• Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. katieb
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    Go buy it now, a well crafted alternative, rock, pop(but how pop should be) album. Very good record, has some flaws (wasn't sure of Tchad Blake's mixing, but it gets better with more listens). Thought the songs sounded better when I heard them at an acoustic gig and they had more pace and the lyrics punched out. I was a bit disappointed when i heard the album initially. However Go buy it now, a well crafted alternative, rock, pop(but how pop should be) album. Very good record, has some flaws (wasn't sure of Tchad Blake's mixing, but it gets better with more listens). Thought the songs sounded better when I heard them at an acoustic gig and they had more pace and the lyrics punched out. I was a bit disappointed when i heard the album initially. However it still a great record, he just sets unbelievably high standards. Lapalco, and One Missippi exceed it, they sound effortless (more like live brendan benson) and have a better pace. Expand
  2. sunkilmoon
    Mar 22, 2005
    7
    His previous two albums have been pure pop perfection, this however, fails to reach those heights despite providing some of the most infectious songs of 2005.
  3. DanB.
    Jun 26, 2005
    6
    Not as good as the previous disc. :o/
  4. BenB
    May 21, 2006
    9
    Just give it a few spins see if you can resist.
  5. GorillaRockn'bovs
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    This album is great. He's grown as a producer and maintained a healthy songwriting ethic. I think we can expect him to continue to grow as a young, 35-year-old songwriter and performer.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best pop albums i have ever heard.
  7. AlanS
    May 5, 2005
    6
    He's clearly a 2nd rate Jason Falkner wannabe. But since Jason is long overdue on a follow up to "Can You Still Feel", I guess this will suffice for now. This is definitely better than anything heard on American Idol.
  8. Johno
    Mar 24, 2005
    5
    Boring and repetitive. Though his previous album, 'Lapalco', boasted some superior pop, this offering is far too predictable. Don't be fooled by the general critics. His links with Jack White seem to earn him far too much respect.
  9. ClydeF
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    A wonderful synthesis of One Mississippi and Lapalco that features Benson's most confident vocals yet.
  10. matta
    May 26, 2005
    7
    There are some really great tracks on here (Spit it Out, Cold Hands, What I'm Looking For) but there are also some severely underdeveloped songs that are just that much disappointing because of the obvious potential that they exhibit. Overall though, a fun album with some great tunes.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Doesn’t sport as many memorable tunes as 2002’s Lapalco.
  2. The songs all sound cleaner and tighter than those off the critically praised Lapalco, but instead of over-produced banality you're left with pure pop perfection. [#9]
  3. The Alternative To Love to be a quality rock album that covers several genres in influence and doesn't deserve to be punished for not being as good as its predecessor.