The Black Parade - My Chemical Romance
The Black Parade Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This highly-anticipated and highly-theatrical concept album follow's the New Jersey band's 2004 breakthrough hit 'Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. For the first time in what seems like a long time, here is an album that is going to be deservedly huge.
  2. What makes "The Black Parade" so exciting isn't anything rock is quite used to.... My Chemical Romance expresses the next generation's quest by redrawing the boundaries of reality itself.
  3. 90
    They've created the Sgt. Pepper of screamo.
  4. It's a compelling record in the same way as Green Day's "American Idiot" was: Each shows a band pushing itself to grow, and succeeding far more than anyone could have reasonably expected.
  5. 80
    It's a savage, heartfelt, at times hilarious goth-mosh emopera. [Nov 2006, p.95]
  6. They've succeeded at making a good big-dumb-rock record, but you get the sense they didn't mean for it to be quite this dumb.
  7. It reeks of a band with ideas above their station.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 240
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Every song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probably isn't the most inclusive album but I think anyone can appreciate "Welcome To The Black Parade", "Famous Last Words", "I Don't Love You", "Teenagers" and "The Sharpest Lives". Buying this album is definitely a risk worth taking! Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    One of the characteristics of MCR is that in every job evolving their sound and theme and this work definitely proves that this band has great power in the music.
    First of all, clarify that this work, for me, does not exceed the greatness of the previous album 'Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge' because I feel more emotional and melodic, but The Black Parade is a unique blend of styles and quality, containing topics literally for everyone. Surely listening after listening, you will be able to go all tastes squeezing this cd from a group that has been getting a major impact far and wide across the planet and surely still have much to offer job after job. Do not miss out.
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The best album i've seen. The lyrics, rythm, voice, guitar solos, etc... all in this album is perfect. Amazing. Pure genius.[2]
    Three Cheers
    for Sweet Revange is good, but The Black Parade is the best album of My Chemical Romance. Expand
  4. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is the most outstanding album I own and that I have ever heard. This is MCR's finest effort. Every single song on this album is incredible, deep, thoughtful, masterful and magical. This is the album against which I compare all others. If I was stuck on a desert island and could only have one CD, The Black Parade would be my choice. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    I usually don't like writing these, but I feel the need with this album. It is so underrated and written off as a lot less than it actually is. It may not be revolutionary or filled with brand new ideas, but the songs range from the enjoyable ("Mama," Teenagers"), to the good ("This is How I Disappear," :I Don't Love you") to the excellent ("Welcome to the Black Parade". "Disenchanted," "Sleep," "Famous Last Words") It's an excellent album with only a couple weaknesses. Definitely worth your attention. Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    9
    Great album. Darker than Three Cheers, this album contains tracks that have overall better production (Famous last words, Mama, the Sharpest lives). The album is a blast to listen to and has (8 years later) still is as great and as relevant as when it came out. As a side note, to the critic who wrote "It reeks of a band with ideas above its station." Music isn't a class system. No band has a "station". You reek of a critic with criticisms above your station. When you write an album and sell over 2,000,000 copies, you can come back and give your dumb opinions. Until then, stop giving criticisms above your "station." Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    A definite guilty pleasure of mine. This was MCR's "conceptual" album, and honestly, I thought it was brought out nicely. A nice blend of happiness and melancholy makes this a great album. Way to go. Expand

See all 240 User Reviews