The ArchAndroid

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The ArchAndroid Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 442 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length album for the singer born in Kansas City is a continuation of the story of Cindi Mayweather, the android introduced in the 2007 EP, "Metropolis Suite I of IV: The Chase."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. To say it's ambitious feels like damning with faint praise; its sheer musical scope--from the James Brown funk of Tightrope to the English pastoral folk of Oh, Maker--is spellbinding.
  2. 100
    Either allow this the dignity of being played through a quality sound system or go invest in a pair of Beats by Dres. This is far less an album than a cinematic experience.
  3. Monae's inexhaustible swagger and singular style sell both the high-concept theatrics and the schizophrenic sonics.
  4. At times, the fumes of ambition are so thick off "The ArchAndroid," it's hard to absorb in one sitting. All the same, it's a star-making debut.
  5. Manipulating her voice as much as she does her sound, Monáe widens the cast of characters and pushes along the self-explorative narrative. The ArchAndroid could be the stuff of stage or screen, 3-D without the annoying glasses.
  6. Understanding all this stuff enhances the enjoyment of the album, but it is not required. A few tracks merely push the album along, and a gaudy Of Montreal collaboration is disruptive, but there are numerous highlights that are vastly dissimilar from one another.
  7. Her full-length debut--about a robot-populated utopia based on Fritz Lang's classic 1927 film Metropolis--is so ambitious, so freighted with sounds and ideas and allusions, it threatens at times to sink under its own weight.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80
  1. DW.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I didn't even know Janelle until two days ago when I came across her single "Tightrope"... I knew instantly that I needed to get this I didn't even know Janelle until two days ago when I came across her single "Tightrope"... I knew instantly that I needed to get this CD... All I can say is that I am blown way... (I know it sounds cheesy but ) This CD has changed my life. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    This is one of most impressive albums I've come across in a long time. This album is so large and there are some many different genres ofThis is one of most impressive albums I've come across in a long time. This album is so large and there are some many different genres of music at play that it is difficult to get a proper handle on it with only one listen. It is only after listening to it a few times through myself that I have been able to fully appreciate it. I like that Janelle Monae had the courage to think big with this album and that there were enough people around her to support her vision and make it a reality. I Expand
  3. JonM.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    one of the most sonically stunning works of the new millineum. suite one was but a sweet glimpse into the mythos of metropolis as she one of the most sonically stunning works of the new millineum. suite one was but a sweet glimpse into the mythos of metropolis as she continues to elaborately paint this picture. she is a visionary without question and I'm on board. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    I was previously a Janelle fan when i heard "Violet Star Happy Hunting", so i was generally happy when i heard of this album coming out. But iI was previously a Janelle fan when i heard "Violet Star Happy Hunting", so i was generally happy when i heard of this album coming out. But i had NO idea what i was in store for, she is simply amazing, and it's Very rare that i actually listen to a whole album without skipping songs, I am officially a Janelle Monae fan from now. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    THIS... is my favorite album of all time (let me rephrase: It's in a 2-way tie for my favorite album of all time with 'The Velvet Rope' byTHIS... is my favorite album of all time (let me rephrase: It's in a 2-way tie for my favorite album of all time with 'The Velvet Rope' by Janet Jackson - BUY IT). Ever since I heard Tightrope for the first time, I fell in love with Janelle. I bought the album and, for a year, I played it roughly twice a day on average (from December 2010 till December 2011). Out of the 80 albums I had (at that time; I have many more now) I would play The ArchAndroid 9/10 times. That's a year of non-stop Janelle. I almost would say I have outplayed the album. I still listen to the album consistently as it remains my favorite album still (nearly a year later when I've been introduced to music that has changed my life). The album is magical, timeless, funky, different, etc. Too many words to describe it. I'm only 16 years old, but I know what good music is. The only 2 albums that come close to The ArchAndroid in my opinion are 'The Velvet Rope' and 'Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814', both by Janet Jackson. I'm convinced that no other album with ever top these 3. Janelle is incredibly underrated (seeing as The ArchAndroid hasn't even sold 200,000 copies yet after being released 2.5 years ago; also, the 2 singles released from the album didn't even chart). I hope more people are introduced to her and experience all I have experienced with the album. I love her to death! Expand
  6. May 16, 2011
    9
    This record blew me away! Monáe's voice is unbelievable, and the music behind her is just as good. The concept of the albumThis record blew me away! Monáe's voice is unbelievable, and the music behind her is just as good. The concept of the album and how she carried it throughout the record was also very good, most likely the reason for the critical praise she received. If her concerts are as energetic as she is on this record, she would be a sight to behold. Great record! Expand
  7. TimQ
    May 20, 2010
    2
    Way over-hyped. The record is nothing more than eclectic and pretentious. It meddles in so many genres that it's intent is confused. It Way over-hyped. The record is nothing more than eclectic and pretentious. It meddles in so many genres that it's intent is confused. It comes off as gaudy and too eager to impress. Very little substance painted with glitter and gold. Don't support this meaningless artist when there are so many better musicians struggling in obscurity. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  4. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 25, 2010
    What made our list of the best-reviewed albums from the past month? The debut LP from Janelle Mon