The  Age of Adz Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for his genre-bending instrumentation and soulful lyricism, the Detroit-born indie rocker returns five years after his last proper album with an experimental variety of electro-orchestral folk pop songs.
  • Record Label: Asthmatic Kitty
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. After all those years that people remarked and possibly, tried to shut him out, Stevens has returned with what just might be the best music he has ever crafted.
  2. The Age of Adz complements rather than distracts from the heartrending melodies and ambitious orchestration underneath.
  3. Each pass cements that Stevens has done the impossible yet again: He's released another album that's both genre-defining and genre-defying.
  4. The Age of Adz is not an unqualified success; occasionally it does feel like a little too much, and until the dust has settled it is difficult to say where it will sit in his discography as a whole.
  5. As an expression of a restless artist trying to stretch his own limits, The Age Of Adz is simultaneously admirable and exhausting.
  6. It's a semiconcept record, using work by the artist Royal Robertson as a springboard for music that evokes a visionary psyche.
  7. With The Age Of Adz, Stevens may simply be trying too hard.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. ThisI'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. This album is a 10 and any BS vote of 6 without any frame of reference besides Sufjan's former album from 5 years ago is not accurate and meaningless. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Don't be put off by some reviews saying The Age Of Adz is too inaccessible or weird. The electronic aspects only add to songs that are asDon't be put off by some reviews saying The Age Of Adz is too inaccessible or weird. The electronic aspects only add to songs that are as tuneful, melodic and lovable as ever. Lyrically and thematically this is the most honest and personal album Sufjan has ever made and I love it just as much or more than anything he's done before. It's different to Illinois, but no less amazing or treasuable. It does take a few listens (at least) to fully appreciate though. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    Its hard to find something more thrilling to listen to than a devout Christian songwriter repeatedly cry "I'm not **** around". "Too much"Its hard to find something more thrilling to listen to than a devout Christian songwriter repeatedly cry "I'm not **** around". "Too much" sounds like idioteque from Kid A, in a weird and awesome way. 10/10—"I want to be well", "Too much", "Impossible soul" Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Listeners familiar with Stevensâ
  5. May 20, 2012
    9
    Without losing a single flute trill from his last two proper albums, Sufjan has shifted his sound to a unique meld of his signature orch-popWithout losing a single flute trill from his last two proper albums, Sufjan has shifted his sound to a unique meld of his signature orch-pop with a dark and dramatic glitchiness that suits him well and, all in all, combines to make a finely crafted album that will be remembered among his best. It is, in all respects, a breakup album, but while an idea like this could have easily led to a set of unlistenably dull or, knowing Sufjan, more likely overindulgent, songs, each song is finely crafted, unique and refined to a standard almost beyond their Illinois counterparts. "Too Much" starts off as a calm song that could have been taken from almost any of his past albums before building into an anxious climax; "I Want to Be Well" saves the second half of the album from a potential dreariness with a fast beat and jumpy melody, and the 25-minute epic intricately detailed "Impossible Soul" brings the whole thing to a fantastic ending. Overall, simply an excellent followup to Illinois. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I would first like to commend Mr. Stevens for creating another unique album experience. As an artist, Sufjan Stevens manages to blend so manyI would first like to commend Mr. Stevens for creating another unique album experience. As an artist, Sufjan Stevens manages to blend so many interesting styles and instruments together to have a sound all of his own. Is "The Age of Adz" his masterpiece...? To me, no. However, this album has kept me thoroughly enthralled and coming back for more this past week. The album doesn't have the folk roots that both Illinoise, or Michigan had. This may be a problem for many fans of his earlier work. The warmth of his storytelling, and instrumentals have changed for a (what some would call) a colder-electronic feel. For me, this is not a problem. In fact, i embrace his new style on this cd, and it works for the most part. The album truly shines on certain tracks "Too Much," "Vesuvius," and "I Walked". These tracks are beautiful as they mix Sufjan's usual brass and strings skills, with an electronic twist. Another track that has surprised me was the 25:35 minute long "Impossible Soul." I feared that i would quickly become bored with this very ambitious track. However, it's quite the opposite. I love the track. It's entertaining, and changes enough to keep it interesting throughout. The Age of Antz is a welcome and successful change for Sufjan Stevens, an artist who is always changing and experimenting. I can imagine his next effort will be a different experience all together than brings together as well as alienates some fans. I would recommend this album to anyone who wants something new, and emotional. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    1
    I was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as everyI was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as every other song on the album except it has added nihilism which makes the overall quality of the album inappropriate and downright shameful to be called The Age of Adz.

    But that's just my opinion,
    - Jamie Valerio
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews