The Age of Adz

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 138

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    6
    As others have stated, it's not a bad thing for musicians to explore new territory in successive releases. However, in doing so you're always taking the risk of alienating old fans. The leap from Illinoise to Age of Adz isn't so great that you'd suspect it wasn't even the same artist, but it's still enough to turn some people off. Yes, the instrumentation is different but there's noAs others have stated, it's not a bad thing for musicians to explore new territory in successive releases. However, in doing so you're always taking the risk of alienating old fans. The leap from Illinoise to Age of Adz isn't so great that you'd suspect it wasn't even the same artist, but it's still enough to turn some people off. Yes, the instrumentation is different but there's no mistaking that you're listening to a Sufjan song. Itâ Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    6
    It's by no means a bad album, and i applaud him for trying something different. Well, sort of. Maybe it isnt fair that i had listened to illinois and seven swans right before i heard the age of adz, but its just not the same. its got its highlights and improves with each listen, but man did sufjan take an odd turn...
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    5
    I'm pretty shocked at all the high reviews here and I was also pretty shocked after listening to the album but I wouldn't say it was in a good way. I really love experimental albums and I certainly appreciate what Sufjan Stevens was trying to accomplish, however I think he lacked the focus and polish to pull it off here. There are is a lot of good material on the album don't get me wrongI'm pretty shocked at all the high reviews here and I was also pretty shocked after listening to the album but I wouldn't say it was in a good way. I really love experimental albums and I certainly appreciate what Sufjan Stevens was trying to accomplish, however I think he lacked the focus and polish to pull it off here. There are is a lot of good material on the album don't get me wrong (more than enough to fill an entire album), but in order to get to it you have to endure a lot of rubbish. This album is a bloated beast and will try the patience of all but the most devoted of fans.

    The album is really an extremely frustrating listen because the pattern is repeated on every single track - bursts of really great music interrupted with moments where you wish the album would just end already. Every time I started to really get into a song there is a drastic jarring interruption of electronic weirdness. And most of it doesn't sound modern or innovative, but kind of backwards. He doesn't seem comfortable at all with electronic music and it shows. The whole set of tracks just ends up seeming like a jumbled muddy mess after a few listens. Maybe it will grow on me but I doubt it.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2010
    6
    I haven't heard this album, but it sounds promising. (I'm giving it a strong 6, based on the over-rated Illinois.) As for the Radiohead's In Rainbows, I think it is one of their top 3, and that's saying a lot. Arcade Fire? Shrug. I find The Suburbs to be competent indie rock fare, that is frankly a little boring. I was really looking forward to it, but they kind of lost me this time.I haven't heard this album, but it sounds promising. (I'm giving it a strong 6, based on the over-rated Illinois.) As for the Radiohead's In Rainbows, I think it is one of their top 3, and that's saying a lot. Arcade Fire? Shrug. I find The Suburbs to be competent indie rock fare, that is frankly a little boring. I was really looking forward to it, but they kind of lost me this time. That said, I did like Neon Bible, and will be giving them another chance next time around. Cheers. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2010
    5
    After listening to this album all the way through, I found this album overly pretentious and nothing close to Sufjan's masterpiece Ilinois. The album sounds the same throughout, and I had a difficult time differentiating the songs from each other. There is a lack of melodies in the album leaving a compilation of songs that are not memorable in any way. With these statements said, The AgeAfter listening to this album all the way through, I found this album overly pretentious and nothing close to Sufjan's masterpiece Ilinois. The album sounds the same throughout, and I had a difficult time differentiating the songs from each other. There is a lack of melodies in the album leaving a compilation of songs that are not memorable in any way. With these statements said, The Age Of Adz is not a bad album. Sufjan attempts to create an innovative album abandoning the orchestral arrangements replacing it with electronica sounds. While I am not a connoisseur in electronic music, the album sounds like nothing I have ever heard before. It is unique and enjoyable if taken in small amounts. The standout track is obviously the 25 minute "Impossible Soul," which blends many of elements Stevens is known for. The song is eclectic, and truly a masterpiece. But I wish I could say that about the rest of the album. The rest of the songs are repetitive and overly ambitious. Many of the songs are just electronica messes. Sufjan Steven's The Age Of Adz is a step in a different direction; while the first attempt is essentially very average, it is not a failure. "Impossible Soul" makes this album strive, but the rest is disappointing and ultimately ambition gone wrong. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    The combination is ethereal and transcendent.
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    88
    Stevens ventures widely on this 85-minute disc to find the best way to express what turn out to be basic home truths.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    Where he used be be so proficient at letting us hear the sound of his sad, sad heart, the directionless elliptical clutter that defines The Age of Adz just sounds to me like he's manufacturing an idea of what a sad heart might sound like. What's worse, it sounds self-indulgent.