The Beginning - The Black Eyed Peas
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 91
  2. Negative: 32 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2010
    1
    This perhaps one of the worst albums Ive ever heard...how this group continues to stay popular by making horrible music is beyond me.... The simplistic lyrics the corny bland beats its all trash...seems like the more horrible music you make the more popular you get.. sham BEP way back when (ie before Fergie) used to be somewhat dope...
  2. Dec 2, 2010
    0
    Black Eyed Peas must be afraid to stand in the same that their previous album...it's a shame that they made this album...is the worst BEP album ever...auto-tune effect kill their music...is really disappointing...! I love BEP but this album is a really crap,simple and unnecessary for a great band..where is the reinvention and creativity of their previous album? this is not BEP...is anBlack Eyed Peas must be afraid to stand in the same that their previous album...it's a shame that they made this album...is the worst BEP album ever...auto-tune effect kill their music...is really disappointing...! I love BEP but this album is a really crap,simple and unnecessary for a great band..where is the reinvention and creativity of their previous album? this is not BEP...is an example of how commercial music attacks the good music..! Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    Wait a second. Is this what people call music? God, if this is how music sounds today, well, it's very s***. Sorry, but this album right here is so bad that it makes my ears bleed. Stay away from this mess.
  4. Dec 24, 2010
    4
    There's way too much Auto-Tune. The lyrics aren't smart. Fergie is missing in action most of the time. Standout tracks: "Someday", "Whenever"
    Read full review: http://www.musicsforums.net/showthread.php?tid=209&pid=348#pid348
  5. May 27, 2011
    1
    Too many bad samples, Too little Fergie.
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    I'm really surprised at Black Eyed Peas new album! They got deeper in dance music while getting a bit back in their old style. Absolutely no song is written "Hit!" on it, but as an album, it's way better than The E.N.D.. I think The Beginning will be less successful than its predecessor. If you loved Black Eyed Peas' last album, you'll worship this new opus. Black Eyed Peas takes a lot ofI'm really surprised at Black Eyed Peas new album! They got deeper in dance music while getting a bit back in their old style. Absolutely no song is written "Hit!" on it, but as an album, it's way better than The E.N.D.. I think The Beginning will be less successful than its predecessor. If you loved Black Eyed Peas' last album, you'll worship this new opus. Black Eyed Peas takes a lot of old classics/successes and turn them into new songs. Sometimes like on The Time (Dirty Bit) the big techno beat after the chorus ruins the whole song. Too much autotune! But overall, great job Expand
  7. TWB
    Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Made my ear bleed. Too much auto-tune. Totally a waste of time and money. Not recommended at all.
  8. Dec 15, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album its a deception for all BEP fans who have been following them for a long time, they just made this album to sell something new, its just the "The E.N.D" style but really repetitive, they didn't make a new style or beat like they always do when a new album came out, they are like 1-2 good songs, don't think so they are really proud of this CD. Expand
  9. Jan 7, 2011
    3
    Rubbish. It's all I can say. I hated The E.N.D. so how could I love the follow up? I miss them when they were still a pop band and not an auto-tune machine.
    Speechless.
  10. Jan 16, 2011
    3
    This album seems to be trying hard to cash in on the newly reborn Electronic genre, playing on synths and auto-tune, to little returns. The Black Eyed Peas seem to show originality in some form in this album, but unfortunately, this originality doesn't suit them. Particularly bad songs include "Do it Like This" and "Own It", but the songs such as "Play It Loud" and "Whenever" partiallyThis album seems to be trying hard to cash in on the newly reborn Electronic genre, playing on synths and auto-tune, to little returns. The Black Eyed Peas seem to show originality in some form in this album, but unfortunately, this originality doesn't suit them. Particularly bad songs include "Do it Like This" and "Own It", but the songs such as "Play It Loud" and "Whenever" partially redeem the album. Unluckily for the Peas, the poor songs outweigh the decent. Die-hard fans will undoubtedly claim to enjoy this album, but it could really have been so much more if previous albums are to be the benchmark, and the excessive auto-tune and horrific lyrical quality drops the album standard to disastrous. Songs will probably chart due to the general public eating any of the **** that MTV feed them. Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2011
    0
    Probably (no certainly) the worst album of all time. Can't even believe it's possible to reach this level of horror. How can they be popular?! I really can't understand.
  12. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    The tracks are catchy, but that doesn't mean they're good. Now that the BEP have jumped on the auto-tune bandwagon, it looks like their music's not going to get any better.
  13. Sep 8, 2011
    4
    I am a big Peas fan, but this was very disappointing. The songs sound the same, the lyrics are just plain dumb and there is WAY too much auto-tune! The only good songs are Just Can't Get Enough, Whenever, Someday, The Situation and The B.O.Y but the rest are just awful!!!
  14. Aug 18, 2012
    2
    Simply awful. "Just Can't Get Enough", "The Situation" or "Don't Stop The Party" are sufferably and not bad. But the rest is horrible! "XOXO", "Fashion Beats" or "Do It Like This" are definitely in the top 10 of worst songs of all time. Horrible composition by talentless "musicians". One of the worst album in music history!
  15. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    I have just about enough with these techno songs. The Black Eyed Peas fall into a troubled abyss and even though this album is better than Monkey Business the Peas just need to stop.
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    Few songs were catchy and memorable, "The Time (Dirty Bit)" and "Just Can't Get Enough" were the stars of this album, where the other songs were not near as impressive.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    40
    Simply put, this album suffers from Beyonce syndrome--it does nothing to further the group's catalogue. Last time around, the Black Eyed Peas were exploring new territory, and the results were contagious. Now, it seems as though the group, particularly will.i.am, is stuck on auto-pilot.
  2. 60
    Although the overall plot of the album is sparse, it's hard to deny the enjoyment it can bring to you. If you know what to expect when you hear it, you can take The Beginning for what it is: a feel good album.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    30
    Unforgivably bad.