The Body, The Blood, The Machine

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MihaiV
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Pitchfork got it right this time. It's a kind of restrained punk, with the breakes put on, to make it more accessible. It's a unique sound.
  2. IgnatiusJ.Reilly
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    Much better and angrier than their previous efforts.
  3. Brandon
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Initially, I was left longing for the sheer hooks of "Fuckin' A". After a few listens, however, I realized just how brilliant this goddamn album is, and I haven't been able to put it down since. "An Ear for Baby" and "Back to the Sea" are among The Thermals' finest tracks.
  4. DrunkenMaster
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Superb garage rock with haunting lyrics. This is the anti-My Chemical Romance album, which is over-produced. emotionally trite garbage. If you like crap like MCR or AFI or Blink182, you should look elsewhere for your strip-mall soundtracks.
  5. KCharles
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    Brilliantly channels the anger, anxiety, and fear that the rise of the religious right and policies of the Bush administration have generated in many of us. A bit more subtle and whole lot more trenchant than Living with War, it's the protest album that Neil Young may have written if he was 30 years younger. Oh yeah, and it ROCKS!
  6. umbertop
    Oct 26, 2006
    5
    the voice is ugly. musically flat
  7. EliasK.
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    Uplifting and brash. Beat your bible.
  8. PezD
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Lacking that previous thrash appeal, but still quite lovely.
  9. JasonA
    Sep 8, 2006
    9
    Short, super catchy, intelligent biting songs. The album is over before you know it. If you've ever questioned religion then this album is for you. If you go to church every sunday then maybe you wanna listen to something else. The singer from The Thermals sounds like the singer from The Mountain Goats in my opinion. I like his voice but I could see how it may get irritating for Short, super catchy, intelligent biting songs. The album is over before you know it. If you've ever questioned religion then this album is for you. If you go to church every sunday then maybe you wanna listen to something else. The singer from The Thermals sounds like the singer from The Mountain Goats in my opinion. I like his voice but I could see how it may get irritating for some. I wasn't expecting much when I picked thi sup as I had never listened to The Thermals before but this album kicks butt! Collapse
  10. J.PaulP
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Listen to it, love it. This is the kind of album that makes everything else sound bad. It's easy to get obsessed with it and spin it over and over again. Don't miss the live show either, they will destroy you!
  11. GeorgeD
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Very good, straightforward tunes, catchy riffs, good singing.
  12. JohanS
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Thermals has made the best album so far this decade, even better than Elliott Smith, Beth Orton, TV on the Radio, Sleater-Kinney and Bright Eyes... Songs like these save lives
  13. J.
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    It's hard to imagine a better rock record than this being released all year. Just about as perfect as this kind of music can get. An essential purchase.
  14. d.d'amore
    Sep 21, 2006
    5
    I don't care how wrapped up the lyrics are in religious iconography, it's dull/boring and trite. what socio-conscious punker isn't singing this crap and the music suffers by just giving a monotonous sonic backdrop. this stuff would have been deemed par course in the mid-90s college radio scene, and should still be considered as such.
  15. JacobW.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    One of the better post punk releases in the past decade.
  16. TedH
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Definitly one of the best punk albums in recent time. Most current punk sucks or isnt really punk anymore (Green Day) , it also shows Harris's range, compare this to the Modest Mouse that he was a part of. Its catchy without being too poppy and very good lyrics
  17. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    Solid, intelligent protest punk. "A Pillar of Salt" might be one of the twenty best songs of the last decade and The Thermals manage to build a relatively solid release around it. As a side note, if you get the opportunity to see the album performed live, do so. You will not be disappointed.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The Body's story is just vague and gruesome enough to be weirdly terrifying, totally Orwellian, and grander, louder, and more electrifying than anything the Thermals have spit out before.
  2. With The Body, The Blood, The Machine the Thermals haven't made another thrilling noisy gem like More Parts Per Million, they've made an inspired and inspiring, semi-grown up indie rock record with more thought than thrills.
  3. They've slowed down the tempo a little and cleaned up the sound a lot.