The Body, The Blood, The Machine Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brendan Canty (Fugazi) produced this third album for the Oregon band, down to the duo of Hutch Harris and Kathy Foster after the departure of original drummer Jordan Hudson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It's 36 minutes of loose garage rock with massively catchy melodies sugarcoating the biting sarcasm.
  2. The Body, The Blood, The Machine is the holy grail of anti-political/anti-religion records to come out in the last seven years.
  3. The Body's story is just vague and gruesome enough to be weirdly terrifying, totally Orwellian, and grander, louder, and more electrifying than anything the Thermals have spit out before.
  4. Without sacrificing aural excitement, they have polished their approach with a refined understanding of dynamics and a broadening of style.
  5. As a whole, The Body The Blood The Machine is a bit more inconsistent than Fuckin' A, but at the same time has some of the best songs in the group's discography and some of the better arrangements [as] well.
  6. With The Body, The Blood, The Machine the Thermals haven't made another thrilling noisy gem like More Parts Per Million, they've made an inspired and inspiring, semi-grown up indie rock record with more thought than thrills.
  7. The urgency and bile are palpable. [Oct 2006, p.84]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. J.PaulP
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Listen to it, love it. This is the kind of album that makes everything else sound bad. It's easy to get obsessed with it and spin it Listen to it, love it. This is the kind of album that makes everything else sound bad. It's easy to get obsessed with it and spin it over and over again. Don't miss the live show either, they will destroy you! Expand
  2. J.
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    It's hard to imagine a better rock record than this being released all year. Just about as perfect as this kind of music can get. An It's hard to imagine a better rock record than this being released all year. Just about as perfect as this kind of music can get. An essential purchase. Expand
  3. JohanS
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Thermals has made the best album so far this decade, even better than Elliott Smith, Beth Orton, TV on the Radio, Sleater-Kinney and Bright Thermals has made the best album so far this decade, even better than Elliott Smith, Beth Orton, TV on the Radio, Sleater-Kinney and Bright Eyes... Songs like these save lives Expand
  4. MihaiV
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Pitchfork got it right this time. It's a kind of restrained punk, with the breakes put on, to make it more accessible. It's a unique sound.
  5. Brandon
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Initially, I was left longing for the sheer hooks of "Fuckin' A". After a few listens, however, I realized just how brilliant this Initially, I was left longing for the sheer hooks of "Fuckin' A". After a few listens, however, I realized just how brilliant this goddamn album is, and I haven't been able to put it down since. "An Ear for Baby" and "Back to the Sea" are among The Thermals' finest tracks. Expand
  6. JasonA
    Sep 8, 2006
    9
    Short, super catchy, intelligent biting songs. The album is over before you know it. If you've ever questioned religion then this album Short, super catchy, intelligent biting songs. The album is over before you know it. If you've ever questioned religion then this album is for you. If you go to church every sunday then maybe you wanna listen to something else. The singer from The Thermals sounds like the singer from The Mountain Goats in my opinion. I like his voice but I could see how it may get irritating for some. I wasn't expecting much when I picked thi sup as I had never listened to The Thermals before but this album kicks butt! Expand
  7. d.d'amore
    Sep 21, 2006
    5
    I don't care how wrapped up the lyrics are in religious iconography, it's dull/boring and trite. what socio-conscious punker I don't care how wrapped up the lyrics are in religious iconography, it's dull/boring and trite. what socio-conscious punker isn't singing this crap and the music suffers by just giving a monotonous sonic backdrop. this stuff would have been deemed par course in the mid-90s college radio scene, and should still be considered as such. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews