• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil, Pt. 1 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released on the same day (and also as a three-disc set), The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 1, 2, or 3 are E-40's 15th, 16th, and 17th albums. The first volume features guest appeances from such artists as 2 Chainz, B-Legit, Juicy J, Richie Rich, Raheem DeVaughn, and E-40's son, Droop-E.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    The Block Brochure, ponderous though it may be, is curated carefully and put together in a way that will actually hold up over time.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    The production on The Block Brochure series roams a little wider and farther than the Revenue Retrievin series did, which helps when approaching such a seemingly undigestible block of music.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    E-40's best songs find common ground between the blunt bombast of late-'80s hardcore rap and the clapping repetition of modern club rap (an overlap that usually involves overheating drum machines and occasionally some sirens), and the first album taps that sweet spot for all its worth.
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    You've got good set track by track, but compared to his Revenue Retrievin' onslaught, which was sorted into thematic sets (Day, Night, etc.), these unwieldy Block Brochures come off as a hyphy data dump, leaving all executive production up to the listener.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    Ultimately the first edition of The Block Brochure is almost exactly what one could expect from an E-40 album, and if you already knew his steelo going in that's good news.
  6. 70
    The Block Brochure is a daunting proposition and quite simply a difficult amount of music to process. This is unfortunate, though, given the sheer number and variety of gems strewn throughout.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 13, 2012
    "The Block Brochure" is a series of three CDs simultaneously released by rapper E-40. The trilogy is more than three hours of solid music in"The Block Brochure" is a series of three CDs simultaneously released by rapper E-40. The trilogy is more than three hours of solid music in various forms and styles - from gangsta rap by hip hop and west coast combined with electronic samples. Each of the discs contain up to 18 compositions on which appear artists such as: Richie Rich, Twista, T-Pain or Snoop Dogg. It's really hard to pick up some of the songs that are particularly distinctive, as all are on a really high level. For fans of the above mentioned genres, a must-have. Expand