The 20/20 Experience - Justin Timberlake
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 205

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years.
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    After 7 years, JT and Timbaland are back. Let me say they created a masterpiece of today (future) pop/R&B music. Yes, it's different, but it had to be after FutureSex/LoveSounds. This album has only 10 tracks, but it's long enough (7 minutes long tracks are standard). Most of the time is this album ingenious (multilayered sound and lyrics). One listen is not enough to reveal all the hidden treasures. Maybe it wil become the classic, maybe not, but I hope it does. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Great album, it may be the best album of the year. It's nice to see someone put the time and effort into making a song longer than 3 minutes. The more I listen the better it get's, that's how I know it'll be in my rotation for a while.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Best pop/r&b album I've heard in years,amazing production. Timberlake also proves he is a great vocalist.
    What need to be strengthened is the lyrics.
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit & Tie. Now that the album is released the kinds of music are split. The tracks that truly stand out are "Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, Strawberry Bubblegum, That Girl, Mirrors and Blue Ocean Floor." The rest are good tracks, but they just didn't wow me, like the ones I mentioned. To choose the best track would be hard because I have a tie between Mirrors & Blue Ocean Floor. I would have to choose Mirrors because it has more of a "hit" quality. Overall the album is really good, It has radio quality even though they are mostly seven minutes long. The radio will just cut some parts of the songs though. Justin Timberlake has announced that he will release another album later this year, I hope it will be as equal or even better than this one. I just hope it will have more songs that are shorter. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    For all the JT fans that associate him to his 'Cry Me A River' days, this record is going to be a little too hard to soak in... for a while. After that, it's going to be the best thing they've ever heard. It's a record that needs time to grow on you. Once you listen to it a few times, you'll automatically find the music a breath of fresh air. We're surrounded by the music by the likes of Rihanna, Drake, Jay Z, Usher, etc. The music of theirs is almost the same, with a few exceptions. This album is different, just like 'FutureSex/LoveSounds' was, when it released in 2006.

    This is a great album and with time, it'll grow on you. A masterpiece, it is, for me. Kudos to JT and Timbaland and I can't wait for the 2nd Volume to the album, coming out in November, this year.

    Cheers.
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I used to snicker at the mention of Justin Timberlake's name. But the N*SYNC days are long gone now and a new JT is here. A JT that borrows without stealing from MJ's "Wanna Be Startin' Something" to create a 7-minute oriental epic who's lyrics are basically the chorus sung over and over again but still works marvellously. He was even able to compose some fantastic songs written around pretty terrible/overused concepts: love drug in Pusher Love Girl or Strawberry Bubblegum which really is an ode to his wife's vagina. The weakest song on here might actually be the first single, Suit & Tie, but it is still an above-average piece of work. Of course Timberlake is back but so is Timbaland, the mastermind behind FutureSex/LoveSounds who had since fell of. He is at the top of his game, using without overusing his signature ad-libs on Don't Hold The Wall, one of the real standouts of The 20/20 Experience and producing most of the songs without using samples. He even gets a verse on the bonus track "Dress On". Both bonuses are welcome additions, however, they do not really fit in with the rest of the album and it is understandable that they were left out. "Body Count" has a Justified vibe to it which I am sure will please a lot of his earlier fans.
    I really recommend you pick this album up. I barely ever buy CD's and after listening to it on iTunes, I actually went out of my way to pick up the deluxe version of it. The last time I did that was for Channel Orange. This is a similarly enjoyable album.
    Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocal parts, which ultimately shine through and are especially intriguing in harmony with each other. Overall a 9.5 for sure; a versatile display of old soul influences and the future of (good) pop music. Expand
  9. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this album completely. It is exactly what I envisioned the album to be after his release of Suit and Tie and you can truly hear the effort that JT has put towards this album as nearly all the songs (except three) are about 8 minutes long a true experience. I'm still figuring out whether the continued collaboration between Timbaland and Timberlake is a positive or a negative aspect of the production as it is very similar to JT's previous albums but then again why stop an amazing pair simply because it is expected? My favourite song on this record is possibly Strawberry Bubblegum it's composition and styling is reminiscent of Sade with the "mellow" lyrics and tone. I can truly see this album winning Best Album in the Grammy's 2014 or maybe I am speaking to soon... Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    DIS DA SWAG BOMB OF 2013 DIS BOI NOW HOW TO PLAY DA VIOLIN HA HA SWAG LVL 42 OH YEAH DIS BOI KNOW IT HA HA YEAH JT U BRING DA SEXY BAK HEHE
    In all seriousness this album is pretty damn good, giving fantastic emotional R&B rhythm in every song.
  11. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    What makes me angry is when I see all these reviews just bashing the CD and comparing him to other artists who have came out 15 years later and just keep saying the songs are too long, when really he has a diverse album in which he showcases his range and his creativeness...and for anyone who saw his Future Sex/Love Show, the long songs that switch beat over half way through will be a part where he showcases his smooth dancing at the concert swooning the ladies. Love the "big band feel" that you hear in Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, and That Girl. Then you have songs like Let the Groove Get In which reminds me a little of Rock Your Body. Its the equivalent on this CD. My two personal favorites are Strawberry Bubblegum and Spaceship Coupe which have gotten some knocks for the lyrics being cheesy but the songs are so smooth and although they're slower songs they got a little step to em thatll make you nod your head (with Spaceship Coupe being more upbeat). Blue Ocean floor is by far the slowest song but its also the deepest song on the CD really making you think with its lyrics. It's comparable to FutureSexLoveSound's Losing My Way, but you can definitely hear the growth of JT in this song. Tunnel Vision a fast upbeat exciting song that transition with Timbaland beat boxing and some hard beats then goes soft and then picks back up. The song is a smooth rollercoaster. I dont even need to say anything about Mirrors its just an awesome song...I mean overall it's a great CD. And if you get Target's exclusive CD you also get Body Count and Dress On which are two nice additions. I think overall (including those last two songs which brings the song total to 12 songs) I could listen to 9 songs on repeat and they would never get old. It's got a nice mix of upbeat and slow. old school sound and new school sound, and I think its a great CD. On a scale of 1-100, I'd give it a 94. Definitely solid Expand
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The new "neo-soul" style in the album is the most thing that kept me hooked to the record. We don't have ex-musketeers tha will be ruling the charts and getting critical acclaim. Well we have them [Britney Spears, Justin Timeberlake and Christina Aguilera] and this album shows that JT is the supreme. Absolute masterpiece. Expand
  13. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Like fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down to the Blue Ocean Floor. I was amazed with the sound and tones of each track. This album is damn near perfect. Note: This album is for lovers of R&B/Soul music not EDM or bubblegum pop. Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    By far his best work yet. The 20/20 Experience returns us to the groovy, poppy, sounds that we heard from FutureSex/LoveSounds, with the addition of some more classic R&B tones and influences that I personal was pleasantly surprised to hear.
  15. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Incredible album filled with fantastic awesomeness. Okay, that's not a good way to start a review. But it's true. It stars with the magic "Pusher Love Girl", flows with the hit single "Suit & Tie", gets a little messy with "Don't Hold the Wall", romantic with "Strawberry Bubblegum", extraordinary with "Tunnel Vision", magical with "Spaceship Coupe", groovy with "That Girl", annoying (but catchy) with "Let the Groove Get In", deep with "Mirrors" and beautiful with "Blue Ocean Floor". The only thing missing here is a dance pop song. But that obviously was not the goal. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    I'm glad to see JT after 7 long years. I was long waiting for an album and he didn't fail to deliver. The songs are catchy and addictive and Timbaland's production is also good. So, overall this album is worth listening to.
  17. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A seriously good album considering his long absence. Could be the best pop album of the year, JT throw away his old R'n'B style and reinvent himself on this LP. Most of the tracks are long and few of them feels rather lengthy, making the highs and lows of the album more apparent. But still, mostly highs, mostly highs. Highlight tracks: Mirrors, Suit & Tie, Blue Ocean Floor, Strawberry Bubblegum
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Timberlake has set the bar for every album left to come out in 2013. The production that has been handled by Timbaland is almost flawless and Timberlake's vocals flow smoothly with the beat of each song. All in all, the album is a great listen and has many potential hit songs.
  19. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Man, it's been a while since we've heard from Justin Timberlake (or JT for short) in the music world. After debuting his new single "Suit & Tie" with Jay-Z, everyone was curious to see what Timberlake was going to do next and with the announcement of two albums in one year (20/20 Experience 2 of 2 comes out later this fall) we all wanted to see how Timberlake could do it. Ladies and Gentlemen JT did it, "The 20/20 Experience" may possibly be one of the best albums I've heard in quite sometime, Exceptionally written, Expertly produced, and well, excellent. The one thing that could keep this from being the best album of the year could be Timberlake's second release this year, we'll have to see. 20/20 Experience is unconventional to all Pop music out there, it's different and at times it's just R&B, it's Brilliant. Justin Timberlake is at the top of his game here, his vocals here are Natural, Toned in Well, and flows smoothly with everything going on. The album is only about ten songs long, but it's also a little more than 70 minutes long, I was consistently into the music all the way until the final seconds of the last song "Blue Ocean Floor", speaking of songs there are many standout's here, which include "Suit & Tie", "Let the Groove Get in", "Pusher Love Girl", and "Tunnel Vision" all sound amazing. Hardly any problems here but listeners looking for mainstream Pop should stay away from this, it's very different and if you want something different then this is a must. One of the Best albums of 2013, "The 20/20 Experience" is a wonderful experience and something that will go down as one of Timberlake's best and most iconic releases...ever. Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Listening to this new offering of Timbalake, I was blown away. They have taken their sound, and seemingly perfected it, and you cannot help but absorb it all.
  21. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This is easilly the best album of the year (at the moment), suprassing long.live.a$ap of asap rocky.

    I mean i don't listen to much pop, i hear most urban music (rap and r&B), but i think this can be a great R&B album if you compare too usher's and chris brown's lastest albums. I mean this guy make music similar to michael jackson a very rhytmic album and far away the classic pop album,
    he deserves a good score on this because this album cover a wider range of styles, and that's why the album will be easilly thr best selling album of the year, pop and r&B fans will buying this album. Expand
  22. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    I really like this album...Timbaland's production is very creative and varied from one track to the next. I also think JT's vocals are fantastic. He is also creative with his lyrics. He compares the infatuation of women by men to drugs ie strawberry bubblegum is actually a form of weed.
  23. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable,amazing.One of his best albums and maybe one of the best albums of this year.The 4 min outrous for most of the songs made this album this good.Simply EPIC.
  24. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Altogether it is JT's best album, with songs that speak right from the heart and go into the soul. The songs could be cut down a little bit, but one of my all-time favorite songs, Mirrors, is on there, as well as two songs I listen to regularly, That Girl and Pusher Love Girl.
  25. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest albums ever created. All the songs are so different from each other and they are all so amazing. Justin Timberlake's voice is so smooth and the beats and rhythms are great as well.
  26. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Track by track review

    Pusher love girl a smooth and funky song that opens up the album great 9/10
    Suit and tie growing on me but this 5 minute song that's not really my cup of tea 7/10
    Don't hold the wall a tropical funky song that is one of the strongest of the album 8.5/10
    Strawberry bubblegum a cute and soft song that does drag on but has strong vocals 7/10
    Tunnel vision some annoying beats but a different and weird type of song 7.5/10
    Spaceship coupe some of the best vocals on the album and has meaning 8.5/10
    That girl one of the highlights of the album slow funky and relaxing 9/10
    Let the groove get in a funky fun up tempo but a little bloated 8/10
    Mirrors a sad but brilliant song that delivers 9/10
    Blue ocean floor a fantastic ending and some amazing lyrics 9.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  2. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    75
    While it may be a little overlong at nearly an hour and a half, there are influences from 40-odd years of pop music expertly melted together by a master craftsman to create an album of consistently brilliant songs.