The Blueprint

The Blueprint Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The now-legendary Brooklyn rapper follows 2000's 'The Dynasty Roc la Familia' with this 13-track disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A fully realized masterpiece.
  2. Uncut
    100
    Almost every tune sounds like a hit. [Dec 2001, p.108]
  3. Trades the chilly, futuristic minimalism of S. Carter for a warmer, more organic sound rooted in the soul and funk of the '60s and '70s
  4. While The Blueprint falls short of his debut's brilliance, it is easily the best Jay Z recording since that release.
  5. 80
    13 tracks of the kind of confident, effortless wordplay that made him a household name in the first place.
  6. The Blueprint is not a perfect album. Some of the material is undoubtedly filler. But this recording makes it clear that hip-hop is supposed to be fun -- and that Jay-Z is having a ball.
  7. But for an MC claiming to represent ''for the seat where Rosa Parks sat,'' one expects a bit more.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. D_McNorris
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    Clearly his best album of his carrer. So many great tracks over and over again. Classic Album.
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    easily one of the best rap album of the decade if not the best. personally i believe it matches the black album and reasonable doubt ineasily one of the best rap album of the decade if not the best. personally i believe it matches the black album and reasonable doubt in quality and may even outshadow them. ultimately jay z at his best Expand
  3. DjH(KouroutaRulez)Hek
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    It is truly THE MASTERPIECE of Jay-Z with Reasonable Doubt.Each Track is worth listen to,it has something for everyone.without feeling that It is truly THE MASTERPIECE of Jay-Z with Reasonable Doubt.Each Track is worth listen to,it has something for everyone.without feeling that jay-z is trying to please everyone.diss track,love tracks,club bangers,lyrical bangers...it has everything.it is and stays fochused from the beginning to the end.After so many 6-7 years since his debut he did and made an album equal to Reasonable Doubt.Neither you hate him or you like it,this shit is ill and god damn classic..With this album,having perfect beats and rhymes you cannot hate this album,neither you are an underground freek or a crunk juice groupie.hate it or love it,jigga is on top. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    truly a great album with some of the best on it like q tip and legendary producer just blaze made an all time classic! my 2nd favourite jay ztruly a great album with some of the best on it like q tip and legendary producer just blaze made an all time classic! my 2nd favourite jay z album ever! Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    this is a really great album. its my favorite. I think everybody on planet Earth should hear this album. Jay Z is a beast on it.

    Lyrics
    this is a really great album. its my favorite. I think everybody on planet Earth should hear this album. Jay Z is a beast on it.

    Lyrics 9.5/10
    production 10/10
    flow 10/10
    overall 10/10

    The Roc!!!!!!
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  7. goatman
    Mar 19, 2005
    0
    ew

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.