The Age of Adz

The  Age of Adz Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for his genre-bending instrumentation and soulful lyricism, the Detroit-born indie rocker returns five years after his last proper album with an experimental variety of electro-orchestral folk pop songs.
  • Record Label: Asthmatic Kitty
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Futile Devices
It's been a long, long time since I've memorized your face It's been four hours now since I've wandered through your place And when I sleep on your... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. After all those years that people remarked and possibly, tried to shut him out, Stevens has returned with what just might be the best music he has ever crafted.
  2. The Age of Adz complements rather than distracts from the heartrending melodies and ambitious orchestration underneath.
  3. Each pass cements that Stevens has done the impossible yet again: He's released another album that's both genre-defining and genre-defying.
  4. The Age of Adz is not an unqualified success; occasionally it does feel like a little too much, and until the dust has settled it is difficult to say where it will sit in his discography as a whole.
  5. As an expression of a restless artist trying to stretch his own limits, The Age Of Adz is simultaneously admirable and exhausting.
  6. It's a semiconcept record, using work by the artist Royal Robertson as a springboard for music that evokes a visionary psyche.
  7. With The Age Of Adz, Stevens may simply be trying too hard.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 5 out of 49
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. ThisI'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. This album is a 10 and any BS vote of 6 without any frame of reference besides Sufjan's former album from 5 years ago is not accurate and meaningless. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Don't be put off by some reviews saying The Age Of Adz is too inaccessible or weird. The electronic aspects only add to songs that are asDon't be put off by some reviews saying The Age Of Adz is too inaccessible or weird. The electronic aspects only add to songs that are as tuneful, melodic and lovable as ever. Lyrically and thematically this is the most honest and personal album Sufjan has ever made and I love it just as much or more than anything he's done before. It's different to Illinois, but no less amazing or treasuable. It does take a few listens (at least) to fully appreciate though. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2017
    10
    The lyrics are emotional and longing, and Sufjan Stevens ties it in with unique sounds tied in with brass and woodwind. This could very wellThe lyrics are emotional and longing, and Sufjan Stevens ties it in with unique sounds tied in with brass and woodwind. This could very well possibly be his best work. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Listeners familiar with Stevensâ
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    This is not my favorite sufjan stevens album...
    it is my second favorite. I always like it when a musician breaks off into different genres
    This is not my favorite sufjan stevens album...
    it is my second favorite. I always like it when a musician breaks off into different genres and tries new things. some might find the Experimental nature of the album in audible, but i have loved every single beat of it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    8
    This is by no means a "bad" album, but may be a little too dense to make the right impact on the first listen. Listening to this reminds me ofThis is by no means a "bad" album, but may be a little too dense to make the right impact on the first listen. Listening to this reminds me of something like a Kid A or Amnesiac. I only could appreciate those albums after multiple playthroughs. If you are looking for accessible, look elsewhere. If you want to dissect a lush album, give it a try... or two or three. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    1
    I was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as everyI was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as every other song on the album except it has added nihilism which makes the overall quality of the album inappropriate and downright shameful to be called The Age of Adz.

    But that's just my opinion,
    - Jamie Valerio
    Expand

See all 49 User Reviews