The Beginning - The Black Eyed Peas
The  Beginning Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The album following The E.N.D., The Beginning is the sixth studio album from the hip-hop, dance-pop quartet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. 83
    The Peas may not have dramatically outdone themselves this time, but they've succeeded at keeping the good times rolling yet again.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    66
    While the title of the Peas' newest album, "The Beginning," might suggest a retreat from this everything-to-everyone agenda, it's everything but.
  3. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    This much serotonin in four humans can only mean they'll get carried away all over the place, and Beginning bubbles with the kind of slobbering excess that drives Peas haters bonkers.
  4. 50
    Consider it a musical Snuggie for tottering Valley party girls--it will feel marvelous in the cold, drunken and lonely hours of the night.
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    40
    Like the Double Down monstrosity, the first bite is an odd mix of tasty and disgusting, but by the end of it you just feel ill and ashamed.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    As on their last two LPs, it's heavily reliant on nightclub anthems and will.i.am's throwback rapping, alongside Auto-Tune harmonies and waves of synth
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    The Beginning's shameless hit-mongering and MOR club stance gives this set about as much oomph as Cher's Believe.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I wonder if people ever even read reviews, and then read other people's critiques, I doubt that they ever condescend against the Black EyedI wonder if people ever even read reviews, and then read other people's critiques, I doubt that they ever condescend against the Black Eyed peas, You people obviously need to see the line between grading someones music and just pure bad-mouthing them, its bad music? WHY? What happened to logic these days? Those reviews you see are trimmed down to be short but you can read full reviews and understand, saying an album or music is bad goes beyond saying "you dont like it" I dont know why Metacritic ever bothered putting in a user score system when everyone who grades it are completly unfair, illogical, and not objective. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First time I heard it I could not understand the album, I was kind of disappointed, but then I started to listen again and again, I know I can not stop. It's a fantastic dance mature album, I think is fresh and well thought, and pretty fun. I disagree with people who do not enjoy music and because they keep the first impression they are close to a new chance. GOOD STUFF!! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Well, it's not the best Black Eyed Peas album yet. But with it's incredible auto-tuning vocals and thumping beats coming through yourWell, it's not the best Black Eyed Peas album yet. But with it's incredible auto-tuning vocals and thumping beats coming through your eardrums, "The Beginning" was one of my favorite and steady albums of 2010. I definitely love "Time of My Life (Dirty Bit)" and "Just Can't Get Enough." I saw the video and it was so emotional and amazing on making the video sending a positive message to help save the innocent victims from the events of the horrific Earthquake in Japan last March. All of the songs were great. The one song I have to buy on Itunes right now was their 3rd single, "Don't Stop the Party."
    Turning up a mixture of the gay community, this is the album I have to get. Great album, not that great since 2009's "The E.N.D." Just a phenomenal dance mix.
    Collapse
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    This album will disappoint die-hard Black Eyed Peas fans. Far removed from their initial sound, this album is quickly becoming overly poppyThis album will disappoint die-hard Black Eyed Peas fans. Far removed from their initial sound, this album is quickly becoming overly poppy and synthesized. That is not to say it doesn't include some great beats and tracks: Do It Like This and Don't Stop the Party are stand-out electronic dance songs that will please the lover of electro music. This album does include some great songs: in particular, Whenever, Everything is Wonderful, The Time, and The Best One Yet. However, there are some real shockers on this album as well- XOXO and Love you Long Time. The worst BEP album yet, unfortunately, and only worth the buy if not just to see what the fuss is about. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    Few songs were catchy and memorable, "The Time (Dirty Bit)" and "Just Can't Get Enough" were the stars of this album, where the other songsFew songs were catchy and memorable, "The Time (Dirty Bit)" and "Just Can't Get Enough" were the stars of this album, where the other songs were not near as impressive. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2011
    3
    This album seems to be trying hard to cash in on the newly reborn Electronic genre, playing on synths and auto-tune, to little returns. TheThis album seems to be trying hard to cash in on the newly reborn Electronic genre, playing on synths and auto-tune, to little returns. The Black Eyed Peas seem to show originality in some form in this album, but unfortunately, this originality doesn't suit them. Particularly bad songs include "Do it Like This" and "Own It", but the songs such as "Play It Loud" and "Whenever" partially redeem the album. Unluckily for the Peas, the poor songs outweigh the decent. Die-hard fans will undoubtedly claim to enjoy this album, but it could really have been so much more if previous albums are to be the benchmark, and the excessive auto-tune and horrific lyrical quality drops the album standard to disastrous. Songs will probably chart due to the general public eating any of the **** that MTV feed them. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    I'm really surprised at Black Eyed Peas new album! They got deeper in dance music while getting a bit back in their old style. Absolutely noI'm really surprised at Black Eyed Peas new album! They got deeper in dance music while getting a bit back in their old style. Absolutely no song is written "Hit!" on it, but as an album, it's way better than The E.N.D.. I think The Beginning will be less successful than its predecessor. If you loved Black Eyed Peas' last album, you'll worship this new opus. Black Eyed Peas takes a lot of old classics/successes and turn them into new songs. Sometimes like on The Time (Dirty Bit) the big techno beat after the chorus ruins the whole song. Too much autotune! But overall, great job Expand

See all 37 User Reviews