The Afterman: Ascension - Coheed and Cambria
The Afterman: Ascension Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest concept album for the New York rock band is the first of a planned double album (The Afterman: Descension is scheduled for Feb 2013) about Sirius Amory's discovery of what is holding the Keywork together.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    If Year of the Black Rainbow left you stagnant, The Afterman: Ascension may just blow you away again.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    80
    So far so grandiose. Fortunately, Coheed's music mirrors the scope of the project as a whole here. [ 6 Oct 2012, p.54]
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    80
    It sparkles with invention, creativity, crushing use of dynamics and, when all's said and done, just really strong songs.
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    75
    In dialing back and containing its ambition rather than letting it bleed all over the place, Sanchez and company have found what might be a surer way forward.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    70
    Only in spurts does it ascend to the heights of the band's opening three acts, but it does manage to triumphantly assert itself as a leaps and bounds improvement over Coheed's most recent material.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    70
    The Afterman: Ascension is so ambitious it's actually a bit of a mess, but with so much here that works, this small lapse in focus can easily be forgiven.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    This album displays the band at an absolute low-point in their career.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    This album is fantastic - it's short because it's half of a double album, but there's a lot to love. Getting Josh Eppard back on drums was theThis album is fantastic - it's short because it's half of a double album, but there's a lot to love. Getting Josh Eppard back on drums was the best idea ever, and he absolutely kills it on this album. Otherwise, they've definitely returned to their older sound w/ guitars and melodies, but they've mixed in a lot of compelling time signatures and hits in this album which are a development over past albums.

    As far as the lyrics and stories go, I really haven no idea wtf Claudio is talking about but goddamn the music is sooo bomb.
    Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I am a huge Coheed fan, and in my opinion this is definitely their best album to date. Every song is very emotional and powerful. The newI am a huge Coheed fan, and in my opinion this is definitely their best album to date. Every song is very emotional and powerful. The new bassist brings a very jazzy feeling to the rhythm section. Overall, the album has a feeling of loss and despair. Lots to love here- good job Claudio & Company :) Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I really have enjoyed this album. It takes me back to the old days of Coheed and Cambria. I've enjoyed their past two albums but are reallyI really have enjoyed this album. It takes me back to the old days of Coheed and Cambria. I've enjoyed their past two albums but are really happy that they're kind of going back to the Keeping Secrets and Good Apollo days. Really looking forward to the second part next year! Expand
  4. May 8, 2014
    9
    At first I didn't like it that much but after another listen, I could help but love this album. From start to finish, Nothing but great tracksAt first I didn't like it that much but after another listen, I could help but love this album. From start to finish, Nothing but great tracks that would without a doubt be featured on a greatest hits for Coheed and Cambria. A must buy for sure and it more than makes up for the crappy Year of the Black Rainbow. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    A vast improvement following from YotBR. Not quite as good as some of their older albums (Good Apollo VI: Vol 1 still holds it's place as myA vast improvement following from YotBR. Not quite as good as some of their older albums (Good Apollo VI: Vol 1 still holds it's place as my personal favourite, and IKSoSE:III is also better) but it's definitely a good step back in the right direction. Relatively short - but it's left me eagerly awaiting the second half of the double album! Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    Coheed and Cambria have come out with another great album here. While it is significantly shorter than any other of their albums, it isCoheed and Cambria have come out with another great album here. While it is significantly shorter than any other of their albums, it is excused because it is only part one of a double album. They remarkably seem to have recovered from the slump in which their last two albums seem to have been produced. While not horrible albums, "The Year of the Black Rainbow" and "Good Apollo I'm Burning Star IV: Volume II: there's No World For Tomorrow" strayed from Coheed and Cambria's familiar genre. The Afterman: Ascension returns to their roots so to speak, while still progressing the sound in certain areas (such as production quality). The Afterman: Ascension is truly a great album. Expand
  7. PL3
    Oct 10, 2012
    5
    Coheed is my favorite band of all time, and this album is not the best. They say in interview they come back to the roots. Well, couple ofCoheed is my favorite band of all time, and this album is not the best. They say in interview they come back to the roots. Well, couple of guitar riff make me feel like the first album but. A lot of electronicish sound around and a lots of ballad on this album. The album is too short. The album is very good but some of the old coheed spirit missing. I'm glad because I dont buy the collector box. Still a great album period. But it feel like a new band and not the old coheed band I used to love in the past. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews