The Beginning - The Black Eyed Peas
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 91
  2. Negative: 32 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I wonder if people ever even read reviews, and then read other people's critiques, I doubt that they ever condescend against the Black Eyed peas, You people obviously need to see the line between grading someones music and just pure bad-mouthing them, its bad music? WHY? What happened to logic these days? Those reviews you see are trimmed down to be short but you can read full reviews and understand, saying an album or music is bad goes beyond saying "you dont like it" I dont know why Metacritic ever bothered putting in a user score system when everyone who grades it are completly unfair, illogical, and not objective. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This is not their best. But this is one of the year's best. You have to agree that "The Time" is catchy as hell and other tracks are nice, such as "Light Up the Night", "Love You Long Time" and (maybe) "Just Can't Get Enough". I gave it 10/10 just because it's a whole new experience for the band and the listeners. "The E.N.D." was a futuristic album with no specified order of the tracks, making it a mess - though it was rather better (maybe that's why it took 4 years to record/write?) . "The Beginning" is much of a concept recording and kind of a euro-pop-techno-electro song, with a length of 77 minutes (deluxe version). It's simple, but it's simply perfect. Good job, looking for more and better. Thank you for reading. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    I have to disagree with what seems to be the majority of reviews associated with this album. The album receives attacks addressing its cheesy demeanor. Thats the black eyed peas, if you've listened to any other track off this album, you'd notice that their brilliant cheese is very common. It's hard to distinguish which songs will become singles, since the whole album feels like one. The constant nagging on how the black eyed peas have lost their soul with Fergie and mainstream attention is prime example of opinion conformity. They've merely addressed what mainstream music craves. Delicious beats that literally force your body to get up and start dancing. While you're dancing you feel the words. You feel the delicious cheese coursing through your veins. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First time I heard it I could not understand the album, I was kind of disappointed, but then I started to listen again and again, I know I can not stop. It's a fantastic dance mature album, I think is fresh and well thought, and pretty fun. I disagree with people who do not enjoy music and because they keep the first impression they are close to a new chance. GOOD STUFF!! Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As is always expected, an album full of funny lyrics with the personal touch of the group, good use of sample, you may not understand much at first, but after the second it's hard to want change, they didn't innovate, but left clearer that can be good in any style. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    It's rare that I listen to an album and I am amazed at the production and catchiness of EVERY track. This is essentially a greatest-hits album. Each track has the potential to be a single. This electro/dance stuff is what's popular now. The music is creative and well-produced, the lyrics are somewhat commercial, but it's simple and it makes sense. And it provokes emotions. That's what a POP album should be. They stray away from their roots in hip-hop, but I'm more of a fan now because of this album. After listening to The E.N.D. album from 2009, you could expect that the following album would be more of a euro/electro/dance punch in the butt. I think less of The E.N.D. for not being more of a euro/electro/dance punch in the butt. The Beginning is an AMAZING album, its very near to perfect. The Black Eyed Peas have found their commercial niche. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I thought this album was alright it didnt have much meaning to it like the last album they brought out (The E.N.D.) and its a big downer that they werent able to make great songs like in the last album.
    they really changed from hip hop to a bit of techno for a change ,i really liked the song "Someday" it has some meaning to me.
    This album wasnt very good to be honest i wish they went
    more hip hop instead of technowise they should'nt have done that ,they needed more inspiration in this album but they failed (just being honest). Expand
  8. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Why Is This Album A 5.4 Out Of 10?
    It's Fun, Yes They Use Auto Tune.. Everyone Does Now Ke$ha And T Pain!
    Overall A Really Good Album!
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    40
    Simply put, this album suffers from Beyonce syndrome--it does nothing to further the group's catalogue. Last time around, the Black Eyed Peas were exploring new territory, and the results were contagious. Now, it seems as though the group, particularly will.i.am, is stuck on auto-pilot.
  2. 60
    Although the overall plot of the album is sparse, it's hard to deny the enjoyment it can bring to you. If you know what to expect when you hear it, you can take The Beginning for what it is: a feel good album.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    30
    Unforgivably bad.