• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 575 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 575

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jen
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    The first thing I thought of when I finished listening to this album was, so this is what Marilyn Manson would sound like if he was playing at the mall. Sure, there are some catchy tunes here. And these guys aren't all whiny like most of the bands adolescent boys are into these days, they actually have a bit of a sense of humor and fun. But they are most certainly Manson-lite.
  2. JoeM
    Oct 28, 2006
    4
    Call it their American Idiot if you like but that was a hugely over-rated waste of time as well. For all the effort that goes into costume, make up and image - the music and lyrics are hollow and overly dramatic. At one point I thought this band had a little potential. This album suggests otherwise.
  3. DanielR
    Jan 9, 2007
    4
    really wish they'd put out something more like their debut 'bullets'... this album has a real generic feel to it, recycling what's been and gone. Still admire the band tho...
  4. Mr.Hankey
    Nov 4, 2006
    5
    Not very good... Definitely overrated but that's emo/ punk-pop for ya!
  5. Lou
    Dec 5, 2006
    4
    Anyone else think these guys sound like Styx meets Dashboard Confessional?? Its Arena meets Emo. I dub this new genre - Arenamo!!
  6. JulesE
    Oct 25, 2006
    4
    Just what we needed - meatloaf meets green day. I read an interview with MCR and they namedropped Rocky Horror as major influence - now if only they had more Dr Franfenfurter and less meatloaf...either way the whole 'new generational music' tag from Los Angeles Times is laughable or perhaps just sad
  7. DanielM
    Oct 25, 2006
    6
    It is very disturbing that this got a better review than Mastodon's Blood Mountain. Not bad, but certainly not as good as its rating suggests
  8. NickS
    Dec 6, 2006
    6
    MCR has definitley proven themselves as musicians, I really cant compare this album to the first one. First one in my opinion blows it away. A lot of good songs on this album, but not a hit album, they might get 2 singles out of this one.
  9. AnthonyV
    Oct 28, 2006
    5
    Jamie Hogdson of the Observer seems to be the only person whose review has the guts to out this album for what it truly is. IT'S NOT THAT GOOD, PEOPLE. The songs are merely serviceable and the performances sound like every other God-forsaken whiney emo-boi-band on the planet. Don't believe the hype. Unless you can tolerate the cookie-cutter big-budget production and the Jamie Hogdson of the Observer seems to be the only person whose review has the guts to out this album for what it truly is. IT'S NOT THAT GOOD, PEOPLE. The songs are merely serviceable and the performances sound like every other God-forsaken whiney emo-boi-band on the planet. Don't believe the hype. Unless you can tolerate the cookie-cutter big-budget production and the every-emo-band-and-their-grandmother performances, you won't want to listen to this album more than once. Expand
  10. AllistairP
    Oct 31, 2006
    5
    Don't be fooled by all the "it trancendes TRL shit and is true art" because It straight up isn't. I loved thier debut when it came out (haven't listened to it in a while, so might not anymore). Their sophmore album was a complete cope out. While their debut seemed to side step the horrible linear songwriting and bubblegum production, they became exactly those things with Don't be fooled by all the "it trancendes TRL shit and is true art" because It straight up isn't. I loved thier debut when it came out (haven't listened to it in a while, so might not anymore). Their sophmore album was a complete cope out. While their debut seemed to side step the horrible linear songwriting and bubblegum production, they became exactly those things with thier 2nd album. Now they just prettied it up and use all kind of dull tricks to try to make a song that sounds like every other one of their songs a little different. Just junk, and they honestly coulda been great. Expand
  11. eduardom
    Nov 2, 2006
    4
    Their debut album in 2002 was a true emo-core album, I loved the dark wicked lyrics. Their second album got a little pop but was still a great album. The Black Parade, is as too pop, too polished to squeaky clean. They lost their their goth-style screamo sound and turned it to straight pop. I think Ill go back and listen to " I brought you my BUllets You brought me your LOve
  12. matteof
    Dec 12, 2006
    5
    every song sounds exactly the same. the record is overproduced. there are too many back-up screams: they are supposed to keep the attention awake, but they only hurt my ears. for those who don't want to get into the album, here goes the description: fourteen times I'm Not Ok, with a redundant background orchestra, some kind of plot (not to care too much about anyway), supposedly every song sounds exactly the same. the record is overproduced. there are too many back-up screams: they are supposed to keep the attention awake, but they only hurt my ears. for those who don't want to get into the album, here goes the description: fourteen times I'm Not Ok, with a redundant background orchestra, some kind of plot (not to care too much about anyway), supposedly "grown up" lyrics. this is some pretentious, self indulgent crap. never trust a band that relies too much on costumes and coreographies. Expand
  13. ChrisC
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    MCR SUCKS!!!! That I agree with fullheartedly but I still think that a lot of you wise ass Gen Xers are being unfair to this band and especially to Gerard Way. He is a confused, marginally talented but highly intelligent and passionate young man and he needs constructive criticism rather than abuse. Some of the lyrics on this record are beautiful, even heart wrenching. But the vocals are MCR SUCKS!!!! That I agree with fullheartedly but I still think that a lot of you wise ass Gen Xers are being unfair to this band and especially to Gerard Way. He is a confused, marginally talented but highly intelligent and passionate young man and he needs constructive criticism rather than abuse. Some of the lyrics on this record are beautiful, even heart wrenching. But the vocals are wretched, whiny, and unoriginal around 90% of the time. And the songs are too poorly organized and hastily thrown together. This is the most pathetic attempt at a concept album since Ben Folds tried to create one but I hate to be coldly judgmental of someone who writes what at rare moments is some truly good poetry. But yes, he's a douche. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The most bonkers album of the year, but one of the best.
  2. The Black Parade is MCR's whole raison d'etre rolled up into one mega-decibel calling card. [Nov 2006, p.179]
  3. 90
    They've created the Sgt. Pepper of screamo.