• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The 20/20 Experience Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo release for the pop singer is his first in nearly seven years and was produced by Timbaland (two tracks with Timberlake and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    100
    As a complete package, The 20/20 Experience will surely be remembered as one of the first of what will hopefully become a trend in popular music of releasing challenging, experimental, and expertly written material.
  2. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    The 20/20 Experience is both a return to form and a departure, deftly combining his trademark shape-shifting digital funk with a warmer, more organic sound.
  4. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    75
    Timberlake is reminding us that as quickly as music moves today, great style persists.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    70
    The issue is whether he's done enough to quench our R&B-infused pop sensibilities; he hasn't. The needle may have jumped a bit, but ultimately nothing here turns things over.
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Even the most hardened of cynics have to marvel at 20/20‘s sheer musical audacity, but at the end of the day, the individual songs fail to hold up to close scrutiny.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 69
  2. Negative: 5 out of 69
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop andAbsolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years. Collapse
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
    Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grandAfter seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit & Tie. Now that the album is released the kinds of music are split. The tracks that truly stand out are "Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, Strawberry Bubblegum, That Girl, Mirrors and Blue Ocean Floor." The rest are good tracks, but they just didn't wow me, like the ones I mentioned. To choose the best track would be hard because I have a tie between Mirrors & Blue Ocean Floor. I would have to choose Mirrors because it has more of a "hit" quality. Overall the album is really good, It has radio quality even though they are mostly seven minutes long. The radio will just cut some parts of the songs though. Justin Timberlake has announced that he will release another album later this year, I hope it will be as equal or even better than this one. I just hope it will have more songs that are shorter. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    After all these year, JT has come back and dominated the airwaves, making sure to produce songs that get played over the radios ever 36After all these year, JT has come back and dominated the airwaves, making sure to produce songs that get played over the radios ever 36 minutes on average. and might i say, great job for giving us a great album. nothing is as it seems in this voyage to the human heart. but what should we expect? Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    It's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course,It's not an album that you will enjoy it immediately (the layouts are even more unusual in here compared to his last album and, of course, most of the songs are 5 to 10 minutes long) but once you gave it two or three listens, most of the songs start to get stuck in your head. I would say Mirrors and Tunnel Vision are the songs that doesn't take too long to like because they're not that unusual. Mirrors is reminding people of Cry Me A River, but it's definitely a better, mature song, dedicated to his wife. Tunnel Vision's beat somehow reminds me of Ayo Technology here and there, but it's way more effective with a beat so addictive that could actually turn this song into a radio-hit if edited to a shorter version. Suit and Tie was his first single, which had mixed reviews at first but most of people actually ended up enjoying it days later, demonstrates exactly what to expect in this album: songs that doesn't sound like modern pop/r&b and more like a classic r&b/neo-soul album, thing that it's likely to disappoint a lot of fans at first but believe me, give it the proper listen it deserves and it will grow on you somehow. Not all the songs are great but most of them are likely to make you repeat them over and over again for a couple a days. Also, I have to point out the last album's song, Blue Ocean Floor. This is the track that I absolutely think most people will fall in love with in the whole album. It cans sound a little weird at first because we are not used to ballads and ultra-serene sounds in Timberlake's albums but those ballads and serene, abstract sounds along with his best showcase of his impressive, inspired vocals to date make for what is with no doubt the best, most memorable song of his new album and even one of the best of his career, simply because it is extremely powerful and shows how much JB has become a mature person in these 7 years out of the music industry, and men, if those 7 year's weren't worth the wait... Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album.the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album. the songs are also too long, he needs to cut songs in half instead of just changing the beat Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Dear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 isDear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 is nothing but an unbearable DRAG and defo not a sexy back. Quite unsexy, actually. Thank God for Spotify, didn’t have to waste money on this. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews