The Back Room - Editors
The Back Room Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Birmingham, England post-punk quartet is the latest band to have the UK music press in a tizzy, with this debut LP drawing the usual comparisons to Joy Division and Echo & The Bunnymen. (Actually, they just sound like Interpol.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The Back Room is a fine album that proves you can look backward while paving the way forward.
  2. It’s how Interpol would sound like if they dealt with universal themes and reflection rather than singing about fellatio fantasies with Stella, or their length of loves.
  3. It is such a perfect counterfeit that it feels like the genuine article.
  4. "The Back Room" is, principally, a triumph.
  5. As much as The Back Room is a victory for style, it also strikes a blow for substance. [Aug 2005, p.135]
  6. The album starts repeating itself and the returns start diminishing.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. MikeL
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in quite a while. I really enjoy it.
  2. Smith
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Probably the best debut by anyone since Arcade Fire's The Funeral.
  3. Edgar
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Truly spectacular!
  4. BertR
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    A true grower. take your time. When In doubt: listen to 'munich' and 'fall'... a fine album.
  5. GaboS
    May 31, 2006
    8
    INTERPOL INTERPOL INTERPOL! I'm tired of hearing the comparisons, Editors have a sound of their own and I hate those who say that Editors stole interpol's sound. Suddenly interpol created an already existing genre and sound? Every time a band comes out, it's likely that they will sound similar to someone else, what's original now anyway? When you compare more than simply listening to an artist, you can't appreciate the passion behind the artist's songwriting, lyrics and sound found in "The Back Room" in this case. "The Back Room" flows very well, almost every song in the album is succesful from start to finish. One of those albums you listen the whole way through...amazing. Only complaint is the ending track which seemed a "filler," other than that, great debut. Expand
  6. Joris
    Sep 9, 2005
    8
    J C I agree partly with Kreshnak, of course Interpol is what Joy Division would be in 2005, and echo and the bunnymen isn't a bad comparison at all too... but imho I can't deny that in a period that Interpol is a hype, a band that sounds exactly and I mean EXACTLY the same becomes a bit embarrasing. However you get over it eventually and when your open-minded enough you find a good cd with some very VERY strong songs like Bullets and Lights. Still Antics is better and Turn on the bright lights the best of Interpols trilogy ;-) Expand
  7. KreshnakKrake
    Aug 15, 2005
    2
    It's a great pity that Editors try to copy Interpol this bad. I think a band should have it's own style. And i'm pretty sure Editors would be creative and inspiring if they would try to develop their own style. But they don't. Too bad. This band doesn't inspire me at all. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews