The Black Parade

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 576 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 576

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Every song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probablyEvery song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probably isn't the most inclusive album but I think anyone can appreciate "Welcome To The Black Parade", "Famous Last Words", "I Don't Love You", "Teenagers" and "The Sharpest Lives". Buying this album is definitely a risk worth taking! Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing album with dark and deep lyrics that live up to MCR's "emo" label but it also has that fast pased exciting rebellious punk sound that makes the dark theme of The Black Parade come alive. Possibly my favorite MCR album.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Unique, catchy, and still staying true to their style many have loved since they began. Their songs are meaningful, sombre, and written and performed to perfection.
  4. Jordan
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    After their 2004 hit "Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge", My Chemical Romance return with one of the best albums of the year. Who says a story of a dying boy cant be enjoyable? It is uplifting, ambitious and ingenius. Download: "Disenchanted", "Teenagers", and "Famous Last Words"
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    The Black Parade is so refreshing. Almost every track sounds like another band's single. This concept album is about a young boy dying in a hospital. Sounds pretty depressing, I know. But it's so fun to listen too. It all sounds fresh and original. They have definitely matured as a band with this album. The opening "The End" gets you going until "Dead", the second track on the album comesThe Black Parade is so refreshing. Almost every track sounds like another band's single. This concept album is about a young boy dying in a hospital. Sounds pretty depressing, I know. But it's so fun to listen too. It all sounds fresh and original. They have definitely matured as a band with this album. The opening "The End" gets you going until "Dead", the second track on the album comes on and then your attention is fully grasped on this wonderful album. All In All, The Black Parade is a great rock album and it came out around a time when there were no good rock albums out. A- Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    I usually don't like writing these, but I feel the need with this album. It is so underrated and written off as a lot less than it actually is. It may not be revolutionary or filled with brand new ideas, but the songs range from the enjoyable ("Mama," Teenagers"), to the good ("This is How I Disappear," :I Don't Love you") to the excellent ("Welcome to the Black Parade". "Disenchanted,"I usually don't like writing these, but I feel the need with this album. It is so underrated and written off as a lot less than it actually is. It may not be revolutionary or filled with brand new ideas, but the songs range from the enjoyable ("Mama," Teenagers"), to the good ("This is How I Disappear," :I Don't Love you") to the excellent ("Welcome to the Black Parade". "Disenchanted," "Sleep," "Famous Last Words") It's an excellent album with only a couple weaknesses. Definitely worth your attention. Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    10
    A monumentally ambitious album. Tossing the scream-and-rage-based sound of their previous albums 'I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love' and 'Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge', My Chem fuses the conceptual imagery of 'Sgt. Pepper' with the arena-rock sensibilities of Queen to create a sound that is both dark and cheerful. A non-linear, well-balanced rock opera of high concept,A monumentally ambitious album. Tossing the scream-and-rage-based sound of their previous albums 'I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love' and 'Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge', My Chem fuses the conceptual imagery of 'Sgt. Pepper' with the arena-rock sensibilities of Queen to create a sound that is both dark and cheerful. A non-linear, well-balanced rock opera of high concept, and high payoff. Excellent instrumentals, good vocals, and well-placed lyrics. This is to My Chemical Romance what 'American Idiot' was to Green Day.

    Best tracks: "The Sharpest Lives", "Mama", "Teenagers"
    Expand
  8. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    In this journey of death my chemical romance comes off stronger than they did in three cheers or I brought you my bullets you brought me your love. With some of their best songs including welcome to the black parade and disenchanted this is a must have album and one of the best albums of the decade 10 out of 10
  9. May 17, 2012
    9
    This is My Chemical Romance's best album in my opinion. It starts off with the intro The End. which is pretty cool: 9/10. The End. leads straight into Dead! which is my second favourite song by My Chemical Romance, so it starts with this super ergetic solo, and... just... Too awesome to explain it: 10/10. The 3rd track off The Black Parade is This Is How I Disappear. I guess it's quiteThis is My Chemical Romance's best album in my opinion. It starts off with the intro The End. which is pretty cool: 9/10. The End. leads straight into Dead! which is my second favourite song by My Chemical Romance, so it starts with this super ergetic solo, and... just... Too awesome to explain it: 10/10. The 3rd track off The Black Parade is This Is How I Disappear. I guess it's quite good: 7/10. Next there's The Sharpest Lives which is slightly better than the previous song on the album: 7.5/10. Track 5 is the best song ever recorded in my opinion. It's Welcome To The Black Parade and is the best: 10/10. Track 6 is I Don't Love You which I understand as a ballad: 8/10. House Of Wolves is Track 7. It's a really energetic, and loud track: 9/10. Track 8 is called Cancer. I guess that's another ballad on the album, this time starting on a piano, then the guitar comes in, and stuff... 8/10. Mama is track 9. It's... A really weird song... But I like it. I think you would too if you'd listen to it a couple of times: 8.7/10. Next there's Sleep which is quite a good track: 9/10. Track 11 is the energetic Teenagers: 8.8/10. The next track is Disenchanted which i'd say is quite a good, quiet track. The last (kind of :D) track is Famous Last Words which is another really amazing song: 10/10. Then there's the funny hidden track Blood: 7/10. I think it's a great album worth getting. Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Great follow up to 2004's Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge and the band are as good as ever, producing a fantastic album full of great songs with catchy lyrics and is one of few albums where I love every song.
    As an MCR fan I loved this album and would recommend it to any MCR fan or rock fan in general.
  11. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    My Chemical Romance have truly found their way to fame and the big time with The Black Parade, which is a showcase of both their musical abilities and their storytelling abilities, both through the lyrics and the emotion. This is the kind of album that comes around one in a band's lifespan and brings wonderful songs such as Dead!, Welcome to the Black Parade, Teenagers and Famous LastMy Chemical Romance have truly found their way to fame and the big time with The Black Parade, which is a showcase of both their musical abilities and their storytelling abilities, both through the lyrics and the emotion. This is the kind of album that comes around one in a band's lifespan and brings wonderful songs such as Dead!, Welcome to the Black Parade, Teenagers and Famous Last Words, which single handedly took the world by storm in 2006 and 2007. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    A good old fashioned prog-rock opera that serves as a tribute to classic rock of the 1970s (namely Queen, which is the biggest influence on the record). Death is the big (and only) theme on the album that follows the journey of The Patient after his death from cancer and seeing death in the from of a favourite memory (the titular parade as a child). Its a wonderfully ludicrous story toldA good old fashioned prog-rock opera that serves as a tribute to classic rock of the 1970s (namely Queen, which is the biggest influence on the record). Death is the big (and only) theme on the album that follows the journey of The Patient after his death from cancer and seeing death in the from of a favourite memory (the titular parade as a child). Its a wonderfully ludicrous story told brilliant with some great instrumentation inspired by Billy Corgan and Freddie Mercury. This could be the greatest "emo" album of the century. Expand
  13. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is the most outstanding album I own and that I have ever heard. This is MCR's finest effort. Every single song on this album is incredible, deep, thoughtful, masterful and magical. This is the album against which I compare all others. If I was stuck on a desert island and could only have one CD, The Black Parade would be my choice.
  14. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    A lot of people have compared this album to Green Day's American Idiot, and it's not hard to see why. However, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's a ripoff, because that it is not.
  15. May 28, 2014
    9
    Great album. Darker than Three Cheers, this album contains tracks that have overall better production (Famous last words, Mama, the Sharpest lives). The album is a blast to listen to and has (8 years later) still is as great and as relevant as when it came out. As a side note, to the critic who wrote "It reeks of a band with ideas above its station." Music isn't a class system. No bandGreat album. Darker than Three Cheers, this album contains tracks that have overall better production (Famous last words, Mama, the Sharpest lives). The album is a blast to listen to and has (8 years later) still is as great and as relevant as when it came out. As a side note, to the critic who wrote "It reeks of a band with ideas above its station." Music isn't a class system. No band has a "station". You reek of a critic with criticisms above your station. When you write an album and sell over 2,000,000 copies, you can come back and give your dumb opinions. Until then, stop giving criticisms above your "station." Expand
  16. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    This album really stands out with it's unique and honestly magnificent sound. Every song holds its own beauty, story and twist. The style of music is edgy yet graceful and the lyrics really match the mood and feel of each separate song. My Chemical Romance really took from many different inspirations to create this album and it works really well. It is easy to connect to the lyrics andThis album really stands out with it's unique and honestly magnificent sound. Every song holds its own beauty, story and twist. The style of music is edgy yet graceful and the lyrics really match the mood and feel of each separate song. My Chemical Romance really took from many different inspirations to create this album and it works really well. It is easy to connect to the lyrics and feel the beat of each tune pump through your veins. 'The Black Parade' has many catchy beats that range from pumped up and hard hitting to soft and melodic, each blending with each other whilst still sounding completely different and unique. A few of the songs on this album are quite bold and perhaps not for everyone but I feel like every track could grow on you after a couple of plays. This album is definitely worth purchasing and it would also be wise to check out some of MCR's other stuff as well. Expand
  17. willJ
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Pure genius. The best album of the decade and the best band to emerge in the past twenty years.
  18. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The best album i've seen. The lyrics, rythm, voice, guitar solos, etc... all in this album is perfect. Amazing. Pure genius.[2]
    Three Cheers for Sweet Revange is good, but The Black Parade is the best album of My Chemical Romance.
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    One of the Best bands of our time!!The words and emotions really captures you. If you didnt enjoy this album you just dont have a heart. If this doesnt make you love this genre of music then nothing will!!
  20. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    A definite guilty pleasure of mine. This was MCR's "conceptual" album, and honestly, I thought it was brought out nicely. A nice blend of happiness and melancholy makes this a great album. Way to go.
  21. JudS.
    Jan 20, 2007
    0
    No. No. No. These ratings are way too high. Emo gets its name from "emotional," but all music is supposed to express some sort of emotion. So what is it that defines emo music? No amount of skillful instrumentation or melodies can compensate for the music's core message: unadulterated crybaby bullshit. If you are a whiny teenager who enjoys creating drama where drama doesn't No. No. No. These ratings are way too high. Emo gets its name from "emotional," but all music is supposed to express some sort of emotion. So what is it that defines emo music? No amount of skillful instrumentation or melodies can compensate for the music's core message: unadulterated crybaby bullshit. If you are a whiny teenager who enjoys creating drama where drama doesn't exist, then by all means buy this record. Expand
  22. GuyH
    Oct 24, 2006
    0
    Ok - I'm only reviewing the single but if that is any indication of the 'quality' to be found on this disc then it deserves a screeching, flouncy, unimaginative, soulless ZERO!
  23. Jen
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    The first thing I thought of when I finished listening to this album was, so this is what Marilyn Manson would sound like if he was playing at the mall. Sure, there are some catchy tunes here. And these guys aren't all whiny like most of the bands adolescent boys are into these days, they actually have a bit of a sense of humor and fun. But they are most certainly Manson-lite.
  24. Stormwatch
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    Decent compositions, but the super-loud production ruins it. If I were a member of the band, I'd murder whoever did the mastering!
  25. MikeR
    Sep 24, 2008
    1
    This album fails from the first song. The music feels manufactured and is a huge cliche for the Emo genre.
  26. emon
    Nov 1, 2006
    7
    Im a MCR fan ,just being honest this album is pretty good but compared to 3 cheers wich was friggn awsome!I feel there are to many slow songs ,it took me a good 4 plays to get used to this one.
  27. SethB
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Wow. Not an emo fan, but I am now a Chemical Romance fan. What a great rock album in a time when there are no great rock albums. One of the best records I've listened to in the last 10 years, maybe ever. Very well produced (same producer as Green Day). This album will be the benchmark of their followups. I feel they cannot go up from this album, and might fall into the "I cannot Wow. Not an emo fan, but I am now a Chemical Romance fan. What a great rock album in a time when there are no great rock albums. One of the best records I've listened to in the last 10 years, maybe ever. Very well produced (same producer as Green Day). This album will be the benchmark of their followups. I feel they cannot go up from this album, and might fall into the "I cannot replicate" syndrome. In any case...go get this album....it's brilliant. Don't mark them as a crappy "emo" band, as that would be a wrong stereotype...they are VERY talented. Expand
  28. Ziftk.
    Oct 24, 2006
    8
    A good album, give it a try. It's better than I thought.
  29. AmbrosiaT
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent album..one of the best I've heard in years. MCR doesn't fall into any one category. They are a truly talented band!
  30. WayneU
    Oct 25, 2006
    0
    They cite Queen and System of a Down as influences on the new album and people relate it to "American Idiot", its just too bad that this pop punk orchestral pretentious record is nothing more than a band's desperate attempt at mediocrity.
  31. KayleeB
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    This album kicks ass
  32. MikeyC
    Jan 2, 2007
    0
    To put it bluntly, My Chemical Romance is a massive step towards leading all the impressionable youth of the world to be musically ignorant. MCR have repeatedly overused lyrical themes (ie. anyone sick of Death, Drugs, Guns?), and they have blantantly stolen guitar from Queen. Try and pick out what song it is. Come on. If anyone reading this even REMOTELY considers purchasing this album, To put it bluntly, My Chemical Romance is a massive step towards leading all the impressionable youth of the world to be musically ignorant. MCR have repeatedly overused lyrical themes (ie. anyone sick of Death, Drugs, Guns?), and they have blantantly stolen guitar from Queen. Try and pick out what song it is. Come on. If anyone reading this even REMOTELY considers purchasing this album, please, look beyond the top 30 charts for a better band and check out Radiohead or Muse or something. Expand
  33. IdaMereteOM
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    This is the best album ever made. And that's it.
  34. RachelleR
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Excellent.
  35. JosephT.
    May 9, 2007
    8
    HELLO PEOPLE!!! JUST BECAUSE AN ALBUM STRIKES YOUR FANCY DOESN'T MEAN IT DESERVES A '10' -- TRY TO BE MORE ACCURATE TO YOUR INTELLIGENCE AND TRY TO GIVE SOME ALBUMS '7' '8' or EVEN '9' AND SAVE YOUR '10s' FOR SOMETHING TRULY INGENIOUS, OK?
  36. amyb.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    great drama
  37. JessW
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt Pepper's, Queen etc. The only thing connecting The Black Parade to any other band would be lyrics. The day The Black Parade came out was the day i bought it. It was a gamble to do this sort of thing and it paid off. The different genres of rock expressed This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt Pepper's, Queen etc. The only thing connecting The Black Parade to any other band would be lyrics. The day The Black Parade came out was the day i bought it. It was a gamble to do this sort of thing and it paid off. The different genres of rock expressed in this album are a first for My Chemical Romance as Three Cheers and Bullets didn't do, but were still great albums btw. This wold be my second favourite album of 06/forever Expand
  38. JoshuaM
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    Absolute pop-punk filth. Cliched lyrics, annoying vocals. Talentless, soulless schlock.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Gerard Way has to be one of the best vocal/lyrical masters of his generation at the present moment. At only 52 minutes this album really left me wanting more. Truly amazing, this has completely blown MCR out of the water and into the stratosphere I just hope they go on to be bigger and better. This has eclypsed Bullets and Three Cheers combined, now we can only wait for the next chapter Gerard Way has to be one of the best vocal/lyrical masters of his generation at the present moment. At only 52 minutes this album really left me wanting more. Truly amazing, this has completely blown MCR out of the water and into the stratosphere I just hope they go on to be bigger and better. This has eclypsed Bullets and Three Cheers combined, now we can only wait for the next chapter in this amazing story of MCR. Expand
  40. DrunkenMaster
    Nov 2, 2006
    0
    If this album is the "soundtrack to your life" you should kill yourself. NOW.
  41. justind
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Welcome to the black paraide( cant spell) rocks
  42. JeffG
    Nov 28, 2006
    0
    Whiny- Ass Emo Bitch Music!!!
  43. AngelaR
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    HEy wats up people!!!!!!! this ablum is truly one of the highly most best ablum of the years i hope it stays like that all of those fag bands like panic@thedisco and others sorry dont like panic MCR kicks ass. so fu** off haters
  44. NickM
    Nov 6, 2006
    3
    Over produced and underthought. MCR hyped up this album in their interviews and from the title it sounded like it would be a darker album, a heavier album. I tried to sit through at least one of the songs but couldn't due to poor guitar tone and seemingly half ass musical compositions.
  45. PerspicaciousCritic
    Nov 7, 2006
    2
    I agree with All Music Guide that
  46. darryr
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    like all the songs
  47. ...
    Dec 2, 2006
    8
    then why the HELL are you listenin to it!!!!
  48. ArielleH
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Download: House of Wolves you better run like the devel cuz theyre never gonna leave you alone...
  49. TandyR
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Its so good!
  50. JoshuaR
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Undeniably a solid piece of rock from the continuously slandered band MCR. Call them emo, call them what you will, but this album will disprove it all. They're not whining anymore, they're not talking about a suicide in a happy manner (though Headfirst for Halos is a funny song for that reason). A rock-opera concept album about the death of a young man in his hospital bed, both Undeniably a solid piece of rock from the continuously slandered band MCR. Call them emo, call them what you will, but this album will disprove it all. They're not whining anymore, they're not talking about a suicide in a happy manner (though Headfirst for Halos is a funny song for that reason). A rock-opera concept album about the death of a young man in his hospital bed, both tragic and attention grabbing, starting off with the Pink Floyd's The Wall inspired "The End" ending at the big chorused grand finale "Famous Last Words". Every track will only make you love this band more. Incoporating everything from their signature rock on "Dead" , "House of Wolves" or "This Is How I Disappear" to the lighter songs like "Cancer" (their first piano and drums only song) or the current single "Welcome to the Black Parade" (starting off slow with the intro that basically anybody who listens to radio knows by now escalating into a full out rock song influences of Green Day in some parts complete with horns backing in final climatic chorus) and the slower "Disenchanted". The only way to hate this album, would be to hate anything that people have related in any way shape or form with emo, which in itself is retarded due to the fact that emo means simply emotional, and what music isn't emotional. The only music that isn't emotional is the coporate rock music manufactured in it's entirety to sell big, and this band is completely true to their selves. Expand
  51. DaywalkerB
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    This album is perhaps the best alt-rock album in the last 8 years!
  52. ToddW
    Oct 24, 2006
    3
    AFI, HiM, Angels and Airwaves, My Chemical Romance, et al. Don't any of these Maybelline model cross-dressing wanna-be's have anything remotely interesting to say? Nope. MCR's costumery is vaguely amusing, sort of a cross between a Tim Burton character and an X-ray, but their music is like so much of the other "darkness" being foister upon us by these Alice Cooper and Ozzy AFI, HiM, Angels and Airwaves, My Chemical Romance, et al. Don't any of these Maybelline model cross-dressing wanna-be's have anything remotely interesting to say? Nope. MCR's costumery is vaguely amusing, sort of a cross between a Tim Burton character and an X-ray, but their music is like so much of the other "darkness" being foister upon us by these Alice Cooper and Ozzy Osbourne clones. It lacks originality and spontaneity. Three power chords and a shriek. Didn't Def Leppard do something similar? And much better? My three teenage boys love this, um, music. I prefer to reach for Mastodon or my ear plugs, I don't remember which. Expand
  53. yulia
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    best album
  54. JohnD
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    It's likeable and fun. Doesn't deserve a 9, nor does it deserve a 2.
  55. steve
    Oct 25, 2006
    0
    Well said, Todd W. It's amazing, how derivative, uninventive and plain boring pop music has become. By all appearences, today's youth hasn't got one original idea musically, and doesn't call for one either. Pitiful pretension all over the place, the single authentic message being: "I'm a product, buy me, I'm just as dumb as you. "
  56. FrankT
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I don't want to like MCR, and I've never been moved to listen to them, but I gave "Welcome to the Black Parade" a spin and was floored. Bought the record and it's really impressive. Just a GREAT album.
  57. EnriqueR
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Wow! An excellent album by My Chemical Romance! It's pure rock n roll from the first to the last song! It must be the best record of the year for sure...and Liza Minelli sings on "Mama"! No more words... Simply great...
  58. DubyaU
    Oct 25, 2006
    0
    Want artsy and exciting music with high pitch vocals and screamies? Stick to the Blood Brothers, this rubbish is nothing but a new CD for the kiddies to pick up cause it's "cool." The can posture and look as odd as they like, but they aren't good enough to back it up musically.
  59. JesseS
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    What a surprise--I barely noticed this band before. Exhileratingly creepy. Negative reviews tend to snub theatricality. Like there's something very uncool about it. Maybe there is.
  60. DeanL
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    This is the album Green Day SHOULD have made...
  61. nickc
    Dec 6, 2006
    1
    Generic pop-screamo. Copletely unlistenable, regurgitated grabage. Why one would suffer to listen to this agonizingly empty vapid band is quite beyond me. Ridiculous overproduction and Pro-Tools don't make a good album. A bad singer with auto-tune is still a bad singer. Scream/sing/scream/sing= Lame/Lame. Listen to the Used or the Killers for more of the same.
  62. Joel
    Oct 26, 2006
    1
    Nothing new here, mall punk with annoying Queen style rock.
  63. CollieF
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    very good disc. i am still baffled why people call them emo.
  64. JoeM
    Oct 28, 2006
    4
    Call it their American Idiot if you like but that was a hugely over-rated waste of time as well. For all the effort that goes into costume, make up and image - the music and lyrics are hollow and overly dramatic. At one point I thought this band had a little potential. This album suggests otherwise.
  65. VivienneM
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Rock out with all the grandness of the 70's mixed with the emotional remedy of the best of what this millennium has yet to offer. The Black Parade is an amazing piece of work by musicians who admittedly borrowed from some of the greatest of all time, and mixed that with enough of My Chemical Romance (anthem anyone?) to give us one of the best albums of 2006. It is fun, well written, Rock out with all the grandness of the 70's mixed with the emotional remedy of the best of what this millennium has yet to offer. The Black Parade is an amazing piece of work by musicians who admittedly borrowed from some of the greatest of all time, and mixed that with enough of My Chemical Romance (anthem anyone?) to give us one of the best albums of 2006. It is fun, well written, perfromed and produced. Expand
  66. PeteS
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    Not as good as "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge", but still a great album once it gets stuck in your head. Best tracks: "How I Disappear" and "House of Wolves".
  67. RyanG
    Jan 2, 2007
    8
    When I was at Hot Topic, I really had low hopes for this album due to the other ones. To my suprise, I was suprised! I enjoyed ALMOST every song, except House of Wolves
  68. ShainaB
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    The Black Parade is a great CD! I love how there is a story told throughout the CD. I can listen to the CD all day!
  69. bettys
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    this was the best album of 2006!!!
  70. KellyM
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    At first I didn't want to listen to the album because of how much they have changed since bullets but after I actually convinced myself to do so I was at one relieved. This cd is extremely well crafted, great guitars, gerads voice has gotten much better. This whole album is about death and teaches us not to be afraid of it, that it is a natural part of life and we should enjoy it At first I didn't want to listen to the album because of how much they have changed since bullets but after I actually convinced myself to do so I was at one relieved. This cd is extremely well crafted, great guitars, gerads voice has gotten much better. This whole album is about death and teaches us not to be afraid of it, that it is a natural part of life and we should enjoy it while we have it. We shouldn't count the days we have left because that's no way to live, we should just go and have the best fucking time we can. Expand
  71. SelC
    Jan 4, 2007
    8
    I love this album but i think they aren't as good as they used to be and their introductions are way to long. Most of the tracks are all good though i love 'Teenagers' and 'The sharpest lives'.
  72. DanielR
    Jan 9, 2007
    4
    really wish they'd put out something more like their debut 'bullets'... this album has a real generic feel to it, recycling what's been and gone. Still admire the band tho...
  73. RachelG
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Better than American Idiot by Green Day, more intelligent than Fallout Boy, MCR takes you on a nostalgic epic ride, saluting the rock legends of old, while maintaining a fresh, punk originality that could only be done by the death-obsessed New Jersey boys. Gerard Way sounds awesome, the lyrics and themes are poignant, thought-provoking and edgy. Listen especially to "Dead!" for the catchy Better than American Idiot by Green Day, more intelligent than Fallout Boy, MCR takes you on a nostalgic epic ride, saluting the rock legends of old, while maintaining a fresh, punk originality that could only be done by the death-obsessed New Jersey boys. Gerard Way sounds awesome, the lyrics and themes are poignant, thought-provoking and edgy. Listen especially to "Dead!" for the catchy infectious lalalas, "Mama" for some crazy twists such as Liza Minelli's cameo, and Famous Last Words for the much needed positivity on the album--"I am not afraid to keep on living." Who said they were emo? Expand
  74. SethV
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Favorite album of 2006.
  75. theredonesmakemeflyandtheblueonesmakemefall
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    brilliant though not as gr8 as their previous albums wich r both 10s
  76. HeatherB
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    I love this album, not as much as their 1st..but its brilliant. Gerards voice is amazing, everything about MCR works perfectly.
  77. whatever
    Jun 11, 2007
    0
    The Observer review says all. Unimaginative, uncreative and plain boring. The world didn't need a band covering/riping-off "The Wall" or "Sgt. Pepper's" for the millionth time... specially one with annoying emo kids... PS: Stop tagging this as alternative rock!!!
  78. a.l.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    i love them im a new fan but it brings me tears how much they've changed. i love the morbid lyrics and wild instrimentals of three cheers and bullets. not even kidding im tearing. but tBP is great too. I WILL OVE MCR TO THE END in my last dying breath ill be singing one of their songs.
  79. TAUWANTPE
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    GOOD album
  80. DavidA
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great album it has so much in it. Songs I Recommend: The Sharpest Lives Dead! Welcome To The Black Parade (one of the best) I Don't Love You This Is How I Disappear Mama Cancer Teenagers Famous Last Words Blood these are all great songs, now go buy the album
  81. seanf
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Im sick of people trying to compare My chem to classic bands. rate the album for hwat it is...from the into and Dead, a tale is told of life and death. Admittedly, some of the musical performances on the later tracks lack the passion found in "three cheers for sweet revenge (particularly on hang em hig, and i never told you what i did for a living, or even you know what they do to guys Im sick of people trying to compare My chem to classic bands. rate the album for hwat it is...from the into and Dead, a tale is told of life and death. Admittedly, some of the musical performances on the later tracks lack the passion found in "three cheers for sweet revenge (particularly on hang em hig, and i never told you what i did for a living, or even you know what they do to guys like us in prison), but by creating a melodic and overall satisfying album, my chem achieves greatness with the black parade. This album is within my top 50 favorites of all time. Expand
  82. PJ
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Prior to the "Black Parade" single, I had never even heard of My Chemical Romance. Since that early morning last fall I have certainly became a fan. I spent years in choirs and taking voice lessons so I can honestly say that Gerard Way's vocals are exceptional; his use of dissenent chords and the riffs in his voice (highlighted in "I Don't Love You) make the album a masterpiece. Prior to the "Black Parade" single, I had never even heard of My Chemical Romance. Since that early morning last fall I have certainly became a fan. I spent years in choirs and taking voice lessons so I can honestly say that Gerard Way's vocals are exceptional; his use of dissenent chords and the riffs in his voice (highlighted in "I Don't Love You) make the album a masterpiece. I have since listened to many other MCR songs and found that the band is pure genius within this genre of music. Expand
  83. TaraJ
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Magical. Of course, this might not be someone's cup of tea.
  84. rotten777
    Mar 10, 2008
    1
    Pathetic fashion rock playing to the minds of young teens and guys who think its ok to wear makeup. Songwriting is terrible. The execution is terrible and typical of something you'd see on MTV.
  85. frankieb
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    This album is one of the best i have ever heard. My Chemical Romance continue to make amazing music with 'The Black Parade' album.
  86. mukoron
    Nov 14, 2006
    1
    suxk!!
  87. Alliec
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Such an amazing record, each song has such meaning behind it, it's empowering and opens your eyes to such things. A Great listen for those long bus rides, gives you a chance to think about each song.
  88. ErikaC
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    The Black Parade is the best of bolth bullets and revenge. This album stands out because, the lyrics are somewhat gloomy while still making the person who is listing to it feel optimistic. The amazing instrumental in the songs are marvelous, mixed with the vocals it is one of their most amazing albums ever.
  89. LauraF
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I love My Chemical Romance. Especially The Black Parade
  90. EllieG
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    A genius CD, with undertones of Pink Floyd and Queen. Every song tells part of the story. Addicting and haunting, a must-buy.
  91. junib
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    woow the best album ever (ups i m my chemadict)
  92. RandyM
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    The Black Parade is simply a great album, and prove's to be MCR's best to date. The lyrics are empowering and wonderful. Definetely worth checking out.
  93. Mr.Hankey
    Nov 4, 2006
    5
    Not very good... Definitely overrated but that's emo/ punk-pop for ya!
  94. andreao
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    the best album of the year my chemical romance rocks
  95. Kevin
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    One of the few albums that ill listen to every song and not skip through. No trash all good songs
  96. Nib
    Nov 8, 2006
    0
    "The Black Parade" is one of the worst songs i've ever heard!!!! It can't decide what song it wants to be and spends 3 minutes changing it's mind. It starts off as a poor Green Day, changes into a second rate Blink 182, then switches to an awful Queen tribute band. At one point it seems the songs speeds up so much, the lead singer Gerard Way-overated, seems to struggle to "The Black Parade" is one of the worst songs i've ever heard!!!! It can't decide what song it wants to be and spends 3 minutes changing it's mind. It starts off as a poor Green Day, changes into a second rate Blink 182, then switches to an awful Queen tribute band. At one point it seems the songs speeds up so much, the lead singer Gerard Way-overated, seems to struggle to catch up like a drunk 14 year old a karaoke contest. This band are appaling and the sooner the radio stations take them off their playlists and we forget about them the better. Expand
  97. billym
    Nov 9, 2006
    2
    this record sucks. anyone born before 1990 should pretty much understand that. if you want something like this, try green day or something, they're at least not so total douche whiny puss styles.....it's kinda like if you had some cheeseball metal singer from the 80s totally scream-complaining about stuff and posing down with like Everclear as the super sweet back up band. or something.
  98. ra'quaylec
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    God!! you are all idiots if you can't see that mcr is oh so fucking real than you are a fucking dumbass and need to get your fucking brains checked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  99. JohnnyT
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    I don't get it. I saw these guys play in a garage two years ago and a year later they're number one on TRL. We've all seen where this goes. The Baha Men, anyone? But instead of retiring to the used bin like the boys from Jamaica, MCR somehow still get people to buy into this crap.
  100. Fred
    Dec 14, 2006
    0
    this album was such a huge letdown, the singing is soooo boring and most of the tunes are iritating, this album will never touch the awsomeness of MCRs"I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love" P.S i dident say all that cuase i dont like emo music, cuase i do... but this album is awful
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The most bonkers album of the year, but one of the best.
  2. The Black Parade is MCR's whole raison d'etre rolled up into one mega-decibel calling card. [Nov 2006, p.179]
  3. 90
    They've created the Sgt. Pepper of screamo.