The ArchAndroid

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 18, 2010
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 457 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 457

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KennedyJ.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This album is absolutely incredible. Words and emotions are a stretch to even appropriately review/describe this. It's a blessing to the world. Thank God.
  2. Bill
    May 21, 2010
    9
    Excellent album, but I would say that the obvious singles in it (Cold War and Tightrope) disrupt its flow somewhat, despite being excellent tracks in themselves.
  3. RoboN.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    The ArchAndroid truly is an eMotion picture like Janelle Monae stated. The album continues Cindi Mayweather's journey and it must be heard from beginning to end. It will not disappoint you!
  4. JoshF.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    It took all of one listen to know this was instantly near the top of my Desert Island discs list. And it should be high on yours, too.
  5. JohnnyD.
    May 21, 2010
    9
    Def the best album of the year so far. Can't stop listening!!!
  6. BradleyC
    May 20, 2010
    10
    I am IN LOVE with this album! She took a interesting concept and made it her own....it's like going on a fantastic journey...along the way, meeting different people and having different experiences. I love it so much!
  7. Lauren
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Brilliant!! The album is so innovative; i've have heard songs like this before!!
  8. Jason
    May 20, 2010
    9
    This album is the best of the year thus far in my opinion.
  9. UsmanK
    May 20, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest debut albums I have ever heard. The only debut album that comes close this century is probably the misseducation of lauryn hill, but even that didn't have the epic scope that this album has. If this is only a debut album, this girl has what it takes to be a legend.
  10. SoluL.
    May 22, 2010
    10
    Global in scope and achievement...an amazing musical experience. Monae and Wondaland are so much fun to watch and hear and see!
  11. AdamR.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Janelle Monae has brought the industry to their knees with this incredible breakthrough!
  12. Brent
    May 23, 2010
    10
    This album is pure bliss. I've been waiting to hear this since 2007 and it doesn't miss a beat. A perfect blend of a large selection of styles of music. Brilliant!
  13. DavidW.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant work. Most of the songs sound like classics that have been waiting to be written for a while. So fresh and so clean, superbly executed. Finally, a more commercial release that has substance, vision, ambition, and awesomeness!
  14. JohnA.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    What.... in the.... How is this so good? I can't even believe they made music like this anymore. Just when you think you've figured out her deal, then comes a song like Sir Greendown or Wondaland. I've never heard anything like this since the first time I heard a Stevie Wonder album.
  15. MukumbaA.
    May 20, 2010
    7
    Wow, talk about an overrated album. You got a guy like flying lotus doing something ALMOST NOBODY OR NOBODY have the courage to do now and you got this good album but not a mastepiece having a rating better than cosmogramma. If you know music, you become a musician. If you don't know, you become a music critic.
  16. TylerR.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Wow! I wasn't expecting to like this album at all, but checked it out anyways because of the high ratings. And wow! Is all I can say. Give it a listen, even if this is something you would never listen to.
  17. JonM.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    one of the most sonically stunning works of the new millineum. suite one was but a sweet glimpse into the mythos of metropolis as she continues to elaborately paint this picture. she is a visionary without question and I'm on board.
  18. LeinadS
    May 21, 2010
    9
    Wow! Familiar sounds though so new too, sweeping and glorious and exciting stuff! An awesome effort that deserves all the accolades it's getting. Congratulations to everyone involved in what has to be a groundbreaking project.
  19. BrendanM
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This is hands down the best pop album I have heard in years. It's incredibly exciting start to finish and shows Janelle has a LOT more than just vocal talent, but an incredibly wide scope of talent from many angles (psychadelic, hip-hop, soul, Dance, R&B, the list goes on). In my opinion she blows Lady Gaga out of the water in terms of just purely catchy melody, scope, smarts (and a This is hands down the best pop album I have heard in years. It's incredibly exciting start to finish and shows Janelle has a LOT more than just vocal talent, but an incredibly wide scope of talent from many angles (psychadelic, hip-hop, soul, Dance, R&B, the list goes on). In my opinion she blows Lady Gaga out of the water in terms of just purely catchy melody, scope, smarts (and a similar penchant for weird fashion). Expand
  20. JamesP.
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Flawless. Ambitious. Versatile. Album of the Year.
  21. ChetanP
    May 23, 2010
    10
    Every labored-over song in this intentional masterpiece stands out as a shining example of its kind. As with all of the best concept albums, you're better off ignoring the concept entirely. Forget about this Metropolis android nonsense; the songs and orchestral interludes here revolve only around the human heart, soul, and spirit.
  22. DW.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I didn't even know Janelle until two days ago when I came across her single "Tightrope"... I knew instantly that I needed to get this CD... All I can say is that I am blown way... (I know it sounds cheesy but ) This CD has changed my life.
  23. ThisRocks
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Album of the year? If not, then 2010 must be one of the all-time great years for absolutely stunning new albums. Fully realized through and through. I've seen her live twice and was blown away each time. I had trouble believing her first full LP could live up to her stage performance, but she brought it. This is it. The album you'd imagine the world was capable of one day Album of the year? If not, then 2010 must be one of the all-time great years for absolutely stunning new albums. Fully realized through and through. I've seen her live twice and was blown away each time. I had trouble believing her first full LP could live up to her stage performance, but she brought it. This is it. The album you'd imagine the world was capable of one day producing when you first heard Thriller 25 years ago ... and then waited 25 years in vain. Until now. Expand
  24. TimothyA.
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Incredibly varied strong album. Monae feels at home on every song. The dance tracks are undeniable and the slower songs put you in a psychedelic euphoric state. This is a definite runner for album of the year. At 18 tracks it is a spectacular testament to the prowess and versatility of Monae. In one word: Stunning. Favorites: Faster, Tightrope, Wondaland, Cold War, Neon Gumbo, Sir Greendown.
  25. MárioO.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Absolutely outstanding record! Undoubtely the best of this year so far. Monáe has such an unique vision and a huge talent. She acomplished what few artists have done: she did not only made a compilation of good songs, she made a record with a trully original and fresh concept and reached the greatness only true legends have. And this is just her second album!
  26. Kurt
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Astounding. This woman lives and breathes music; all music, across all genres. I hope its influence is felt far and wide.
  27. AdamB.
    May 21, 2010
    9
    Archandroid transcends the often stale R&B genre with a seamless blend of electonica, funk, jazz, and pop, bursting with character. The retail packaging contains a sticker with quotes of praise from Andre 3000 and Sean Combs yet ironically neither could touch Monáe's talent with a ten foot pole. Come Alive is a refreshingly insane scat-ska-rap hybrid; the highlight of the Archandroid transcends the often stale R&B genre with a seamless blend of electonica, funk, jazz, and pop, bursting with character. The retail packaging contains a sticker with quotes of praise from Andre 3000 and Sean Combs yet ironically neither could touch Monáe's talent with a ten foot pole. Come Alive is a refreshingly insane scat-ska-rap hybrid; the highlight of the album by far. Sir Greendown and Oh, Maker have a distinctive 60's melancholy flair. Make The Bus is pleasantly robotic, Wondaland is cute, and Mushrooms & Roses is trippy. The other tracks are either too mainstream or too atonal to be that memorable. Regardless of the few duds, the overall creativity and quality of the album is simply outstanding. Monáe is one of those artists where you struggle to figure out who she reminds you of, but ultimately you have to concede there's really no one else like her. Expand
  28. narathipk.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    The new hype is here! this album is just "absolutely amazing".
  29. DieterN
    May 22, 2010
    10
    Hands down best album of the year so far! Superb mix of musical genres and excellent production!
  30. JonA
    May 22, 2010
    7
    Vastly over-rated. Apparently adding a few annoying wobbly vocal effects instantly translate into innovative genre hopping. I'd be foolish to say this a bad album, though. Faster, Cold War, and 57821 are all great tracks. The rest really don't cut it for me. Especially with the slower tracks. Yes, this is unique for a pop album, but I've heard far better indie albums of Vastly over-rated. Apparently adding a few annoying wobbly vocal effects instantly translate into innovative genre hopping. I'd be foolish to say this a bad album, though. Faster, Cold War, and 57821 are all great tracks. The rest really don't cut it for me. Especially with the slower tracks. Yes, this is unique for a pop album, but I've heard far better indie albums of many different genres. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The result is a dizzying fusion, marked by its lofty ambition and stunning central performance.
  2. For a first album, The ArchAndroid is astoundingly accomplished. It would be a lie to say there aren't a few lulls in the back end of the record as Monae begins to take fewer risks, but only the truly seminal albums can keep the quality level so high for over an hour.
  3. To say it's ambitious feels like damning with faint praise; its sheer musical scope--from the James Brown funk of Tightrope to the English pastoral folk of Oh, Maker--is spellbinding.