The Black Album

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Black Album Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The hugely successful Brooklyn rapper worked with an A-list of producers (including Just Blaze, Kanye West, Aqua, Eminem, Rick Rubin and The Neptunes) on what he has stated will be the final release of his career. (Sure it will.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mojo
    100
    A magnificent record. [Jan 2004, p.104]
  2. There are better storytellers, there are better battle rappers, there are undoubtedly rhymers with more on their minds. But there isn't a better MC around, if you're talking about the art of sheer mic domination.
  3. The Black Album stands up alongside Reasonable Doubt and The Blueprint as Z's most ambitious work.
  4. While it probably won't be remembered as his best album, The Black Album is his most personal to date and features some of his most compelling writing.
  5. Q Magazine
    80
    Excellent, although not quite the epoch-defining triumph its hype suggested it might be. [Jan 2004, p.108]
  6. Impresses on the same level as the best of his career.
  7. For all the dark wordplay, the album is an aural equivalent of that old American favourite, the schmaltzy biopic.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. This is still my favorite rap album to date and is one of the best I've ever heard. Jay Z was trying to retire with aThis album is amazing. This is still my favorite rap album to date and is one of the best I've ever heard. Jay Z was trying to retire with a bang and he did just that. This is Jay Z's best album. The production was amazing, the lyrics were on point and we heard every jay Z. Classic and new. Collapse
  2. JasonC
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Hands down best ever! Those who think its wack don't even listen carefully to the track. Hov is the realest shit there is. Thats why Hands down best ever! Those who think its wack don't even listen carefully to the track. Hov is the realest shit there is. Thats why most people give it a good rating. Expand
  3. DaniG
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    very best jigga album up to date! hope and pray it's not really his last one. hip hop needs Jay-Z.. "If you can't respect that, very best jigga album up to date! hope and pray it's not really his last one. hip hop needs Jay-Z.. "If you can't respect that, your whole perspective is whack" Expand
  4. timd
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    It's a classic in context as well as in practice. Even the ho-hum "Change Clothes" and "Justify my Thug" are better than everything in It's a classic in context as well as in practice. Even the ho-hum "Change Clothes" and "Justify my Thug" are better than everything in mainstream hip hop (except Eminem, Outkast, Missy, and half of 50's album). It is excellent to think this may be the way he goes out. With this burst of creativity and focus we recognize one of the giants of popular music. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2016
    9
    This is a good albumThis is a good album ꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸꠸ Expand
  6. RobertC
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    He goes through his whole career perfect send off
  7. TonyG
    Nov 24, 2003
    0
    The "whack" Album.

See all 57 User Reviews