Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    60
    [The band's] hardcore sound is as tricky to keep up with as ever. [Mar 2013, p.101]
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    The Aftermath is wild and explorative, its appeal lying in the sprawling ideas and yearning vocals. [Nov 2012, p.103]
  3. 60
    While the album isn't full of the kind of revelations that drop jaws and illicit gasps, the emotion here is a much-needed place of solace and solidity in a mythos larger and more involved than Heaven's Fence itself.
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    This album displays the band at an absolute low-point in their career.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I really have enjoyed this album. It takes me back to the old days of Coheed and Cambria. I've enjoyed their past two albums but are reallyI really have enjoyed this album. It takes me back to the old days of Coheed and Cambria. I've enjoyed their past two albums but are really happy that they're kind of going back to the Keeping Secrets and Good Apollo days. Really looking forward to the second part next year! Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I am a huge Coheed fan, and in my opinion this is definitely their best album to date. Every song is very emotional and powerful. The newI am a huge Coheed fan, and in my opinion this is definitely their best album to date. Every song is very emotional and powerful. The new bassist brings a very jazzy feeling to the rhythm section. Overall, the album has a feeling of loss and despair. Lots to love here- good job Claudio & Company :) Full Review »
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    A vast improvement following from YotBR. Not quite as good as some of their older albums (Good Apollo VI: Vol 1 still holds it's place as myA vast improvement following from YotBR. Not quite as good as some of their older albums (Good Apollo VI: Vol 1 still holds it's place as my personal favourite, and IKSoSE:III is also better) but it's definitely a good step back in the right direction. Relatively short - but it's left me eagerly awaiting the second half of the double album! Full Review »