The 20/20 Experience

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 292
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    Alright Justin, you've got some balls on you. I cannot help respecting what Justin Timberlake has done in making The 20/20 Experience. Let us not forget that he's still one of the biggest names in pop music regardless of the time he's had off just look at the amount of hype the album has received: he’s managed to make the cover of naff tween magazines and the front cover of PitchforkAlright Justin, you've got some balls on you. I cannot help respecting what Justin Timberlake has done in making The 20/20 Experience. Let us not forget that he's still one of the biggest names in pop music regardless of the time he's had off just look at the amount of hype the album has received: he’s managed to make the cover of naff tween magazines and the front cover of Pitchfork during the same media frenzy. Yet, he comes back with a pop album made up of ten tracks which average out at seven minutes each. The shortest track is nearly five minutes long, which is kind of remarkable in that he could be so adventurous and bold when he could have played the safe card after such a long solo absence. As a decision, I can take it and admire it for what it is, but that doesn't mean I have to enjoy the decision exactly. See, while the most interesting aspect of the album is the fact that Timberlake hasn't exactly played it safe, it’s also that decision which has made the album a wholly unsatisfying one.

    I have to admit that I really admire The 20/20 Experience as an album and I really admire Justin Timberlake as an artist for embarking on a project that carries a sense of risk and an enormous amount of pressure with it. On the whole The 20/20 Experience is a bold piece of work that, for the most part, displays some of Justin's more adventurous desires when it comes to creating concepts and songs themselves there's some excellent choruses on here and I've come away humming a few of the more obvious future singles. But in the end it leaves Justin sounding a little too full of himself and too involved in the ideas he's clearly had lots of since he started writing this album. Most of the album's tracks should end a good three or four minutes before they do (none of the tracks warrant even being 6 minutes long, never mind 8 minutes) and Justin rarely displays a sense of restraint or ability to know when to just knock out an idea quickly and leave a lasting mark, like he used to in the beginning of his solo career, but there are enough of pop’s most traditional and effective qualities on show to at least make 20/20 enjoyable for the most part. You've got to give credit to Justin for trying something like this, and credit to him for showing slightly more ambition to branch out, but sometimes creases need ironing more than once.
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Like fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down toLike fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down to the Blue Ocean Floor. I was amazed with the sound and tones of each track. This album is damn near perfect. Note: This album is for lovers of R&B/Soul music not EDM or bubblegum pop. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    By far his best work yet. The 20/20 Experience returns us to the groovy, poppy, sounds that we heard from FutureSex/LoveSounds, with the addition of some more classic R&B tones and influences that I personal was pleasantly surprised to hear.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Incredible album filled with fantastic awesomeness. Okay, that's not a good way to start a review. But it's true. It stars with the magic "Pusher Love Girl", flows with the hit single "Suit & Tie", gets a little messy with "Don't Hold the Wall", romantic with "Strawberry Bubblegum", extraordinary with "Tunnel Vision", magical with "Spaceship Coupe", groovy with "That Girl", annoying (butIncredible album filled with fantastic awesomeness. Okay, that's not a good way to start a review. But it's true. It stars with the magic "Pusher Love Girl", flows with the hit single "Suit & Tie", gets a little messy with "Don't Hold the Wall", romantic with "Strawberry Bubblegum", extraordinary with "Tunnel Vision", magical with "Spaceship Coupe", groovy with "That Girl", annoying (but catchy) with "Let the Groove Get In", deep with "Mirrors" and beautiful with "Blue Ocean Floor". The only thing missing here is a dance pop song. But that obviously was not the goal. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    I'm glad to see JT after 7 long years. I was long waiting for an album and he didn't fail to deliver. The songs are catchy and addictive and Timbaland's production is also good. So, overall this album is worth listening to.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit &After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit & Tie. Now that the album is released the kinds of music are split. The tracks that truly stand out are "Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, Strawberry Bubblegum, That Girl, Mirrors and Blue Ocean Floor." The rest are good tracks, but they just didn't wow me, like the ones I mentioned. To choose the best track would be hard because I have a tie between Mirrors & Blue Ocean Floor. I would have to choose Mirrors because it has more of a "hit" quality. Overall the album is really good, It has radio quality even though they are mostly seven minutes long. The radio will just cut some parts of the songs though. Justin Timberlake has announced that he will release another album later this year, I hope it will be as equal or even better than this one. I just hope it will have more songs that are shorter. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    This is the best and his most matured album that Justin Timberlake ever made.
    The lenghtly songs of the album made everyone had their eyebrows raised because nobody listens to very long songs. But, it seems like the lenghtly songs made every listener's time worth it.
    The tracklist is perfect, from the perfect opener, "Pusher Love Girl" to the perfect closer, "Blue Ocean Floor", it's like
    This is the best and his most matured album that Justin Timberlake ever made.
    The lenghtly songs of the album made everyone had their eyebrows raised because nobody listens to very long songs. But, it seems like the lenghtly songs made every listener's time worth it.
    The tracklist is perfect, from the perfect opener, "Pusher Love Girl" to the perfect closer, "Blue Ocean Floor", it's like you're listening to the soundtrack of a Hollywood classic.
    The only song that was a miss is "Let the Groove In", which I felt like its somehow upbeat Latin tune is a bit out of place from this album.
    The lyrics may be mediocre but the sophisticated production backs it up perfectly.
    Timbaland's catchy back-up vocals and JT's amazing voice made this album very catchy as its own right.
    Let's not forget how JT learned from producing other songs for other artists with Timbaland and puts everything that he learned into this album.
    This ambitiously made album is a perfect album to buy for any fan and any non-fan who would proudly say that they're glad to buy this album.
    Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    First let me say I am a big JT fan. After 7 years i was expecting something that would blow me away but apart from the obviously excellent production values, the vast majority of the album is middling R&B.
    I was actually laughing at the banality of some of the Lyrics. Apart from the last song there was not a single track that made me want to actually get up and dance. I don't see where
    First let me say I am a big JT fan. After 7 years i was expecting something that would blow me away but apart from the obviously excellent production values, the vast majority of the album is middling R&B.
    I was actually laughing at the banality of some of the Lyrics. Apart from the last song there was not a single track that made me want to actually get up and dance. I don't see where the hits are going to come from apart from the last track. Well produced but safe and boring R&B. Perhaps the happy married life has robbed him of the sexy, funky, creative edge his previous albums were known for. Romantic, bland mush that I can only imagine would be popular with suburban white girls who claim to love R&B
    Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A seriously good album considering his long absence. Could be the best pop album of the year, JT throw away his old R'n'B style and reinvent himself on this LP. Most of the tracks are long and few of them feels rather lengthy, making the highs and lows of the album more apparent. But still, mostly highs, mostly highs. Highlight tracks: Mirrors, Suit & Tie, Blue Ocean Floor, Strawberry Bubblegum
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I am not a big fan of JT, although I do think he is talented. I was anxious to hear a new album from him since it had been so long between releases. And, let me say this- it sounds dated. Ultra-electronica sounding (which Usher did late last year). Not that JT's voice is to blame, but I think the producer is where to point the finger. Timaland was the producer and he hasn't made anythingI am not a big fan of JT, although I do think he is talented. I was anxious to hear a new album from him since it had been so long between releases. And, let me say this- it sounds dated. Ultra-electronica sounding (which Usher did late last year). Not that JT's voice is to blame, but I think the producer is where to point the finger. Timaland was the producer and he hasn't made anything good since MIssy Elliot. Additonally the material/subject is nothing extraordinary (which is disappointing) and each song is 7 minutes long leaving a casual fan like me to skip to the next track. Glad I didn't spend money on this. LOL. Expand
  11. May 31, 2013
    7
    This album’s best aspects for the most part are the production & singing. Musically it goes in a fairly diverse amount of territories on the pop spectrum. It ranges from old-school horn/guitar-driven R&B to the modern electronically-tinged interpretations of R&B that was practically the trademark sound of his last album FutureSex/LoveSounds to some more worldly styles that incorporateThis album’s best aspects for the most part are the production & singing. Musically it goes in a fairly diverse amount of territories on the pop spectrum. It ranges from old-school horn/guitar-driven R&B to the modern electronically-tinged interpretations of R&B that was practically the trademark sound of his last album FutureSex/LoveSounds to some more worldly styles that incorporate tribal rhythm sections & mantra-like chant choruses that go on for a good majority of the song, to the minimalist closer Blue Ocean Floor that defies pop structure by running on solely a looped & seemingly backmasked keyboard part, creating an appropriately vast & subdued atmosphere for the beautifully sentimental lyrics about dedication to your significant other. This is one advantage 20/20 has over FS/LS; its ambitious & diverse (by pop album standards) instrumentation makes things a bit more sonically interesting from track to track in addition to the knack for great earworm hooks that has been a constant positive throughout JT’s career, whereas in the past, with a couple exceptions his work has been pop music through-and-through. On the mixed side of things, the lyrics are very hit-and-miss.They’re pretty much all about love (surprise surprise) though in a generally more mature direction than in the past; more ClassyBack than SexyBack. The thing is that the way these more sentimental ideas come across differs in success from track to track. Some tracks that pull this off exceptionally well include Mirrors & Tunnel Vision. The former is a very well-crafted & sincere affirmation that he and his significant other are perfect for each other and meant to last, playing on the term “better half” & tweaking the metaphor a bit. It’s basically this album’s My Love, except it sounds a little less made-for-radio while never losing its accessibility. The latter takes on a similar concept but focuses in more on the devoted & slightly obsessive side of things. It can get a bit cheesy in a couple lines but in comes off endearing rather than cringeworthy. Now if only that’d be the case with some of the other songs here... Some songs like Pusher Love Girl or Spaceship Coupe do nothing more than beat a bad metaphor (drugs & outer space respectively) into the ground until it’s reduced to dust. Heck, Pusher can’t even stay consistent; is the girl the drug or the dealer or it that actually JT that’s one of those things or what? Meanwhile Coupe devolves into replicating the lower points of FutureSex/LoveSounds, throwing out nothing but corny space-sex jokes. And while Strawberry Bubblegum doesn’t beat the titular concept entirely into the ground (in fact containing some pretty good lyrics), it’s still in the same ballpark of metaphoric lameness. It’s further amplified by the facepalm-inducing intro, which for 40 seconds beats into your skull that the song is “dedicated to you” like JT’s for some reason still pandering to the boy-band fangirl demo. It seems that on 20/20, lyrics can only work if they’re one of 2 extremes: the heart-pouring ballads & the lighthearted good-time songs. The songs in this category would include the uplifting & optimistic Don’t Hold the Wall, the dancey, fun & lyrically simple Let the Groove Get In (which like people have been saying sounds a lot like Michael Jackson’s Wanna Be Startin’ Something, but not to the point of ripoff in my opinion) & the suave, sophisticated ode to high-class attire Suit & Tie. When Suit & Tie was released as the first single I was pleasantly surprised (since this was from before I really got into his work), even if it was a bit flawed. Namely in the awful-sounding intro & as well as the meandering & unnecessary verse from Jay-Z. On repeated listens I found a couple cool lines in there, but I definitely would have shortened it. Plus there’s a couple lines in the second verse of the song (Stop, lemme get a good look at it So thick, now I know why they call it a fatty) that just irk me. Is he talking about drugs? His girl’s butt? Either way it’s a bit out of place in an otherwise very mature song. Easily the biggest problem in this album though is the song lengths. Since FS/LS for some reason JT’s had this odd obsession with outros & interludes. And sometimes, like on What Goes Around Comes Around, it works really well, adding sort of a new dimension to the song & giving it more personality & presence. Other times though it just feels tacked on for no reason other than to seem more ambitious a musician than he really is. Unfortunately for the most part this strategy just doesn’t work. It usually falls into at least one of a number of outcomes; either it tacks on practically a remix of the same song, repeats the same 1 or 2 lines for 4 minutes, or just stays on the same groove for WAY too long. Still despite these gripes, JT's in fine form here. He just needs to learn to focus more on his strengths. 70/100 Expand
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years.
  13. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Timberlake has set the bar for every album left to come out in 2013. The production that has been handled by Timbaland is almost flawless and Timberlake's vocals flow smoothly with the beat of each song. All in all, the album is a great listen and has many potential hit songs.
  14. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    After 7 years, JT and Timbaland are back. Let me say they created a masterpiece of today (future) pop/R&B music. Yes, it's different, but it had to be after FutureSex/LoveSounds. This album has only 10 tracks, but it's long enough (7 minutes long tracks are standard). Most of the time is this album ingenious (multilayered sound and lyrics). One listen is not enough to reveal all the hiddenAfter 7 years, JT and Timbaland are back. Let me say they created a masterpiece of today (future) pop/R&B music. Yes, it's different, but it had to be after FutureSex/LoveSounds. This album has only 10 tracks, but it's long enough (7 minutes long tracks are standard). Most of the time is this album ingenious (multilayered sound and lyrics). One listen is not enough to reveal all the hidden treasures. Maybe it wil become the classic, maybe not, but I hope it does. Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Man, it's been a while since we've heard from Justin Timberlake (or JT for short) in the music world. After debuting his new single "Suit & Tie" with Jay-Z, everyone was curious to see what Timberlake was going to do next and with the announcement of two albums in one year (20/20 Experience 2 of 2 comes out later this fall) we all wanted to see how Timberlake could do it. Ladies andMan, it's been a while since we've heard from Justin Timberlake (or JT for short) in the music world. After debuting his new single "Suit & Tie" with Jay-Z, everyone was curious to see what Timberlake was going to do next and with the announcement of two albums in one year (20/20 Experience 2 of 2 comes out later this fall) we all wanted to see how Timberlake could do it. Ladies and Gentlemen JT did it, "The 20/20 Experience" may possibly be one of the best albums I've heard in quite sometime, Exceptionally written, Expertly produced, and well, excellent. The one thing that could keep this from being the best album of the year could be Timberlake's second release this year, we'll have to see. 20/20 Experience is unconventional to all Pop music out there, it's different and at times it's just R&B, it's Brilliant. Justin Timberlake is at the top of his game here, his vocals here are Natural, Toned in Well, and flows smoothly with everything going on. The album is only about ten songs long, but it's also a little more than 70 minutes long, I was consistently into the music all the way until the final seconds of the last song "Blue Ocean Floor", speaking of songs there are many standout's here, which include "Suit & Tie", "Let the Groove Get in", "Pusher Love Girl", and "Tunnel Vision" all sound amazing. Hardly any problems here but listeners looking for mainstream Pop should stay away from this, it's very different and if you want something different then this is a must. One of the Best albums of 2013, "The 20/20 Experience" is a wonderful experience and something that will go down as one of Timberlake's best and most iconic releases...ever. Expand
  16. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Listening to this new offering of Timbalake, I was blown away. They have taken their sound, and seemingly perfected it, and you cannot help but absorb it all.
  17. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music. While better than his debut album, he falls just short of doing better than his last outing, "FutureSex/LoveSound". He starts the album out amazingly with "Pusher Love Girl" (which, by the way, should have been the albums first single instead of "Suit &The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music. While better than his debut album, he falls just short of doing better than his last outing, "FutureSex/LoveSound". He starts the album out amazingly with "Pusher Love Girl" (which, by the way, should have been the albums first single instead of "Suit & Tie"). Then you get to Suit & Tie, which by now, is incredibly overplayed, but a still relatively good song, then you finish Track 5, "Tunnel Vision", which isn't that good, then you get to "Spaceship Coupe", which isn't that good either, but you start "That Girl" and "Let The Groove In" and all's forgiven. Then you hit the second single off this album, "Mirrors", and finish off with "Blue Ocean Floor". Aside from the two aforementioned tracks that weren't that good, this album is amazing. Relieving to hear from Justin Timberlake again. He's better suited making music, rather than starring in sub-par movies. I can't wait for Volume 2 of The 20/20 Experience when it comes out this Fall. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    By the fourth song, I began to question why in the world I would listen to this.

    Timberlake's voice is flawless, don't get me wrong; he's got a very smooth voice that goes well into the R&B genre of the industry, silky and warm. It's also good making general pop music too, so there is a hint of diversity. And some of the background instrumental is nice too, kinda like a dream in some
    By the fourth song, I began to question why in the world I would listen to this.

    Timberlake's voice is flawless, don't get me wrong; he's got a very smooth voice that goes well into the R&B genre of the industry, silky and warm. It's also good making general pop music too, so there is a hint of diversity. And some of the background instrumental is nice too, kinda like a dream in some cases.

    However, that's all that can be said of this album. The production falls flat and becomes questionable right from the very start. The songs drag on for longer than they need too, considering the lyricism is lacking in any general depth or meaning and the instrumentals don't do any justice. And at 70 minutes long, it DRAGS. I don't mind the fact that people would like this album, I really don't. It sounds nice, sometimes; the fact of the matter is is that there's nothing to it. Nothing on this album has any substance whatsoever, and it's easier to listen to nails on a chalkboard for five minutes than over an hour of this.
    Expand
  19. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocalThis album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocal parts, which ultimately shine through and are especially intriguing in harmony with each other. Overall a 9.5 for sure; a versatile display of old soul influences and the future of (good) pop music. Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    After 7 years, the songs sound too familiar. Timbaland's production really hasn't changed much. Justin maybe growing as an artist, but his songs are not what I expected after the long wait between albums. You can see his focus is more on being an Actor now.

    The songs are way too long. It worked on the Future Sex/ Love Sounds album since they were technically two songs. On 20/20, the end
    After 7 years, the songs sound too familiar. Timbaland's production really hasn't changed much. Justin maybe growing as an artist, but his songs are not what I expected after the long wait between albums. You can see his focus is more on being an Actor now.

    The songs are way too long. It worked on the Future Sex/ Love Sounds album since they were technically two songs. On 20/20, the end of certain songs felt unnecessarily extended. Lyrics are quite poor for a veteran of pop songs. Some lyrics just don't work with what he's trying to portray, but I understand this will album will be universally accepted since we need some Pop 'savior'.
    Expand
  21. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    Justin has made a habit out of taking big breaks between albums, but this was ridiculous. After six and a half years, everyone thought he'd disappeared for good and was completely devoted to acting now, but then, out of the blue, a new single got released with an album coming real soon. Despite the sudden announcement, fans responded well and Mirrors was even a #1 smash for threeJustin has made a habit out of taking big breaks between albums, but this was ridiculous. After six and a half years, everyone thought he'd disappeared for good and was completely devoted to acting now, but then, out of the blue, a new single got released with an album coming real soon. Despite the sudden announcement, fans responded well and Mirrors was even a #1 smash for three consecutive weeks in the UK. But I have to say, the album is not up to par with his opus, Futuresex/Lovesounds. While doing something very different with its retro sound, nearly every song is so slow, bland and boring. It was a big risk and it seems like Justin is the only one who could have success with this as it's so far removed from what the public want. But there are little upsides. Don't Hold The Wall is one of the true urban influenced tunes that might actually encourage people to dance, Spaceship Coupe is so smooth with an amazing electric guitar solo and deluxe edition bonus track, Dress On, is a very sexy little number. Everything else is ok to mediocre to awful with eyebrow raising metaphors for love in Pusher Love Girl and awful atrocities like That Girl and Let The Groove Get In. Justin's lyrics are pretty bad and the biggest issue is with the incredibly long duration of every song. Just when you think it's over, it goes into another level for another 3-4 minutes. Sure, Justin did long songs with his last album, but the transition isn't done well this time and it seems like an extra bit was tacked on to make the songs un-necessarily long and it seems to have no connection to the first half. Long songs are not automatically artsy. It's all about quality, not duration. Sometimes, a song's just meant to end at a certain point. Don't milk it so it becomes an overproduced mess. Justin does have a part 2 to this album due out later this year, so here's hoping he's learned what works and what doesn't this time. But I assume it's going to be more of the same. Expand
  22. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this album completely. It is exactly what I envisioned the album to be after his release of Suit and Tie and you can truly hear the effort that JT has put towards this album as nearly all the songs (except three) are about 8 minutes long a true experience. I'm still figuring out whether the continued collaboration between Timbaland and Timberlake is a positive or a negativeI enjoyed this album completely. It is exactly what I envisioned the album to be after his release of Suit and Tie and you can truly hear the effort that JT has put towards this album as nearly all the songs (except three) are about 8 minutes long a true experience. I'm still figuring out whether the continued collaboration between Timbaland and Timberlake is a positive or a negative aspect of the production as it is very similar to JT's previous albums but then again why stop an amazing pair simply because it is expected? My favourite song on this record is possibly Strawberry Bubblegum it's composition and styling is reminiscent of Sade with the "mellow" lyrics and tone. I can truly see this album winning Best Album in the Grammy's 2014 or maybe I am speaking to soon... Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    For all the JT fans that associate him to his 'Cry Me A River' days, this record is going to be a little too hard to soak in... for a while. After that, it's going to be the best thing they've ever heard. It's a record that needs time to grow on you. Once you listen to it a few times, you'll automatically find the music a breath of fresh air. We're surrounded by the music by the likes ofFor all the JT fans that associate him to his 'Cry Me A River' days, this record is going to be a little too hard to soak in... for a while. After that, it's going to be the best thing they've ever heard. It's a record that needs time to grow on you. Once you listen to it a few times, you'll automatically find the music a breath of fresh air. We're surrounded by the music by the likes of Rihanna, Drake, Jay Z, Usher, etc. The music of theirs is almost the same, with a few exceptions. This album is different, just like 'FutureSex/LoveSounds' was, when it released in 2006.

    This is a great album and with time, it'll grow on you. A masterpiece, it is, for me. Kudos to JT and Timbaland and I can't wait for the 2nd Volume to the album, coming out in November, this year.

    Cheers.
    Expand
  24. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    A good album. I liked all the tracks, and loved a few. Nothing special, nothing terrible. I'm excited for 20/20 Experience- 2 of 2. Good job JT, keep the good tunes coming.
  25. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    good and nice album but very disappointed because its not good as i thought after waiting 7 years
    and most tracks r over 7 minutes so how can it be on radio and has the success that deserve
    i was thinking it will be the best album in 2013 but i think it will be too hard to acheive that
  26. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Downloaded this with my zune music pass and I'm disappointed but it's still a decent album.
    Just expected more, most of the songs sound the same except for a 1 or 2 tracks
  27. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    It's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course, most of the songs are 5 to 10 minutes long) but once you gave it two or three listens, most of the songs start to get stuck in your head. I would say Mirrors and Tunnel Vision are the songs that doesn't take too long to like because they're not thatIt's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course, most of the songs are 5 to 10 minutes long) but once you gave it two or three listens, most of the songs start to get stuck in your head. I would say Mirrors and Tunnel Vision are the songs that doesn't take too long to like because they're not that unusual. Mirrors is reminding people of Cry Me A River, but it's definitely a better, mature song, dedicated to his wife. Tunnel Vision's beat somehow reminds me of Ayo Technology here and there, but it's way more effective with a beat so addictive that could actually turn this song into a radio-hit if edited to a shorter version. Suit and Tie was his first single, which had mixed reviews at first but most of people actually ended up enjoying it days later, demonstrates exactly what to expect in this album: songs that doesn't sound like modern pop/r&b and more like a classic r&b/neo-soul album, thing that it's likely to disappoint a lot of fans at first but believe me, give it the proper listen it deserves and it will grow on you somehow. Not all the songs are great but most of them are likely to make you repeat them over and over again for a couple a days. Also, I have to point out the last album's song, Blue Ocean Floor. This is the track that I absolutely think most people will fall in love with in the whole album. It cans sound a little weird at first because we are not used to ballads and ultra-serene sounds in Timberlake's albums but those ballads and serene, abstract sounds along with his best showcase of his impressive, inspired vocals to date make for what is with no doubt the best, most memorable song of his new album and even one of the best of his career, simply because it is extremely powerful and shows how much JB has become a mature person in these 7 years out of the music industry, and men, if those 7 year's weren't worth the wait... Expand
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This is easilly the best album of the year (at the moment), suprassing long.live.a$ap of asap rocky.

    I mean i don't listen to much pop, i hear most urban music (rap and r&B), but i think this can be a great R&B album if you compare too usher's and chris brown's lastest albums. I mean this guy make music similar to michael jackson a very rhytmic album and far away the classic pop album,
    This is easilly the best album of the year (at the moment), suprassing long.live.a$ap of asap rocky.

    I mean i don't listen to much pop, i hear most urban music (rap and r&B), but i think this can be a great R&B album if you compare too usher's and chris brown's lastest albums. I mean this guy make music similar to michael jackson a very rhytmic album and far away the classic pop album, he deserves a good score on this because this album cover a wider range of styles, and that's why the album will be easilly thr best selling album of the year, pop and r&B fans will buying this album.
    Expand
  29. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album. the songs are also too long, he needs to cut songs in half instead of just changing the beat
  30. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Best pop/r&b album I've heard in years,amazing production. Timberlake also proves he is a great vocalist.
    What need to be strengthened is the lyrics.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  2. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    75
    While it may be a little overlong at nearly an hour and a half, there are influences from 40-odd years of pop music expertly melted together by a master craftsman to create an album of consistently brilliant songs.