User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 170

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.T
    Nov 16, 2009
    5
    A Half decent effort....& a half terrible album! Has glimpse's of why we love Jay-Z & also has moments of how he can be a ignorant to the point were you think "Is this guy serous" However songs like "Thank you" "Off That" & "D.O.A" Are great & demonstrate how advanced his head is interms of creativity (When its not up his Arse) D.Tail
  2. MarcL
    Oct 1, 2009
    6
    To me Jay just seems tired .. some good tracks on it , but not as good as previous releases
  3. DerekC
    Sep 18, 2009
    6
    Jay-Z tries to too hard to be mainstream in this album. Very disappointing to following up a classic like American Gangster. Hope he goes back to his classic joints next time around.
  4. JimmyP
    Sep 12, 2009
    5
    Half of it's good, and the other half is forgettable. Hints the 5. Jay will always have some good songs, but he hasn't had a great all around album since before he retired. I'm still trying to understand Why everybody thinks that American Gangster was a Classic album. I'm sorry, my own personal opinion, Reasonable Doubt will be my favorite Jay album to listen to. Not Half of it's good, and the other half is forgettable. Hints the 5. Jay will always have some good songs, but he hasn't had a great all around album since before he retired. I'm still trying to understand Why everybody thinks that American Gangster was a Classic album. I'm sorry, my own personal opinion, Reasonable Doubt will be my favorite Jay album to listen to. Not to discredit the first Blueprint by any means...that's his second best. I just felt that this album was overhyped. Expand
  5. AnthonyP.
    Oct 15, 2009
    6
    The spark is missing. Definitely worth the spins, but it won't blow you away.
  6. kbaya
    Sep 13, 2009
    6
    The blueprint 3 is d least appreciated of all d blueprint trilogy..thou he still kept lyrical content intact as usual.thumbs up to d album
  7. DavidW
    Nov 23, 2009
    4
    The album opens up with a bang. The synth plays a hanging note, the beat is pumping and a single female vocalist sings an eerie floaty noise that sent shivers down my spine. I was hooked. The production value is top notch on this album and for that it gets a 4. Usually it takes me a couple listens to get into the lyrics and the stories of a hip hop album before I fall completely in love, The album opens up with a bang. The synth plays a hanging note, the beat is pumping and a single female vocalist sings an eerie floaty noise that sent shivers down my spine. I was hooked. The production value is top notch on this album and for that it gets a 4. Usually it takes me a couple listens to get into the lyrics and the stories of a hip hop album before I fall completely in love, but that is where blueprint 3 fails to deliver. The rhymes are boring with no depth and for the most part the lyrics don't go anywhere. Each rhyme carries the same 6/4 time signature that gets old fast. Great production, good beats that will likely take you into 4 or 5 attempts to give it a try, but boring lyrics and uninspiring vocals that will make you stop listening and throw on some Biggy to remember what great east coast rappers rhyme like with dated production value. Expand
  8. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    Over Jay-Z’s career, there’ve been a lot of fluctuations concerning the quality of his music and after listening to the first singles, I began hoping that the senior would be able to top the rap game once again. However, this is again not the case and while The Blueprint 3 is a slight step-up from the first two albums after his short musical break, it doesn’t nearly come close toOver Jay-Z’s career, there’ve been a lot of fluctuations concerning the quality of his music and after listening to the first singles, I began hoping that the senior would be able to top the rap game once again. However, this is again not the case and while The Blueprint 3 is a slight step-up from the first two albums after his short musical break, it doesn’t nearly come close to Reasonable Doubt, the original The Blueprint, or The Black Album. What Mr. Carter did do on his 11th solo album was make his music more appealing to the mass after the album’s predecessor American Gangster didn’t include one really radio-friendly song. Besides the six singles in total, The Blueprint 3 serves a couple of other catchy tunes as well in my opinion, those were Off That, Already Home, and Real as It Gets. But as I’ve experienced so often over the course of time, just because a hip hop song is catchy, it doesn’t instantly have to be good. This album is a prime example for just that and once you’ve heard the aforementioned songs a handful of times, you’ll lose interest. Granted, there are some exceptions, namely D.O.A. (one of the best beats in hip history, seriously!), A Star Is Born (J. Cole takes Eminem’s part in the unofficial sequel to Renegade), Run the World (Jay and Kanye did good on their verses and Rihanna impressed me on the hook), Young Forever (well, mostly because of the Alphaville song that’s sampled), and Empire State of Mind (Jay-Z is so great on this one, I can even endure Alicia Keys on it). I’ve just listed a third of the songs on The Blueprint 3 and that isn’t nearly enough for an album to be good. Thus, I’m giving Jay-Z a negative rating once again, which absolutely wouldn’t have been necessary, if you just listen to the five really good tracks I’ve pointed out. For the rest though, it’s (while quoting another mediocre song on the album) On to the Next One. Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2013
    6
    This Album definitely had it's moments Empire State of mind). However, overall it was a very inconsistent album. It seems that at times, Jay Z gets annihilated, whether it's by little brother Run this town), or the next hottest thing out (drake). Only about 5 or 6 great tracks on this album, that's what saves the album.
  10. May 16, 2014
    4
    I agree with another reviewer that said that Jay-Z is on autopilot. There's very little passion in this album. The production quality of the mixing and mastering is also pretty poor. The album doesn't communicate anything. It's just generic sound. The only track that's exceptional is Empire State of Mind.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Blueprint is hip-hop as big business, and Jay retains his CEO throne.
  2. Jay overreaches, leaning too heavily on by-the-numbers production from Kanye West and Timbaland, and muffling his own voice in favor of a guest-heavy tracklist.
  3. Without its filler, this album could have been at least good, if not great. But, for better or for worse, this is what Jay wanted us to hear right now. It’s just a shame that it’s not entirely worth hearing.