The 20/20 Experience - Justin Timberlake
The 20/20 Experience Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo release for the pop singer is his first in nearly seven years and was produced by Timbaland (two tracks with Timberlake and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    100
    As a complete package, The 20/20 Experience will surely be remembered as one of the first of what will hopefully become a trend in popular music of releasing challenging, experimental, and expertly written material.
  2. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    The 20/20 Experience is both a return to form and a departure, deftly combining his trademark shape-shifting digital funk with a warmer, more organic sound.
  4. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    75
    Timberlake is reminding us that as quickly as music moves today, great style persists.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    70
    The issue is whether he's done enough to quench our R&B-infused pop sensibilities; he hasn't. The needle may have jumped a bit, but ultimately nothing here turns things over.
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Even the most hardened of cynics have to marvel at 20/20‘s sheer musical audacity, but at the end of the day, the individual songs fail to hold up to close scrutiny.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 5 out of 63
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Like fine wine, this album gets better with time. It's 2013's masterpiece! The tracks are all co-written by Justin and produced by Timbaland. The music is very instrumental...classical yet modern. The album is like a modern day Frank Sinatra meets JT. Women love this album, just so you guys know. Every track has a place on this album from the fantastic opening of Pusher Love Girl down to the Blue Ocean Floor. I was amazed with the sound and tones of each track. This album is damn near perfect. Note: This album is for lovers of R&B/Soul music not EDM or bubblegum pop. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The new "neo-soul" style in the album is the most thing that kept me hooked to the record. We don't have ex-musketeers tha will be ruling the charts and getting critical acclaim. Well we have them [Britney Spears, Justin Timeberlake and Christina Aguilera] and this album shows that JT is the supreme. Absolute masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Some tracks aren't very distinctive whilst others stand out as classical and catchy tunes. Justin's return to the music industry is astounding considering his last album was so long ago. Collapse
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Downloaded this with my zune music pass and I'm disappointed but it's still a decent album.
    Just expected more, most of the songs sound the
    same except for a 1 or 2 tracks Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review is from THE LAST NIGHT EARLY MORNING SHOW podcast. THE BAD: I am a little disappointed in the whole album. Other than “Suit and Tie” no song really stuck out to me. Timbaland uses a lot of the same samples we have heard before. THE GOOD: I think Justin is trying to develop an entire album and not one that just has singles on it. The majority of the songs go over 7 minutes. The format that he sticks to is changing the way the song begins and creates a different song from the same tempo and instruments that he started out using. He will ever use one instrument playing the same thing throughout but everything else around it change. I can respect that. SONGS:
    1. Pusher Love Girl Around 4:57 it goes into a hip-hop kind of break down, which I like better than the original song.
    2. Suit & Tie The best song on the album.
    3. Don't Hold The Wall At 2:45 Sounds like the same sample he used on his Shock Value album song Bombay. I like the breakdown.
    4. Strawberry Bubblegum At 5:00 min the song changes again, but this time it goes into a smooth kind of swing jazz feel to it with Rhodes piano, but it has a deep bass that has a little wah sound effect. 5. Tunnel Vision I like the way JT’s voice sounds on this song. I am nodding my head. 6. Spaceship Coupe At 5:20 there is a loop that plays and it sounds a little like The Stylistics You Are Everything.
    7. That Girl This song sounds really smooth.
    8. Let The Groove Get In I like the stabbing that the horns section does, but don't like the breakdown. I like how the song changes after 5:15. 9. Mirrors This is the first song that I fast-forwarded it to the part where the song changes. 10. Blue Ocean Floor The beginning starts out the same way Black Eyed Peas song Labor Day off their Elepunk album. This song is growing on me.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Dear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 is nothing but an unbearable DRAG and defo not a sexy back. Quite unsexy, actually. Thank God for Spotify, didn’t have to waste money on this. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews