User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 170

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrettC
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Loved nearly every track. A few I could do without.
  2. A.C.
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    This is not Jay-Z's best work. However, that statement should not define one's view of this album. Concisely, it is better than his last two offerings, and better than most rap offerings that have come out this year. It is neither uninspired, as some have suggested, nor should it be considered an attempt at remaking earlier albums. Appreciate what a former crack dealer sounds This is not Jay-Z's best work. However, that statement should not define one's view of this album. Concisely, it is better than his last two offerings, and better than most rap offerings that have come out this year. It is neither uninspired, as some have suggested, nor should it be considered an attempt at remaking earlier albums. Appreciate what a former crack dealer sounds like when he does not need to stay in the hood, but instead can make music from a position now open for youth to obtain. If that makes you angry, consider your perspective. And the sound of it? Enjoyable. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    "Empire State of Mind" was a great song describing new york and Jay Z's life beautifully with rythmic raps and great support from Alicia Keys. Must listen!!!
  4. DemoineO
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    HOV should retire I enjoyed the beats more than the lyrics.He is too overated go out and buy RELAPSE or BEFORE I SELF DESTRUCT to see true genius and lyrical prowess.
  5. dMusick
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    I don't know what critics hear but this album is Jay-Z on top of his game once again. It reminds of 'American Gangster' which was so eloquently laid. Awesome beats & on point samples!
  6. JaeJ
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    This album is a peace of art, from all the blueprints album i have heard this one is so far the greatest one.... Just by listening to it you can hear his pain, and how him feelings about everything.
  7. VijayV
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    The great thing about Jay-Z's new album is how he mixes styles and tones yet he still keeps his message of rap alive and well.
  8. KaranK.
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    The album is strong and so is the base. As always the lyrics are better than the music but music is also amazing. Jay-Z can never disappoint, its proven now. Tracks like Off That, Run this Town. Hate, Reminder, Venus vs. Mars and more are superb and the Death of Autotune is again a masterpiece and Jay-Z did it the fine way. Rap like him and you'll know.
  9. PetersonM
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Great album.
  10. CandaceT
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    The beats are fresh and Venus vs. Mars is my suga honey iced tea!!!
  11. seanr
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    HOV. you cannot make a comeback;when you was never gone.
  12. JoshD
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Slightly Underrated.
  13. VictorM.
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Dope album.
  14. PetersonM
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Great album.
  15. DavidL
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    I think its a great album like all his albums after listening to it twice i appreciate that its production and hooks and excellent rap timing in place I love forever young and hate and a star is born and already home empire state of mind is also a almost perfect version of new york's beauty long live HOVA.
  16. B.dotBaby
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    For all the critics that said Jay was falling off this album is proof why he is still the best rapper out right now.. He doesnt need to talk about drugs and the streets throught the whole album. his lyrics are talking about millionare ceo type of things.
  17. JeanetteR.
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    This is a really hot album. Every song is a hit.
  18. OwenB
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing album that i can play straight through. Some tracks are a bit soft but the overall sound of the album is something new and refreshing. Now a days most hip-hop sound the same and just don't stand out. This is like my 4th favorite Jay album behind The Blueprint, Reasonable Doubt, and The Black Album. Its tied with American Gangster.
  19. mpain
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    This will be added as another GREAT album to an already long list of classics albums by Jay-Z.
  20. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    So many awesome guests in his songs. One of the best albums I ever listened to.
  21. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    My favorite Jay-z album. It truly has a great style and feel. If there was ever a rapper to stand up against eminem, after hearing this album, i'd say it has to be jay-z.
  22. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    The third opus in Jigga's Blueprint franchise still has quality lyrics, great guest features and an awesome production by Timbo and Kanye to create instant classics such as Empire state of mind and Young Forever.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Blueprint is hip-hop as big business, and Jay retains his CEO throne.
  2. Jay overreaches, leaning too heavily on by-the-numbers production from Kanye West and Timbaland, and muffling his own voice in favor of a guest-heavy tracklist.
  3. Without its filler, this album could have been at least good, if not great. But, for better or for worse, this is what Jay wanted us to hear right now. It’s just a shame that it’s not entirely worth hearing.