for three consecutive weeks in the UK. But I have to say, the album is not up to par with his opus, Futuresex/Lovesounds. While doing something very different with its retro sound, nearly every song is so slow, bland and boring. It was a big risk and it seems like Justin is the only one who could have success with this as it's so far removed from what the public want. But there are little upsides. Don't Hold The Wall is one of the true urban influenced tunes that might actually encourage people to dance, Spaceship Coupe is so smooth with an amazing electric guitar solo and deluxe edition bonus track, Dress On, is a very sexy little number. Everything else is ok to mediocre to awful with eyebrow raising metaphors for love in Pusher Love Girl and awful atrocities like That Girl and Let The Groove Get In. Justin's lyrics are pretty bad and the biggest issue is with the incredibly long duration of every song. Just when you think it's over, it goes into another level for another 3-4 minutes. Sure, Justin did long songs with his last album, but the transition isn't done well this time and it seems like an extra bit was tacked on to make the songs un-necessarily long and it seems to have no connection to the first half. Long songs are not automatically artsy. It's all about quality, not duration. Sometimes, a song's just meant to end at a certain point. Don't milk it so it becomes an overproduced mess. Justin does have a part 2 to this album due out later this year, so here's hoping he's learned what works and what doesn't this time. But I assume it's going to be more of the same. Expand
  37. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    A good album. I liked all the tracks, and loved a few. Nothing special, nothing terrible. I'm excited for 20/20 Experience- 2 of 2. Good job JT, keep the good tunes coming.
  38. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This is easilly the best album of the year (at the moment), suprassing long.live.a$ap of asap rocky.

    I mean i don't listen to much pop, i hear most urban music (rap and r&B), but i think this can be a great R&B album if you compare too usher's and chris brown's lastest albums. I mean this guy make music similar to michael jackson a very rhytmic album and far away the classic pop album,
    This is easilly the best album of the year (at the moment), suprassing long.live.a$ap of asap rocky.

    I mean i don't listen to much pop, i hear most urban music (rap and r&B), but i think this can be a great R&B album if you compare too usher's and chris brown's lastest albums. I mean this guy make music similar to michael jackson a very rhytmic album and far away the classic pop album, he deserves a good score on this because this album cover a wider range of styles, and that's why the album will be easilly thr best selling album of the year, pop and r&B fans will buying this album.
    Expand
  39. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album. the songs are also too long, he needs to cut songs in half instead of just changing the beat
  40. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    I really like this album...Timbaland's production is very creative and varied from one track to the next. I also think JT's vocals are fantastic. He is also creative with his lyrics. He compares the infatuation of women by men to drugs ie strawberry bubblegum is actually a form of weed.
  41. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    I wanted to love this cd i ended up liking it. Someone is going to have to tell me why he did not cut this cd with the Tennessee Kids every live version he has done on tv walks all over the overproduced versions on the cd. His band is awesome one of the tightest groups i have ever seen, listen to That Girl it is the best sounding cut on his cd. Maybe next time we'll get the real R&B cd heI wanted to love this cd i ended up liking it. Someone is going to have to tell me why he did not cut this cd with the Tennessee Kids every live version he has done on tv walks all over the overproduced versions on the cd. His band is awesome one of the tightest groups i have ever seen, listen to That Girl it is the best sounding cut on his cd. Maybe next time we'll get the real R&B cd he has in him. Expand
  42. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    I'm actually really impressed, he changed up his normal style a little and presented us with something new and fresh. Which is a pleasing experience with the way the music industry currently is with it's Justin Bieber's and One Directions.
  43. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    Very Bland, And Boring... It' Time For Timberlake To Retire In The Music Buisness
  44. Apr 4, 2013
    4
    O CD não ficou muito ruim, mais na minha opinião JT esqueceu que estamos em 2013, a capa do album nos remete a algo novo um "Experience", mas a realidade que todas músicas soam iguais.
    Suit & Tie (ft. Jay-Z) foi escolhida como primeiro single, porque realmente a melhor música do álbum, a minha impressão foi a de estar ouvindo "FutureSex/LoveSounds" do próprio Justin, Será que acabou o
    O CD não ficou muito ruim, mais na minha opinião JT esqueceu que estamos em 2013, a capa do album nos remete a algo novo um "Experience", mas a realidade que todas músicas soam iguais.
    Suit & Tie (ft. Jay-Z) foi escolhida como primeiro single, porque realmente a melhor música do álbum, a minha impressão foi a de estar ouvindo "FutureSex/LoveSounds" do próprio Justin, Será que acabou o reinado do príncipe do Pop?
    Expand
  45. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    We really should take advantage and embrace JT while he's still here, cuz he could very well go down as one of the best to ever do it. It's been 6 years, but it was well worth the wait. A whole lot of hours and thought have been made into these tracks. Wayne could learn a thing or 2.
  46. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review is from THE LAST NIGHT EARLY MORNING SHOW podcast. THE BAD: I am a little disappointed in the whole album. Other than “Suit and Tie” no song really stuck out to me. Timbaland uses a lot of the same samples we have heard before. THE GOOD: I think Justin is trying to develop an entire album and not one that just has singles on it. The majority of the songs go over 7 minutes. TheThis review is from THE LAST NIGHT EARLY MORNING SHOW podcast. THE BAD: I am a little disappointed in the whole album. Other than “Suit and Tie” no song really stuck out to me. Timbaland uses a lot of the same samples we have heard before. THE GOOD: I think Justin is trying to develop an entire album and not one that just has singles on it. The majority of the songs go over 7 minutes. The format that he sticks to is changing the way the song begins and creates a different song from the same tempo and instruments that he started out using. He will ever use one instrument playing the same thing throughout but everything else around it change. I can respect that. SONGS:
    1. Pusher Love Girl Around 4:57 it goes into a hip-hop kind of break down, which I like better than the original song.
    2. Suit & Tie The best song on the album.
    3. Don't Hold The Wall At 2:45 Sounds like the same sample he used on his Shock Value album song Bombay. I like the breakdown.
    4. Strawberry Bubblegum At 5:00 min the song changes again, but this time it goes into a smooth kind of swing jazz feel to it with Rhodes piano, but it has a deep bass that has a little wah sound effect. 5. Tunnel Vision I like the way JT’s voice sounds on this song. I am nodding my head. 6. Spaceship Coupe At 5:20 there is a loop that plays and it sounds a little like The Stylistics You Are Everything.
    7. That Girl This song sounds really smooth.
    8. Let The Groove Get In I like the stabbing that the horns section does, but don't like the breakdown. I like how the song changes after 5:15. 9. Mirrors This is the first song that I fast-forwarded it to the part where the song changes. 10. Blue Ocean Floor The beginning starts out the same way Black Eyed Peas song Labor Day off their Elepunk album. This song is growing on me.
    Expand
  47. May 5, 2013
    6
    Justin Timberlake's latest musical endeavor has some strengths. First, the two singles released thus far are dynamite. Those are, of course, "Mirrors" and "Suit and Tie." His voice is perfect for R&B, as is the production. The entire album has a bit of a throwback feel to it. In "Suit and Tie," his up-tempo soul groove is complete with a horn section (or sample), and it channels JamesJustin Timberlake's latest musical endeavor has some strengths. First, the two singles released thus far are dynamite. Those are, of course, "Mirrors" and "Suit and Tie." His voice is perfect for R&B, as is the production. The entire album has a bit of a throwback feel to it. In "Suit and Tie," his up-tempo soul groove is complete with a horn section (or sample), and it channels James Brown during his heyday. Much of the album echoes the R&B slow jams of the 1990s, so it's kind of a nice homage to a genre that JT fits in perfectly. However, every track drags. A lot. Justin attempts to make these songs a little more epic by lengthening them to about 6-8 minutes. However, there's no real climactic feel to any of the tracks. The become monotonous. The tracks could have been more exciting, had they been given more of a rising action to them. R&B really isn't the best type of music for songwriting that follows a jam band style, where form kind of gets lost, and the song goes on for a good long time. Justin just needs to learn that ending a song at 4 minutes is just fine. It's a slick, well produced, sexy silver platter of good ol' R&B. It's just too long. Expand
  48. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable,amazing.One of his best albums and maybe one of the best albums of this year.The 4 min outrous for most of the songs made this album this good.Simply EPIC.
  49. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    An enjoyable album, Timberlake has shown that even after 7 years, he is still a force to be reckoned with. Combining catchy samples, mellow vocals, and great production, the album is in conversation for the best R&B Pop album of the year. The lyrics seem cliche after listening to many other pop songs on the radio speaking of romance, but it is the delivery that allows Timberlake to shineAn enjoyable album, Timberlake has shown that even after 7 years, he is still a force to be reckoned with. Combining catchy samples, mellow vocals, and great production, the album is in conversation for the best R&B Pop album of the year. The lyrics seem cliche after listening to many other pop songs on the radio speaking of romance, but it is the delivery that allows Timberlake to shine through. The only major issue, though, is that the album drags on the first listen through. Songs are accompanied with outros ranging from 2 3 minutes long, causing initial impatience. With more listens, though, the outros are appreciated, and the album becomes better. Though not a classic, it is a worthwhile listen. Expand
  50. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Dear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 is nothing but an unbearable DRAG and defo not a sexy back. Quite unsexy, actually. Thank God for Spotify, didn’t have to waste money on this.
  51. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Altogether it is JT's best album, with songs that speak right from the heart and go into the soul. The songs could be cut down a little bit, but one of my all-time favorite songs, Mirrors, is on there, as well as two songs I listen to regularly, That Girl and Pusher Love Girl.
  52. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest albums ever created. All the songs are so different from each other and they are all so amazing. Justin Timberlake's voice is so smooth and the beats and rhythms are great as well.
  53. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    An impressive return to music for Timberlake and a very whole and connected album. The instrumentation is varied and interesting however, the songs sound the same after a week of listening.
  54. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    I do applaud the ambition on this LP compared to his previous albums: Justified and Future Sex/Love Sounds, however Justin tries too hard to make his songs stick and become memorable. They do become memorable, but for all the wrong reasons. He does still retain that pop style to keep his listeners attracted while challenging them stylistically but he doesn't really follow through with theI do applaud the ambition on this LP compared to his previous albums: Justified and Future Sex/Love Sounds, however Justin tries too hard to make his songs stick and become memorable. They do become memorable, but for all the wrong reasons. He does still retain that pop style to keep his listeners attracted while challenging them stylistically but he doesn't really follow through with the sound he's giving. Just keep it short and sweet Justin, consistent even. For now his pop signature continues to shine with a few blemishes. He barely misses the mark he has set for himself, which doesn't really make this experience all to clear (20/20). But that's what Timberlake has to offer here, and his croon and intriguing enigma makes it almost impossible to resist. Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Track by track review

    Pusher love girl a smooth and funky song that opens up the album great 9/10
    Suit and tie growing on me but this 5 minute song that's not really my cup of tea 7/10
    Don't hold the wall a tropical funky song that is one of the strongest of the album 8.5/10
    Strawberry bubblegum a cute and soft song that does drag on but has strong vocals 7/10
    Tunnel vision some annoying beats but a different and weird type of song 7.5/10
    Spaceship coupe some of the best vocals on the album and has meaning 8.5/10
    That girl one of the highlights of the album slow funky and relaxing 9/10
    Let the groove get in a funky fun up tempo but a little bloated 8/10
    Mirrors a sad but brilliant song that delivers 9/10
    Blue ocean floor a fantastic ending and some amazing lyrics 9.5/10
    Expand
  56. Nov 14, 2013
    5
    The right time the right sound the same producer same collaborative team almost exactly what we have heard before. The result is that though Timbaland once proved himself to be a hit maker, he now proves to be not very relevant and slightly out of touch.
  57. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    The slow jams and 'chilled-out' experience flaunts Justin Timberlake's charms and talents while other times, the tracks can just be a drag that feels never-ending.
  58. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    I was disappointed. I listened to this album primarily because of its ambitiousness and basically a return for JT in the music part of his career. But after around 3/4's through the album, I stopped. I just couldn't take it anymore. I have to admit, I was enjoying at some points of the album, it was filled with catchy hooks, some sharp lyrics, but... there's a HUGE flaw in the album: itsI was disappointed. I listened to this album primarily because of its ambitiousness and basically a return for JT in the music part of his career. But after around 3/4's through the album, I stopped. I just couldn't take it anymore. I have to admit, I was enjoying at some points of the album, it was filled with catchy hooks, some sharp lyrics, but... there's a HUGE flaw in the album: its poor song structures. JT's trying too hard to stretch out his songs in order to "conform" to the "at-least-6-minute-songs" rule in the album. I mean, some songs are good, but it gets too repetitive that the listener could easily bored, the song "Mirrors" in particular. It's catchy, meaningful, but again, just like any other song in the album, it's too lazily written just to pan out its length (the awkward phrasing in "You are, you are the love of my life" for example). I could go on and on reviewing this, but I'll just stop there. I guess you already know what I mean. To sum it up, Justin tries. I appreciate his efforts, but this album just hit the ground like a "thud" instead of a "bang". Expand
  59. May 31, 2014
    9
    I Did not know that suit and tie and mirrors had a long version. I listened to them and it was a fun experience with Justin singing. Favorite Tracks: Pusher Love Girl, Suit and Tie, Don't hold the Wall, Let the groove get in, mirrors.
  60. May 18, 2014
    9
    This is a true Pop/R&B album. The songs are well produced. Timbaland has done a great work with the tracks. On the other hand Justin's vocals are incredibly beautiful and dynamic. "Mirrors", "Suit & Tie" and "Pusher Love Girl" are the highlights of the album. The best selling album of 2013 in the US. You outta hear this record. I would give this album a 9/10.
  61. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This album came in good time! I was tired of electronic songs with lyrics about parties playing on the radio all the time.

    Highlights: Spaceship Coupe, Pusher Love Girl, That Girl, Let The Groove Get In.
  62. Jun 20, 2014
    1
    Tanta espera por um album com apenas uma boa música???
    Não consigo entender por que dizem que ele é o novo Rei Do Pop,ele ta mais pra Mais Um Querendo A Coroa.
  63. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Justin mais uma vez mostrou a todos do porque que é chamado de Príncipe/Presidente do Pop, esse provavelmente é um dos melhores álbuns dos últimos 20 anos, impecável.
  64. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    "The 20/20 Experience" may be his best album yet. Very well resolved and with a very revolutionary style and rhythm. Justin successfully reached the summit with "Suit & Tie", "Pusher Love Girl" or with my favourite song of the album which is called "That Girl". But as is typically in all albums of nowadays, there're some songs that doesn't do their job well like "Blue Ocean Floor"."The 20/20 Experience" may be his best album yet. Very well resolved and with a very revolutionary style and rhythm. Justin successfully reached the summit with "Suit & Tie", "Pusher Love Girl" or with my favourite song of the album which is called "That Girl". But as is typically in all albums of nowadays, there're some songs that doesn't do their job well like "Blue Ocean Floor". Definitely this could be the best album of JT's career. Expand
  65. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    This album is sweet! Justin Timberlake is making more serious music. It's elegant...
    The beats are pretty good and his voice is amazing too.
    And I know that the lyrics aren't that good and original... but who cares? The album has some amazing sweet beats like "Strawberry Bubblegum". The songs are following each other very great. Some of the songs on this album are 7-8 minutes long. The
    This album is sweet! Justin Timberlake is making more serious music. It's elegant...
    The beats are pretty good and his voice is amazing too.
    And I know that the lyrics aren't that good and original... but who cares?
    The album has some amazing sweet beats like "Strawberry Bubblegum". The songs are following each other very great. Some of the songs on this album are 7-8 minutes long. The last 3 minutes following the next songs style. So the songs are following each other amazingly.

    JT isn't that young N'SYNC guy anymore. He is serious. He is trying to show something good.. and.. he did it. It's amazing.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  2. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    75
    While it may be a little overlong at nearly an hour and a half, there are influences from 40-odd years of pop music expertly melted together by a master craftsman to create an album of consistently brilliant songs.