User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyM
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    it is an amazing album. The lyrics and the musicality all go together so well. Listening to this album is an emotional experience.
  2. JessicaG
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    This is a must-have for all Five For Fighting fans and newcomers alike - it should be part of every music lovers collection. It is original with great lyrics and sounds, and must admit that since I bought this album, I just can't get enough of it! All the songs on it are all great, so it really is hard to select favourites. But if I had to pick some, I'd have to say "The Devil This is a must-have for all Five For Fighting fans and newcomers alike - it should be part of every music lovers collection. It is original with great lyrics and sounds, and must admit that since I bought this album, I just can't get enough of it! All the songs on it are all great, so it really is hard to select favourites. But if I had to pick some, I'd have to say "The Devil in the Wishing Well", "100 Years", "Dying" and "One More For Love". Expand
  3. ChrisA
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    If I were a recording artist/song writer/musician, I wouldn't even WANT praise from Entertainment Weekly... The Scumbags
  4. JimmusMaximus
    Feb 14, 2005
    3
    Bought the album for the one song I'd heard, "100 Years", and wanted to return the album for something with more than just one decent song. Lyrically, some of the most silly, nonsensical stuff I've ever heard. Alludes to their other "big hit" Superman, which is pretty pathetic, as well.
  5. SedaA.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    Beautiful! Some of the best alternative music the world has to offer.
  6. RobC
    Nov 15, 2005
    8
    This is not a bad album, i think maybe is just for FFF fans.
  7. LisaP
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    A beautiful album that allows you to escape for hours.
  8. ZachP
    Aug 29, 2006
    2
    I am not a music hater, but this one makes me hate music. The one amazing song is "100 Years". Hearing this album makes you wish you could return albums after opening them.
  9. AmandaG
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    The best and most beautiful thing i've ever heard. these reviewers are insane.
  10. JoshB
    Jan 28, 2005
    6
    Songs like 100 years, disneyland, and the devil in the well are all great songs, but there are too many stupid or boring songs rounding them out. like "one more for love"
  11. Lamy
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Fantastic...
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. The Battle for Everything is an occasionally interesting record, but the sheer pretension of Ondrasik's lyrics coupled with his penchant for self-seriousness tend to suck much of the fun out of what could have been an enjoyably middle-of-the-road adult alternative album.
  2. Different from the touching--but too sleepy--"America Town," "Battle" impressively tackles new territory.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Weighed down by artificially inflated anthems, garbled lyrics about the apocalypse, and coy attempts at surrealism. [6 Feb 2004, p.140]