• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 132

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 2, 2006
    0
    tori amos has broken my heart. a once brilliant artist has now reduced herself to that of singing waitress on your birthday.
  2. Dirk
    Feb 22, 2005
    3
    Where are the pianos? Where is the ferocity and the sublime harmonies? This is a flat out BAD Tori Amos record and that's a real shame because as much as I love Tori I've lost all anticipation and excitement that comes with a new album. Call this one the Kate Bush Red Shoes slump I guess.
  3. EthanP
    Mar 5, 2005
    2
    It's been more than 10 years since I first heard Tori and was blown away by "The Waitress." I've greatly enjoyed most of her journey, and I've even been one of those people who've bought all her singles just to hear the B-sides. I can dismiss Strange Little Girls as a great experiment that just never resonated with me (but at least I can love "Enjoy the Silence"). It's been more than 10 years since I first heard Tori and was blown away by "The Waitress." I've greatly enjoyed most of her journey, and I've even been one of those people who've bought all her singles just to hear the B-sides. I can dismiss Strange Little Girls as a great experiment that just never resonated with me (but at least I can love "Enjoy the Silence"). She's been bombastic, electric, heartbreaking, delicate, subtle, and a million other things. But are there any good songs on The Beekeeper? I can't find any. Meandering melodies without any hooks. It's like all the cuts that didn't qualify for Scarlet's Walk. The design of the cover image pretty much sums it up: weak. Poorly conceived. Lacking character. Boring. 2 points for being well played and at least not formulaic. Maybe it'll hit me in a couple years. But hopefully she'll have released something new by then and I can just forget this album altogether. I'm glad others have enjoyed it--because at least that means this won't end her career--but I think it's pretty poor. Expand
  4. GabbyW
    Sep 16, 2006
    1
    I really find it hard to see how anyone could like this. As was nastily said about Katharine Hepburn, Tori's passion runs the gamut from A to B. She is flat, boring, and devoid of life. Anemic is the word for this CD. Parasol is a weak version of Crucify; the Beekeeper and Toast, while meant to be moving, are zzz-inducing because Tori sings them in a tuneless drone. there's no I really find it hard to see how anyone could like this. As was nastily said about Katharine Hepburn, Tori's passion runs the gamut from A to B. She is flat, boring, and devoid of life. Anemic is the word for this CD. Parasol is a weak version of Crucify; the Beekeeper and Toast, while meant to be moving, are zzz-inducing because Tori sings them in a tuneless drone. there's no life here, no melody, and these songs are boring as hell. she's beyond coasting; she's melodically absent. Not even good muzak. The tuneless ramblings of someone who, it seems, can't sing on key anymore. Expand
  5. GregL
    Mar 19, 2005
    2
    Suffice it to say, "The Beekeeper" has quickly found a home on the floor of my car's backseat. Not only does this album suck it spells the end to the career of a legend. I have followed Tori religiously since her second start in the early 90s when i was in highschool. When word came a few years ago that she had a daughter, I thought, this is the end. Sadly I am now faced with the Suffice it to say, "The Beekeeper" has quickly found a home on the floor of my car's backseat. Not only does this album suck it spells the end to the career of a legend. I have followed Tori religiously since her second start in the early 90s when i was in highschool. When word came a few years ago that she had a daughter, I thought, this is the end. Sadly I am now faced with the fruition of that prediction. The angry, hellish, go F*ck yourself style of Tori has given way to a watered down something else. Not sure what that something else is, but I pray that more fans like me speak out so that maybe, maybe, Tori might again come back to dazzle us all again. Expand
  6. JoeN
    Mar 2, 2005
    3
    Tori is in sharp decline. The truly obsessed fans will deny that the new album is anything less than her best - but those people not looking through Tori-colored glasses can see this album for what it is - mediocre, uninspired, and irrelevant to the lives of most.
  7. Zentherapy
    Aug 23, 2008
    1
    I used to be a huge fan before this mess of an album. After the quiet energy of Scarlet's Walk... this, and an eyelift. Tori became the parody of herself, and things didn't get better with ADP, unfortunately.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. You can delve as deeply into the lyrics and musical brain-teasers as you like, but there's plenty of surface allure for anyone who just fancies a superficial graze.
  2. The Beekeeper returns the quirky singer to the same whimsical terrain of 1992's Little Earthquakes, but with much stronger storylines, and a much more assured and nuanced voice.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    The Beekeeper is the Tori Amos album for those normally freaked out by Tori Amos. [25 Feb 2005, p.99]