The 20/20 Experience - Justin Timberlake
The 20/20 Experience Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo release for the pop singer is his first in nearly seven years and was produced by Timbaland (two tracks with Timberlake and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    100
    As a complete package, The 20/20 Experience will surely be remembered as one of the first of what will hopefully become a trend in popular music of releasing challenging, experimental, and expertly written material.
  2. This is the kind of record where everyone will have different favorite song, where what someone calls dull or overlong or indulgent will resonate perfectly with someone else, depending on that listener’s past musical tastes and experiences.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    The 20/20 Experience is both a return to form and a departure, deftly combining his trademark shape-shifting digital funk with a warmer, more organic sound.
  4. May 6, 2013
    80
    The result would be encyclopedia-thumbing pastiche if it weren’t all so carefully curated, and if the production wasn’t so intricately, lavishly produced that as each track stretches into the fifth or sixth or eighth minute it was not still revealing permutations, secrets, strange little surprises.
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    75
    Timberlake is reminding us that as quickly as music moves today, great style persists.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    70
    The issue is whether he's done enough to quench our R&B-infused pop sensibilities; he hasn't. The needle may have jumped a bit, but ultimately nothing here turns things over.
  7. Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Even the most hardened of cynics have to marvel at 20/20‘s sheer musical audacity, but at the end of the day, the individual songs fail to hold up to close scrutiny.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 5 out of 67
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop andAbsolutely fantastic. Timberlake's signing is on point, the writing is amazing, the sulky production is also fantastic. This is what pop and R&B is supposed to be. Should be hailed as the classic it is in a few years. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Justin mais uma vez mostrou a todos do porque que é chamado de Príncipe/Presidente do Pop, esse provavelmente é um dos melhores álbuns dosJustin mais uma vez mostrou a todos do porque que é chamado de Príncipe/Presidente do Pop, esse provavelmente é um dos melhores álbuns dos últimos 20 anos, impecável. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    This album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flowsThis album is awesome; if this is the direction pop music is headed, then bring it on. Although it does drag just a bit at the end, it flows and stays in its groove without getting too terribly long-winded. The beats are on point (classic Timbaland), while the rest of the music does well taking cues from the likes of Prince and the Temps. The accompaniment really accent Justin's vocal parts, which ultimately shine through and are especially intriguing in harmony with each other. Overall a 9.5 for sure; a versatile display of old soul influences and the future of (good) pop music. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Some tracks aren't very distinctive whilst others stand out as classical and catchy tunes. Justin's return to the music industry is astoundingSome tracks aren't very distinctive whilst others stand out as classical and catchy tunes. Justin's return to the music industry is astounding considering his last album was so long ago. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Downloaded this with my zune music pass and I'm disappointed but it's still a decent album.
    Just expected more, most of the songs sound the
    Downloaded this with my zune music pass and I'm disappointed but it's still a decent album.
    Just expected more, most of the songs sound the same except for a 1 or 2 tracks
    Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review is from THE LAST NIGHT EARLY MORNING SHOW podcast. THE BAD: I am a little disappointed in the whole album. Other than “Suit andThis review is from THE LAST NIGHT EARLY MORNING SHOW podcast. THE BAD: I am a little disappointed in the whole album. Other than “Suit and Tie” no song really stuck out to me. Timbaland uses a lot of the same samples we have heard before. THE GOOD: I think Justin is trying to develop an entire album and not one that just has singles on it. The majority of the songs go over 7 minutes. The format that he sticks to is changing the way the song begins and creates a different song from the same tempo and instruments that he started out using. He will ever use one instrument playing the same thing throughout but everything else around it change. I can respect that. SONGS:
    1. Pusher Love Girl Around 4:57 it goes into a hip-hop kind of break down, which I like better than the original song.
    2. Suit & Tie The best song on the album.
    3. Don't Hold The Wall At 2:45 Sounds like the same sample he used on his Shock Value album song Bombay. I like the breakdown.
    4. Strawberry Bubblegum At 5:00 min the song changes again, but this time it goes into a smooth kind of swing jazz feel to it with Rhodes piano, but it has a deep bass that has a little wah sound effect. 5. Tunnel Vision I like the way JT’s voice sounds on this song. I am nodding my head. 6. Spaceship Coupe At 5:20 there is a loop that plays and it sounds a little like The Stylistics You Are Everything.
    7. That Girl This song sounds really smooth.
    8. Let The Groove Get In I like the stabbing that the horns section does, but don't like the breakdown. I like how the song changes after 5:15. 9. Mirrors This is the first song that I fast-forwarded it to the part where the song changes. 10. Blue Ocean Floor The beginning starts out the same way Black Eyed Peas song Labor Day off their Elepunk album. This song is growing on me.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Dear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 isDear Justin, I think you already released this album back in 2006, except that the songs were 4 min shorter and didn't drag. The 20/20 is nothing but an unbearable DRAG and defo not a sexy back. Quite unsexy, actually. Thank God for Spotify, didn’t have to waste money on this. Collapse

See all 67 User Reviews