User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 99
  2. Negative: 3 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanilioL
    Feb 3, 2006
    4
    Anyone who said Interpol ripped of Joy Division will have a field day with Editors. The lead vocalist is actually trying to sound like Ian Curtis, without effect. Interpol haters, Editors are the band you should be slagging off
  2. Brendan
    May 2, 2006
    6
    I'll admit, I've caught heavily onto the recycled rock genre. You know, the one filled to the brim with countless glacial guitar arcs and songs about being frigid or the natural progression of time that comes off as pure pretention. However, when a band distinctly sounds like a band notorious for being a band-within-a-band, an amalgam of 80s post-punk influences and revivalist I'll admit, I've caught heavily onto the recycled rock genre. You know, the one filled to the brim with countless glacial guitar arcs and songs about being frigid or the natural progression of time that comes off as pure pretention. However, when a band distinctly sounds like a band notorious for being a band-within-a-band, an amalgam of 80s post-punk influences and revivalist intentions. The songs are entertaining, I'll grant it that much; but a record isn't influences. "The Back Room", for me at least, doesn't bring much to the table. Yes, rock and roll is theft, but this is pure robbery. If they can impress me later by breaking off from their father-son musical relations, they can possible flourish into an indie-rock staple. But I'm not sure. Expand
  3. BenW.
    Sep 14, 2005
    4
    Eh? Who the hell are the Editors you might be asking. Well if moody rock were wheat production in the midwest, these guys would be connecticut. They are not particularly memorable and I kind of get the feeling this band is England's attempt to show ownership of the sound Interpol stole away. Their lyrics are trite and poppy without much substance and seem to land fairly flatly Eh? Who the hell are the Editors you might be asking. Well if moody rock were wheat production in the midwest, these guys would be connecticut. They are not particularly memorable and I kind of get the feeling this band is England's attempt to show ownership of the sound Interpol stole away. Their lyrics are trite and poppy without much substance and seem to land fairly flatly against the Killers influenced pop rock beats. Unfortunately, the band just doesn't do anything for me. I tried, but nothing connected with me; not the beats, not the vocals, not the lyrics, not the personality, not the tone, not even the production. I liked this band better when it was called Interpol. Expand
  4. Dan
    Mar 21, 2006
    5
    i saw these guys on KCRW's morning becomes eclectic. i was really bored 10 minutes into it. interpol comparisons aside, and i know they're earnestly trying to be a good band, but i just find it bland
  5. OtherJoey
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    I saw them last week with Stellastar, and they blew me away. This doesn't even come close to capturing the intensity of their live show. "The Back Room" makes them sound far more derivative and less interesting than they did in concert. It's still good, but disappointing.
  6. Alun
    Jul 19, 2007
    6
    Okay album - sound is horrible though. No bass - tinny - a sonic assault and not in a good way. Somewhere under the awful clipping and over zealous mastering there might well be some good songs. Because the sound is so sh*te I can't be bothered to get to know them though.
  7. kiki
    Aug 15, 2006
    4
    I thought this was an overrated album, and people I have spoken to about it agree. I think it was quite pants.
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    5
    The English post-punk revivalists have their moments on The Back Room, like the forceful opening track "Lights" and the propulsive "Munich". The best track is "Bullets", whose insistent refrain sticks in the brain and leaves a lasting effect. However, the rest of the album is completely forgettable. "Fall" in particular comes across as a sterile attempt to replicate the sparse atmosphereThe English post-punk revivalists have their moments on The Back Room, like the forceful opening track "Lights" and the propulsive "Munich". The best track is "Bullets", whose insistent refrain sticks in the brain and leaves a lasting effect. However, the rest of the album is completely forgettable. "Fall" in particular comes across as a sterile attempt to replicate the sparse atmosphere of Unknown Pleasures. The repetitive strumming sounds forced, like a poor man's "I Remember Nothing". Do yourself a favour and listen to Turn On The Bright Lights instead. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. As much as The Back Room is a victory for style, it also strikes a blow for substance. [Aug 2005, p.135]
  2. "The Back Room" is, principally, a triumph.
  3. It’s how Interpol would sound like if they dealt with universal themes and reflection rather than singing about fellatio fantasies with Stella, or their length of loves.