User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianK
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Cokemachineglow... its called progressive. The Band's CD is a intricate, well conceived and at times very classic "pop" journey. Very dark and fresh all at the same time Surprised at myself for just now hearing about this band.
  2. brucea
    Feb 24, 2007
    5
    BOOOORING! This is a great album to take you through a mushroom trip, but not something for your car's CD player. The plodding tunes are richly crafted but have no hooks.
  3. RyanM
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    This album is a peace of art, perfect, recommended!
  4. AlexJ
    Mar 5, 2007
    4
    I was expecting something more than just another collection of jagged and mismatched musical ideas stiched together. Its progressive tag is up to some debate, but its really nothing new when placed alongside many of their fellow counterparts.
  5. GillyD
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Well dunno about u lot but I luv it! I might get shot down in flames for this one but I think it's better than Arcade Fire's Neon Bible. Only criticism- it's too short, it leaves me wanting to hear so much more. So looking forward to seeing them in April.
  6. TimC.
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Loved it!
  7. JordanC
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This cd is great , if you are like Bruce A and want hooks maybe you should stick with the pussycat dolls
  8. BenA
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Awesome album. Pink Floyd meets the Beach Boys. Funnily enough, Bruce A, I had this cd on repeat in my car for a week. Its so intricate, detailed, and layered that multiple listens are very rewarding. Plus it rocks.
  9. ChrisW
    Mar 18, 2007
    1
    When are bands like this, Snow Patrol, and The Frames going to stop ripping off of Coldplay? This CD is junk... if you love Norah Jones... then you'll like this even more. If you can find a tempo, you'd be the first one to find one.
  10. SteveR
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    The Beach Boys meet Pink Floyd to create something completely new and fresh. One of the most beautiful albums you'll ever hear.
  11. dana
    Mar 23, 2007
    7
    ripping off coldplay? the most ridiculous thing i've ever heard. coldplay are one of the most tired, unoriginal bands in existence. these guys are ok and certainly not a copy of a copy.
  12. CarlS
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    easily my favorite album of the year so far. just saw them live too and they truly know how to bring the (reverb laden) rock. and on top of that they had smoke machines...freaking smoke machines! Chris W obviously wasn't listening to this album, either that or he has no ability to discern one band from another and should give up on music altogether. get this album!
  13. GaryB
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Yeah!
  14. christianp
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    this album is so incredibly lush and gorgeous that it is more rewarding with each listen. the quote from Drowned in Sound says it all.
  15. vasilis
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    one of the best records of the year!
  16. DougF
    Apr 3, 2007
    8
    It's the Beach Boys. It's Boards of Canada. That's right, it's the Surfboards of Canada! Arf!
  17. BenB.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    By far the most suprising listen of the year. I came into it with out expecting much and now I find it one of the best albums of the years so far. Comparison's to Coldplay make no sense, Coldplay's icey MOR production and execution pales in comparison to the more calculated dark tones of this album. Plus saying Snow Patrol is copying Coldplay is kind of rediculous considering By far the most suprising listen of the year. I came into it with out expecting much and now I find it one of the best albums of the years so far. Comparison's to Coldplay make no sense, Coldplay's icey MOR production and execution pales in comparison to the more calculated dark tones of this album. Plus saying Snow Patrol is copying Coldplay is kind of rediculous considering Snow Patrol is at least 1 year older than Coldplay. Collapse
  18. JoePublic
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of the year so far, though I'm looking forward to new releases from Rush, Marillion, Porcupine Tree, and Kan'Nal as well. Aside from the pretentiousness of "Devastation", a brilliant and startling album. I picked it up on a whim, warmed up to it after a couple of listens, and now I love it. Solid spacey post-rock.
  19. ShaneM
    Apr 21, 2007
    9
    Amazing album that gets better and better with each listen. If you don't like this, then you just don't get it.
  20. JoshK
    Apr 28, 2007
    1
    How many bands does this band rip off? I hear some Simon and Garfunkle, I hear some Led Zeppelin, Beatles, Beach Boys, and even KISS. Holy fuck. Can they be any more original? Plus, it's boring except for one song...the led Zeppelin song.
  21. MichaelK
    May 8, 2007
    8
    Sounds kind of like a much more abrasive, dynamic Low.
  22. sebastiant.
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    very, very sharp. havent tired of it yet, though at first i expected that i would. i have seen them live too, and as another poster noted, the smoke machines are something else!
  23. RobH.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Great album.
  24. DavidM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Just gorgeous. Full of great musical ideas. Mature and distinctive. My favorite of 2007 so far.
  25. DylanS
    Jul 13, 2007
    9
    Absolutely amazing, you don't beat 'Devastation' and 'You Lies To Me' for raw power -- or 'Because Tonight' for sheer beauty. A gem of an album with dynamic pacing and glorious grandeur. They do, as well, rock live, and the smoke machines are insane.
  26. Adam
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    I'm so glad I found this album. It's easily one of my favourites of 2007 (and it's been such a great year). A beautiful album.
  27. GreckoX
    Sep 21, 2007
    4
    Ummm... don't listen to this while driving... a soppy, droning experience - not at all what was expected from the reviews.
  28. PeterM.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Every listening reveals more of the sonic and melodic complexity of a whole that is gloriously more than the sum of its parts
  29. JoelZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    One of those albums I largely was unimpressed with at first listen but 10 listens later blown away, so intricate and beautiful.
  30. TimC.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Loved it!
  31. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    Ideal storytellers of the Canadiana landscape, .... Are The Dark Horse is a heart pounder of an album, but lacks cohesion found in their later albums. Still doesn't deter enough for the first listens of this distant but barrelling drums, roaring yet quiet trumpets, and commanding yet ghostly vocals, all with some of the better guitar progressions coming out of the Great White North inIdeal storytellers of the Canadiana landscape, .... Are The Dark Horse is a heart pounder of an album, but lacks cohesion found in their later albums. Still doesn't deter enough for the first listens of this distant but barrelling drums, roaring yet quiet trumpets, and commanding yet ghostly vocals, all with some of the better guitar progressions coming out of the Great White North in quite some time. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sift through Are the Dark Horse and the sounds of the Beach Boys or Orbison can certainly be found, but the band has yet to learn the clean, economical songwriting of their influences.
  2. That music so majestically restrained in pace can make your heart beat so quickly is a testament to The Besnard Lakes’ focus and ability to coat each millisecond of track time with an utterly captivating sound without ever becoming clogged up with their myriad ideas.
  3. Too big in their influences and scope to fit in even the biggest pigeonhole imaginable, The Besnard Lakes thankfully produce music chock-full of tunes and spine-tingly loveliness not seen since The Beach Boys or more recently the sheer joy and ridiculous grandeur of The Polyphonic Spree.