The 20/20 Experience

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The 20/20 Experience Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo release for the pop singer is his first in nearly seven years and was produced by Timbaland (two tracks with Timberlake and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon).
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    100
    As a complete package, The 20/20 Experience will surely be remembered as one of the first of what will hopefully become a trend in popular music of releasing challenging, experimental, and expertly written material.
  2. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    The 20/20 Experience is both a return to form and a departure, deftly combining his trademark shape-shifting digital funk with a warmer, more organic sound.
  4. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    75
    Timberlake is reminding us that as quickly as music moves today, great style persists.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    70
    The issue is whether he's done enough to quench our R&B-infused pop sensibilities; he hasn't. The needle may have jumped a bit, but ultimately nothing here turns things over.
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Even the most hardened of cynics have to marvel at 20/20‘s sheer musical audacity, but at the end of the day, the individual songs fail to hold up to close scrutiny.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop andAbsolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years. Expand
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
    Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    After seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grandAfter seven years years of SNL and acting (and doing a good job at it as well.) Justin Timberlake has returned and he did it in grand fashion. When I first heard about JT's new album I was very excited. Then I heard Suit & Tie I liked it, but didn't love it. I heard Mirrors a week later and I fell I was even more pumped. I was hoping more songs would be like Mirrors rather than Suit & Tie. Now that the album is released the kinds of music are split. The tracks that truly stand out are "Pusher Love Girl, Suit & Tie, Strawberry Bubblegum, That Girl, Mirrors and Blue Ocean Floor." The rest are good tracks, but they just didn't wow me, like the ones I mentioned. To choose the best track would be hard because I have a tie between Mirrors & Blue Ocean Floor. I would have to choose Mirrors because it has more of a "hit" quality. Overall the album is really good, It has radio quality even though they are mostly seven minutes long. The radio will just cut some parts of the songs though. Justin Timberlake has announced that he will release another album later this year, I hope it will be as equal or even better than this one. I just hope it will have more songs that are shorter. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music.The ultimate love album. While the length of the album may seem a problem to some, Justin Timberlake does a fine job at making fine music. While better than his debut album, he falls just short of doing better than his last outing, "FutureSex/LoveSound". He starts the album out amazingly with "Pusher Love Girl" (which, by the way, should have been the albums first single instead of "Suit & Tie"). Then you get to Suit & Tie, which by now, is incredibly overplayed, but a still relatively good song, then you finish Track 5, "Tunnel Vision", which isn't that good, then you get to "Spaceship Coupe", which isn't that good either, but you start "That Girl" and "Let The Groove In" and all's forgiven. Then you hit the second single off this album, "Mirrors", and finish off with "Blue Ocean Floor". Aside from the two aforementioned tracks that weren't that good, this album is amazing. Relieving to hear from Justin Timberlake again. He's better suited making music, rather than starring in sub-par movies. I can't wait for Volume 2 of The 20/20 Experience when it comes out this Fall. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    A long, elaborate, almost intricate album. At a first listen it would seem basically devoid of hit singles, but it is only because TimberlakeA long, elaborate, almost intricate album. At a first listen it would seem basically devoid of hit singles, but it is only because Timberlake pushes the boundaries of pop music, striving for longer songs (8 tracks are over seven minutes long) and delivering less immediate melodies. But radio edits prove that at the heart of every song in The 20/20 Experience there is a smash hit. Timberlake's vocal performance is gracious as usual, so inspired he sounds like he's actually dancing. The only fault is that sometimes the transitions between different moments in a song are not smooth, but there is well over an hour of continuous enjoyment. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album.the beats are the main thing on this album. justin timberlake only shines on a few songs. suit and tie is probably the best song on the album. the songs are also too long, he needs to cut songs in half instead of just changing the beat Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Dear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 isDear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 is nothing but an unbearable DRAG and defo not a sexy back. Quite unsexy, actually. Thank God for Spotify, didn’t have to waste money on this. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews