The Best Damn Thing

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2007
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 305

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChantelleM.
    Jun 2, 2007
    3
    I was intrigued after hearing 'Girlfriend' on the radio. As someone who loved the last two albums, I was glad to see another album had been released. Thankfully I grabbed a download of this before buying it this time, because I wouldn't waste my money on this CD. I had to stop it after track six because it was annoying to listen to. Change is good in an artist, but this is I was intrigued after hearing 'Girlfriend' on the radio. As someone who loved the last two albums, I was glad to see another album had been released. Thankfully I grabbed a download of this before buying it this time, because I wouldn't waste my money on this CD. I had to stop it after track six because it was annoying to listen to. Change is good in an artist, but this is a step backward. Expand
  2. ToddW
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    Hey, if All Music thinks it's better than Bowie's "Young Americans," who am I to argue? What a joke, to say nothing of the statement this makes about the sad state of affairs in the Sewerstream.
  3. BobE
    Apr 26, 2007
    0
    She is crap faceit she cantsing and she cant wrightlyrics her new stuffis worse I hate her
  4. McBaird
    Apr 29, 2007
    0
    She sucks so bad my ears bled. She can probably spell "write" though, unlike user Bob E
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    I think this may be her worst album. Crap. "Girlfriend" was the big hit from the cd, and honestly that song is just irritating and annoying. This is not the style she set out for in the first place. Disappointment.
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    I think this may be her worst album. Crap. "Girlfriend" was the big hit from the cd, and honestly that song is just irritating and annoying. This is not the style she set out for in the first place. Disappointment.
  7. Niki
    May 6, 2007
    0
    This albus was SO disappointing....and that's an understatement...she's totally detached herself from the kind of image she created with her first two albums.I was a die hard fan until this catastrophe.....i swear the music gave me a headache...
  8. Eva
    Jun 4, 2007
    1
    nothing is exciting about this album anymore, the songs basically sound all the same... her emotional songs which i liked so much in her previous albums have become dull. very disappointing
  9. GeraldF
    May 9, 2007
    2
    Beyond the occasional groove that is lifted directly from her husbands band, this music is trite and forgettable. You can hear the ching ching of the cash registers as this was made to make money, pure and simple. It's also taken a young artist who called the world on it's toxins and made her one of them. It's nasty, self indulgent, narcisistic music and it encourages other Beyond the occasional groove that is lifted directly from her husbands band, this music is trite and forgettable. You can hear the ching ching of the cash registers as this was made to make money, pure and simple. It's also taken a young artist who called the world on it's toxins and made her one of them. It's nasty, self indulgent, narcisistic music and it encourages other people to be that way. It's hard enough for people to figure themselves out without this crap being out there. Expand
  10. KateB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    1
    Oh dear oh dear. Never bought this, Thank God, but my friends insist on playing it over and over and over. When I saw the video for Girlfriend I thought: is she taking the piss? I soon realised she wasn't and that her lyrics are really that bad. And where did the punk "I hate blondes" image go? Down the pan along with my sanity I'd imagine. Sell out.
  11. PrometheusF
    Jun 17, 2007
    2
    One question; why?! Her music was just starting to finely mature and then this. This will make some undecided teenage girls lifelong supporters and the rest of us just disgusted. This bubblegum pop is certainly not sugar-free, as the singer shamelessly refuses to act her age. After hearing "Hey hey you you!" chanted by Avril's target group I really hope that this will be the last we One question; why?! Her music was just starting to finely mature and then this. This will make some undecided teenage girls lifelong supporters and the rest of us just disgusted. This bubblegum pop is certainly not sugar-free, as the singer shamelessly refuses to act her age. After hearing "Hey hey you you!" chanted by Avril's target group I really hope that this will be the last we see of this latest incarnation of Avril. Expand
  12. CraigO
    Jun 1, 2007
    0
    Well, I guess someone has to fill the void of "20-something pop-hussy pretending to be 16 to sell records" artists now that Britney's complete white trash and Christina can't seem to get out of a pre-Cold War era montage... I don't expect much from Avril, but vampant, whiney trash is below even her.
  13. nickc.
    Jun 7, 2007
    1
    Are you fucking serious? Hahahaha! BUNK. Uber-produced girl pop-plastic candy.
  14. joanney.
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    Disgusting, how whiny voice drives me crazy and these songs, especially Girlfriend are ripoffs, that's why she's being sued for stealing songs.
  15. Kyle
    Jan 1, 2008
    0
    Heard the album cover to cover 3x in a row while waiting to get my hair cut... it was so annoying it got to the point I couldn't tell when one song was starting another was ending. Wretched album--
  16. kd
    Apr 17, 2007
    2
    If this is her grown up I think she should go back to being a kid
  17. JoseM
    Apr 17, 2007
    1
    Why can't this girl go away? Her first single is her worst yet...
  18. Tronic!Tronic
    Apr 18, 2007
    0
    "She's definitely one of the worst damn things to hit the stage in the last five years" -From The Edmonton Journal Couldn't have said it better!!!
  19. CaladoniaK
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    AWFUL.
  20. AlexandraK
    Apr 21, 2007
    0
    This bratty liitle girl is so full of herself. The lyrics are awful, the mellody seems to be made for 8-year-old kids and not grown-ups. If she thinks she is "the best damn thing" she needs to prove with talent first.
  21. nipuns.
    May 20, 2007
    0
    i was very dissapointed .......earlier avril seemed to define her music as her own by stating her views and being rebel like, she has done the exact opposite this time and she sounds like gwen stefani or pink.
  22. AnnaS
    May 5, 2007
    1
    The frustrating thing about this album is that she sounds so sincere on every track. I think the critics confused loudness of screaming for quality of hooks when they rated the album. In reality, the album isn't just bratty, it's bratty in an annoying way. The repeated "Hey you" motif (the catchphrase is used at least once per song) gets old fast (especially with Avril's The frustrating thing about this album is that she sounds so sincere on every track. I think the critics confused loudness of screaming for quality of hooks when they rated the album. In reality, the album isn't just bratty, it's bratty in an annoying way. The repeated "Hey you" motif (the catchphrase is used at least once per song) gets old fast (especially with Avril's monotone delivery), and lines like "she's like so whatever" or "what'd you say, I told you so, you always know that, cause I know" aren't adorably adolescent, they're just terrible songwriting. Hooks are a good thing, but I like mine to at least make some sort of sense in the English syntax. I'm as big of a fan of bubblegum pop as anybody (I loved Let Go), but this isn't the best damn thing, it's the most damn annoying. Expand
  23. DylanD.
    Jun 12, 2007
    0
    This album sucks. Repetitive songs, droning delivery, need I go on??
  24. GaborA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    1
    Sheer garbage. And it sends the wrong message to girls young/stupid enough to listen to this in the first place.
  25. WillJ.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    For fucks sake she's an annoying rodent with a voice like burnt roadkill and a face to match. I'm simply surprised that sane critics haven't killed her, let alone actually like the auricular abortion. They like this bitch more than the Bravery, COME ON. For people who catch her on the street it is well advised to cut off her limbs and burn the stubs, then feed her through a For fucks sake she's an annoying rodent with a voice like burnt roadkill and a face to match. I'm simply surprised that sane critics haven't killed her, let alone actually like the auricular abortion. They like this bitch more than the Bravery, COME ON. For people who catch her on the street it is well advised to cut off her limbs and burn the stubs, then feed her through a woodchipper, then blow it up, and feed the remains to your her dog, step on it then feed that dog to your dog or someone elses dog. She's twenty three??? I saw the Punk'd where she cried, and it was the happiest day of my life. Expand
  26. whatever
    Jul 17, 2007
    0
    Avril is just "Pop" And so is her music, especially this record. That's why music is dying. Plain Simple.
  27. CraigB
    Apr 17, 2007
    3
    Avril has always been a guilty pleasure for me. This album however is mostly a really bad tribute to a combination of Gwen Stefani & Punk Pop. I'm quite disappointed.
  28. MaxD
    Apr 17, 2007
    0
    POSER this alum sucks, if you like it you obviously have no taste and deserve to listen to this utter CRAP!
  29. Matt
    Apr 17, 2007
    2
    I had to turn the CD off after four songs. In my opinion, tracks 2 and 4 couldn't have been more annoying if Avril had tried. I liked her first album and few cuts from her second, but the lyrics on this one are just vapid. The girl was better off having somebody write the songs for her. Judging from this CD, there's gotta be weights in her shoes to keep the hot air between her I had to turn the CD off after four songs. In my opinion, tracks 2 and 4 couldn't have been more annoying if Avril had tried. I liked her first album and few cuts from her second, but the lyrics on this one are just vapid. The girl was better off having somebody write the songs for her. Judging from this CD, there's gotta be weights in her shoes to keep the hot air between her ears from flying her into the atmosphere. Expand
  30. CarsonW
    Apr 19, 2007
    0
    The score is reflective of the album and what she is as a person. A Zero.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. The dumb, girly, giddy Best Damn Thing reembraces the 15-year-old pom-pom punkette within, with multitracked hand claps, Toni Basil-gone-bad cheers, and pep-rally-rattling guitars.
  2. The Best Damn Thing is a big step back for an artist who was just starting to grow up.
  3. It's a consciously lightweight pop-punk romp that appears to have been inspired by "Since U Been Gone," Kelly Clarkson's massive hit.