The Boy Who Knew Too Much

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Leon
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Perfect, brilliant, masterpiece !
  2. AM
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    Beautiful, amazing, fabulous
  3. Andrew
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable pop album! Once again MIKA shows us exactly what pop should be!
  4. lauraz.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing album! a master piece for sure... touches you will be a hit!!
  5. MelanieM.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    I think it is the perfect follow up. Mika's music is layred with double meanings and joyful sound . I wish there was more pop music like this out there.
  6. kodes100T.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    TBWKTM is a Brilliant album! Mika is on fire! Kudos Mika!
  7. DaraH.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    Good Gone Girl, Touches You, Dr. John, We Are Golden, Blame It on The Girls and RAIN! singles please.
  8. benc.
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    It's definitely album of the year. So original.
  9. johnj.
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    The most beautiful I've listened to ever.
  10. MarilynM.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    The Boy Who Knew too Much is even better than Mika's debut Life In Cartoon Motion, and I can't wait for people to stop comparing him to Freddie, Elton or anyone else, and realise how special MIKA himself is!
  11. JF.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Mika is truly a genius, and anyone who says this isn't an excellent sophomore attempt is insane, because this album is just pure genius! It just flows so beautifully, through a technicolor journey of sound! Mika outshines himself on many of the tracks, showing he is just not some one hit wonder! We will be hearing a lot more of Mika, in the years to come, and I couldn't be Mika is truly a genius, and anyone who says this isn't an excellent sophomore attempt is insane, because this album is just pure genius! It just flows so beautifully, through a technicolor journey of sound! Mika outshines himself on many of the tracks, showing he is just not some one hit wonder! We will be hearing a lot more of Mika, in the years to come, and I couldn't be happier! Mika reminds me of some of Pops greatest! This is an excellent album, don't let the haters distract you from the genius of this album, because it truly is great! Expand
  12. May 4, 2013
    7
    Overall this is a good album. It starts well with songs such as 'We are Golden' and 'Blame it on the Girls' catching on quickly. However the album slowly goes down hill with the songs getting, in my opinion, less catchy and a bit boring the further you go down the album.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Anyone who liked "Life in Cartoon Motion's" bright, brash approach won't be disappointed by The Boy Who Knew Too Much--it's clear Mika knows exactly what he's doing.
  2. It's a Technicolor pop explosion designed for throwing your jazz hands into the air.
  3. Like its predecessor, The Boy Who Knew Too Much is an eclectic work, lurching between exuberant pop, vaudevillian knees-ups, disco and sombre ballads. Mika would probably describe the album as 'kaleidoscopic', but it can come across as scattershot and unfocused.