The Bedlam In Goliath - The Mars Volta
The Bedlam In Goliath Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Band members claim their fourth studio album was influenced by people they contacted through a Ouija board.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. The Mars Volta have created the first great record of 2008. [Mar 2008, p.145]
  2. 90
    Instead of eight people trying to make many noises as possible, this is the sound of a unified band trying to make the best noise possible. [Winter 2008, p.90]
  3. 80
    This is unlikely to expand thier fanbase, but The Mars Volta are making music built to last. [Feb 2008, p.113]
  4. There's greater scope here [more] than ever before, with the gentle llyena providing space before Cavaletta's riot of detuned radios, car alarms and struggling internet connections. [Feb 2008, p.99]
  5. The Bedlam In Goliath ultimately sounds like The Mars Volta, nothing more and nothing less. [Winter 2008, p.83]
  6. This is rut music and The Mars Volta are still stuck in it; even if they’ve managed to avoiding digging themselves any deeper with Goliath’s frenetic lateral slides into pseudo bedlam, momentum is only momentum if you’re going somewhere.
  7. Sadly, this album takes sound and fury, signifying nothing, to new depths.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This fourth epic tale from the Mars Volta does not have the sprawling 10 minute plus tracks of it's predessesors... but that's completely acceptable given the presence of tracks like 'Goliath', 'Cavalettas' and 'Metatron' which give no quarter to 4/4. 'Ilyena' paints a soundscape of it's own in 5 minutes, and 'Conjugal Burns' wraps it all up in a red bow. Let's talk about the cover art, too. Man! There hasn't been album art this great since ELP's 'Tarkus'. If you happen to come across 'Bedlam' on vinyl, frame that baby! Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    The Bedlam In Goliath takes me back to The Mars Volta's first album, De-loused In The Comatorium. More rock, less ambient. The opener Aberinkula, right off the bat, just starts out hard. Goliath, Wax Simulacra, and Ilyena are all great tracks. All In All, The Bedlam In Goliath is in my top three favorite Mars Volta albums. A- Collapse
  3. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Their hardest album and another classic. Great funk influence on this album and it is really strong from start to finish with the exception of TM. Needs to be listened to several times before making a decision. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    The Bedlam In Goliath is mental, for that, and many other reasons I love it! The Mars Volta are one of my favourite bands, and this is my favourite album by them. It's the most insane, most funky, and has the least amount of weird noises of any Mars Volta album (except from maybe Noctourniquet... But that's different). This album is consistently brilliant and is ever changing with it's styles and lyrics. The best songs are Goliath, Metatron, Wax Simulatra and Agadez.
    The Bedlam In Goliath reperesents The Mars Volta at it's very best, with consistently brilliant songs. So I give this album a... 99/100!
    Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    The first few listens might not capture your attention, but after that you won't be able to stop listening to this album. It never quite reaches the brilliance of Frances the mute but it comes damn near to it. Sounding more like dream theater because of the heavier direction of the music, TMV leaves the 'titans of prog' in the dust and never looks back. Expand
  6. j30
    Dec 1, 2011
    9
    The Bedlam In Goliath is Mars Volta's best body of work to date. The songwriting and music is as good as it's ever been. I absolutely love this album.
  7. Sep 6, 2010
    6
    this album had incredible potential. it could have been the best Mars Volta album since Deloused. the combination of Omar's incredible, busy, almost schizophrenic (in a good way) songwriting, and Pridgen's considerable drum talent, this album could have been phenomenal. however, the constant effects on Cedric's voice ruin the entire experience for me. don't get me wrong, i like some of the songs. i love Wax Simulacra, Goliath, Things Behind the Sun, and half of Tourniquet Man. However, i will take the beautiful, unadulterated vocals of Octahedron a thousand times over before this. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews