The Blueprint 2: The Gift & the Curse

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 82
  2. Negative: 9 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dontezg
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    i liked the album alot matter of fact i liked every album by jay-z cuase he's my favorite rapper.
  2. DonC
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    This album is the sh*t no one can hold Jigga thats the truth and when I come out aint no one gonna hold me Holla!
  3. BdezzyLewis
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Stay 100% hater proff da albumb is hard and yall niggaz know it!!
  4. mikes
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    Brilliant! Jay-Z goes everywhere and if you read the various reviews, someone is always pleased. He experimented and it worked. But you cannot please everyone, therefore, one's diamond is another's coal. It's aaight Jay, I love it all.
  5. ErikD
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    This is his best by far
  6. NigelF
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    That nigga jay-z done did it again, this alnum is outa this world, theres something for everyone, the greatest flows i've eva heard. he has always been the king, and he will always be. nas is Sh@t compared to jigga. HOVA 4 EVA BABY, YEAH, JAMAICAN'S SAY DAT.
  7. derekp
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    this album is off the hook and jigga can't be fazed!
  8. AHink
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    People are always hatin on jigga but he doesn't make horrible music at all he is on another level but y'all aint feelin' him
  9. rico
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This album is absolute genius. One of his best since Reasonable Doubt. From dance tracks(the Bounce), to hype tracks(You Don't Know 2), to deep tracks(Meet The Parents,Ballad For The Fallen Soldiers). Those who don't think so dont know great music.
  10. MoisesB
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    Is great MUSIC ABOUT TIME!!! Something that's different into another level...
  11. TBut
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Amazing simply amazing.... How incredible....from "some people hate" to "bluprint2" an overall great album
  12. KamalJ
    May 8, 2003
    9
    This album is hott as hell. It may not be as good as Blueprint, but I say give credit where credit is due.
  13. trevorm
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    good album a few unsoulfull songs
  14. BrandonE
    Nov 26, 2002
    9
    If you thought the original Blueprint was tight, you better check this one out. Jay-Z still rollin and writin'.
  15. JohnD
    Dec 5, 2002
    9
    It's a very good slbum just like his other albums, and Nas ain't got nothing on him.
  16. BobC
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    H O V A I got my mojo back baby oh behave
  17. glik
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    i like the styles on this album, nice flow. discreet but safe. mostly sik some shit.
  18. Jared
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    I enjoyed this album. Listen to the lyrics don't skim through the music.
  19. matswan
    Nov 26, 2002
    8
    at least 19 good tunes, thats very good for any album! but wud be better as 1 disc. the other songs r o.k., but the more Jigga tha better is what i say!
  20. DarrenR
    Nov 26, 2002
    8
    there are some songs that get your attention but there are songs that you have to listen to 2 really understand
  21. BrianN
    Nov 21, 2002
    8
    the reviewers dont know what theyre talking about. a 6? Not a classic like Blueprint or Reasonable Doubt but EXTREMELY solid LP.
  22. alexf
    Jan 26, 2007
    7
    jiggas lp was hot but nas album was hotter nas 4 ever: stillmatic >>>> blueprint 2
  23. JohnMurrayHill
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    When this came out - for Jay-Z fans - it was the bomb. Listening to it now, some of the tracks aren't great. That said, the second CD - the darker CD - is damn good. There are a lot of gems on here. Fans of Jay-Z will definitely find some good stuff here. Some nice Kanye West productions too.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Uncut
    40
    We've heard too much of this before. [Jan 2003, p.119]
  2. If The Blueprint proved that coming back is easy, The Blueprint 2 proves it’s difficult to stay on top.
  3. What a curse Jay-Z's ideas represent: Nearly everything about The Blueprint 2 sounds like a retread, including its title.