• Record Label: Rawkus
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 3 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EmahunnC
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    How can you say that this album is not great! I feel that people have lost the essence of hip hop. The artist that come out now are horrible. They have these beats save their careers. You should give all of the hip hop awards to the producers if everyone wants to talk about beats. Kweli is the best emcee out right now because he sees the reality of the world. It is not about "ice" or How can you say that this album is not great! I feel that people have lost the essence of hip hop. The artist that come out now are horrible. They have these beats save their careers. You should give all of the hip hop awards to the producers if everyone wants to talk about beats. Kweli is the best emcee out right now because he sees the reality of the world. It is not about "ice" or "whips", it is about the issues that the world is facing. Furthermore, he may have made songs that may sound like they belong in the club, however, Kweli did not compromise his lyrics one bit on this album. This is a 10 plus 20. Expand
  2. VinceH
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    I agree with the general consensus. Awesome lyrics as usual (with as wide a range of subjects as any album this year) and Kweli's flow is still one of the best in the biz. Now while this album is certainly better than Mos Def's scattershot new album, the production is just plain lame. You cannot deny that. Except for 3 or 4 songs, the beats here are way below the standard of I agree with the general consensus. Awesome lyrics as usual (with as wide a range of subjects as any album this year) and Kweli's flow is still one of the best in the biz. Now while this album is certainly better than Mos Def's scattershot new album, the production is just plain lame. You cannot deny that. Except for 3 or 4 songs, the beats here are way below the standard of even the worst on Quality and Hi-Tek shows that he has perhaps been hanging around Snoop Dogg too much because he has a beat here that sounds like Fred Wreck on his worst day. Overall some good songs and very good lyrics/rapping, but wack beats. Expand
  3. veronicah
    Oct 3, 2004
    9
    This album is a very solid album. It proves Ta is dedicated to his fans. How many artists this year have come out with 2 CDs of excellent quality ( The Mix CD of Beautiful Struggle and the ablum)??? The diversity of these two cds alone shows creativity and talent very few hip hop artists have today. The production is tight. My only complaint is I miss Black Star.
  4. JoeA
    Oct 1, 2004
    9
    I dont think you can get any better, music is beat and lyrics, and this album gets an 8 for beats and 10 for lyrics
  5. JoeyF
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    One of the few cd's now a days that can be played from start to finish. Another "quality" Cd from kweli.
  6. MaxG
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    It's a sick CD, actually worth an 8.5 or a 9 but for those who have heard the pre-released mixtape it's obvious that its a 10. The actual Beautiful Struggle project included several other cuts that were definitely album-worthy but for some reason didn't make the bill. Including those songs the beautiful struggle is one of the best albums of the decade in my opinion. Look It's a sick CD, actually worth an 8.5 or a 9 but for those who have heard the pre-released mixtape it's obvious that its a 10. The actual Beautiful Struggle project included several other cuts that were definitely album-worthy but for some reason didn't make the bill. Including those songs the beautiful struggle is one of the best albums of the decade in my opinion. Look for "Lonely People," "Supreme" & " "We Pullin Out Tonite" Expand
  7. PizzaFingers
    Oct 1, 2004
    3
    Amazing Lyrics, horrible beats.
  8. stoparaoan
    Oct 21, 2004
    7
    It ain't Quality but still still vintage Kweli. Beautiful Struggle has a lot of dope hits but it's hard to ignore the misses.
  9. FunkyFresh
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    sounds similar to "Quality" thanks to the talent-lacking beat maker kanye west, however this is a masterpiece nonetheless. my only suggestion for talib's next album: CUT KANYE LOSE!!
  10. Freeman
    Jan 28, 2005
    3
    What a waste, I have been looking forward to this since "Quality" and am sorely disapointed with this over produced, try-hard pice of political posturing. Terrible compared to his previous efforts.
  11. AndyR
    Oct 12, 2004
    2
    boring. Talib Kweli, much like Mos Def, has lost his edge. I question how politically effective you can be in hiphop when backed by such lame lame beats.
  12. Faigenistic
    Sep 28, 2004
    8
    Critics say he's trying to go mainstream and sell albums to a wider audience, but that's the point of the industry. The lyrical content and delivery remain at the top of the game and little has changed from Quality. If anything, it offers a look into more of what Kweli has to offer as an MC.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sometimes the messages get as heavy as the sharp, thumping tracks, but a few jokes and guest spots... help lighten the enlightenment. [1 Oct 2004, p.73]
  2. So if some of the songs sound a little too catchy, it’s because they’re supposed to. Kweli’s trying to draw you in for something important.
  3. Kweli's generic sounds belie the so-called revolutionary front of his lyrics.