The Alchemy Index, Vol. III & IV: Air and Earth Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second half of a planned four-EP set for the California-based rockers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. This second installment is immaculate, an artful, emotional tour de force that underlines their "American rock's Radiohead" status. [May 2008, p.130]
  2. Air is a masterpiece of production and gives the best few tracks from the entire collection. Earth is a cool-down lap after the more developmental and progressive preceding discs, showing a Thrice that is willing to trade in all that has made them great during their niche period (1999-2004) in favor of pursuing a less challenging but equally viable sound
  3. The first disc is more guitar-centric, whereas the second part relies more on keyboards. But no matter the style, all of these songs hold together well.
  4. Alone, Air and Earth are the weakest of the EPs, but taken as a whole, Thrice have managed to convert an ultra-abstract concept into a cohesive and innovative collection. [May 2008, p.143]
  5. For The Alchemy Index Vols. III & IV: Air & Earth, the material is appropriately lofty to represent the former element but surprisingly sparse for the latter.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    One of the best albums ever made; The air index feels just like it should, easy to the ears, light, smooth. But the album glows in the earth index; It feels downright gritty and dirty but manages to sound plain beautiful, just like a diamond in the rough. This album captures the sound of the elements and my heart as a music lover. Expand
  2. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    Maybe a little too ambitious and all over the place. I respect what they're trying to do, but as a first time listener it's really hard to get into. I look forward to what they release next. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews