The Boy With No Name

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 8, 2007
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2013
    9
    travis is always great band!!!!!!!!!!! it's shame that they are not known like coldplay or radiohead but the actually they're of free bands who prefer artistry rather than sales and fame..........
  2. MatthewB
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Their best album since The Man Who. If there is any justice in the world of pop music, "Selfish Jean" will be a gigantic hit.
  3. tom
    May 10, 2007
    8
    good song
  4. HangonS
    May 9, 2007
    9
    That Guardian reviewer needs to get a life. Calling any of Travis' music "soulless" needs to get their head checked. And Healy's voice is hardly "girlish". Is Thom Yorke's voice girlish? Jeff Buckley? Um, Neil Young? It's so painfully obvious that this guy is trying to pad his reviewer "street cred" by bashing an excellent album by a great band. Oh well, you know that That Guardian reviewer needs to get a life. Calling any of Travis' music "soulless" needs to get their head checked. And Healy's voice is hardly "girlish". Is Thom Yorke's voice girlish? Jeff Buckley? Um, Neil Young? It's so painfully obvious that this guy is trying to pad his reviewer "street cred" by bashing an excellent album by a great band. Oh well, you know that he's listening to it right now...he only "hates" it to appear "cool". Since when is it bad to just enjoy music as good as this? Expand
  5. AhsanM
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    I love Travis's music and they have done a great job with this album. I am throughly dissappointed with the music critics though - they are complete out of syn with what people what to hear. Everyone who has listened to it - feels the same way - essentially its a great album, I highly recommend it.
  6. AmurabiM.
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    This is just what we expect from Travis: supermarket music. The kind of boring, sweet, melodious and sometimes desperating songs of love and alienation. No more and no less.
  7. EddieG
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This is definitely not news to me. Critics with no sense of feel for greatness when they hear it, dismissing a great album as middle of the road. It's happened many times before. This album is a departure from their previous albums but with a hint of what made The Man Who such a great album. Song craft. Travis is undeniably back with their best in years.
  8. RonM
    May 11, 2007
    9
    Great song after great song. I think they are capable of being a bit more creative but here they follow a recipe they created and mastered and it works. How many bands do you listen to and go "boy, I wish they could sound like they used to" ? This album does sound like Travis of past almost to a fault but it's enjoyable nonetheless.
  9. PetteriK
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Screw the critics, scores like 1 & 2 out of 5 belong to REALLY bad bands like All American Rejects, My Chemical Romance and other obnoxious emo music & "artists" like Britney Spears. I really don't understand how anyone could give this CD lower than 3 out of 5 (and even then, that's from a person that might not even like Travis' music) :| This is THE best album Travis has Screw the critics, scores like 1 & 2 out of 5 belong to REALLY bad bands like All American Rejects, My Chemical Romance and other obnoxious emo music & "artists" like Britney Spears. I really don't understand how anyone could give this CD lower than 3 out of 5 (and even then, that's from a person that might not even like Travis' music) :| This is THE best album Travis has done, filled with great songs that have nothing to shame when compared to "Why Is It Always Raining On Me" (& other classics) like Selfish Jean, Closer, Colder, Battleships, Eyes Wide Open, My Eyes and One Night. The only song that's not particularly good is "Out In Space" (it's quite boring, in my opinion), the others are pure awesomeness made into songs. Of course if you didn't like Travis before, this probably won't change your mind, but I have a hard time coming up with reasons why Travis fans might not like the album. Yes, it sounds like Travis... But it's Travis after all. I didn't feel any dejá vu's during my numerous times I've listened the album. It's filled with great songs, so much that I have a hard time picking which one is my favorite. At some point it's My Eyes, at another it might be Selfish Jean or Battleships. Don't listen to the elitist critics, this is a superb album every Travis fan & non-hater should try out. Expand
  10. Sharona
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Amazing album! I would have given it a 10 but there's one song on there that I don't like. "Eyes Wide Open" hooked me on the first listen.
  11. Matt
    May 8, 2007
    8
    There will be critics who pan Travis no matter what album they put out. This is a solid and very enjoyable listen. Not quite as good as The Man Who or Invisible Band, but much better than their other two albums. Highly recommended.
  12. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    9
    Not a departure, but further growth of their signature sound. Not every song is brilliant, but most are beautiful. They show that Keane is just Travis-lite. BTW, the Guardian should spare us that useless review!
  13. ParveshC
    May 9, 2007
    10
    how lovely. Just a magical album that is lifted by Fran Healy's introspection and lilting vocals.
  14. LukeM
    May 9, 2007
    9
    I thought this was a fine album. Personal favorites are Big Chair and My Eyes. Like earlier albums the tunes are mellow, interesting, and occasionally beautiful. 4 stars.
  15. williamo
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    This album is like meeting an old friend after a few years and you don't want to lose him again!
  16. JoeM
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    what a great cd! i can't understand why critic dump on Travis so bad? they stay as original as when they first came out thats why the fans stay true.they do what they want and to the fans thats what they want.they don't want to be like anybody else.they want to be like Travis.i wont even compare this cd with their others .they are all great in my opinion,even 12 memories which i what a great cd! i can't understand why critic dump on Travis so bad? they stay as original as when they first came out thats why the fans stay true.they do what they want and to the fans thats what they want.they don't want to be like anybody else.they want to be like Travis.i wont even compare this cd with their others .they are all great in my opinion,even 12 memories which i really like too. Expand
  17. SteveM
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Just like other users have said - the critics have it wrong. It's a great record. It falls just short of "The Man Who" and trumps all other Travis albums in my opinion. It's great to have them back.
  18. Steve
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums ever! 4 years and it was absolutely worth the wait. Highlights include Selfish Jean, Closer, Big Chair, Colder... I could go on and on actually.
  19. GreggP
    May 10, 2007
    9
    Easily their finest album since "The Man Who". Travis is back!!!!
  20. Julian
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Travis are back! On top of thier game and obviously with a new energy after some time off. Now I remember why I thought they were of the best bands in the world. Every song stands out. Closer gets better and better with every listen. Big Chair and Selfish Jean will be big hits. Buy this.
  21. RSkelly
    May 12, 2007
    8
    i am very aware of all the apparent "flaws" of this album. it's nothing we havent heard before, its unambitious, it has safe, uninspired lyrics... but you know what? thats okay. in fact, its very okay. this is an unbelievably accessible and catchy record and its Travis getting close to the greatness that was "The Man Who". good stuff.
  22. SayanB
    May 14, 2007
    10
    The best album after The Man Who, surpassing The Invisible Band. But on consistency level, song-by-song, this album is even better than The Man Who. And seriously, that daft Guardian reviewer should be fired. The thing is, Travis will never reach the heights of fickle poularity of 1999 and 2001. They are a people's band. And their music is of that kind that haunts the mind for The best album after The Man Who, surpassing The Invisible Band. But on consistency level, song-by-song, this album is even better than The Man Who. And seriously, that daft Guardian reviewer should be fired. The thing is, Travis will never reach the heights of fickle poularity of 1999 and 2001. They are a people's band. And their music is of that kind that haunts the mind for decades. Though I wish they could've done better if a few more songs could've been out of mid-tempo, but it's OK. When it comes to songwriting, Travis are the best songwriter after Beatles. Such emotion and heartfelt lyrics is hard to come by in today's music scene. Expand
  23. matta
    May 14, 2007
    9
    I have to agree with my peers and not the critics on this one. This is not in the same league as keane, and definitely not James Blunt, as far as wimpiness goes. Yes, Fran Healy's lyrics can get alittle sentimental, but who cares? Does everyone need to be ambiguous in their topicality? It is catchy, and the production is gorgeous. easily their best since The Man Who, and their second I have to agree with my peers and not the critics on this one. This is not in the same league as keane, and definitely not James Blunt, as far as wimpiness goes. Yes, Fran Healy's lyrics can get alittle sentimental, but who cares? Does everyone need to be ambiguous in their topicality? It is catchy, and the production is gorgeous. easily their best since The Man Who, and their second best album overall. Expand
  24. KevinG
    May 14, 2007
    8
    A very good return to form from Travis. This is a band that, like CAKE, is much better when they keep to their basic formula. I would say that this album is on par with The Invisible Band, if not better. Some of the lyrics are very bad (not EVERYTHING needs to rhyme, Fran!), and New Amsterdam is possibly the worst Travis song ever, but otherwise very sweet, catchy, and it shows once again A very good return to form from Travis. This is a band that, like CAKE, is much better when they keep to their basic formula. I would say that this album is on par with The Invisible Band, if not better. Some of the lyrics are very bad (not EVERYTHING needs to rhyme, Fran!), and New Amsterdam is possibly the worst Travis song ever, but otherwise very sweet, catchy, and it shows once again why Travis influenced so many other UK bands. Expand
  25. GabrielS
    May 15, 2007
    9
    9 , the album is much more "mature" and melancholic than the others but it's still a great album (not their best but better than Good Feeling I think ) . Keep on going Travis , you are the best . Romania loves you Travis. Come sing to as too ... I like "Battleships" , "My eyes" , "One night" and "Closer" ...
  26. SteveE
    May 29, 2007
    9
    Travis doing what they do best. Ignore the critics who have a downer on this sort of music at the moment. Best offering since The Man Who. Top stuff.
  27. JenniferP
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This album is fresh with new ideas and melodies that draw you in. Not only is it one of the best Travis albums to date, it links to the melodic past Travis works while beautifully displaying their growth as a band. A+
  28. MatthewG
    May 8, 2007
    5
    Honestly, on first listen... It's their worst album Some really great songs that'll fall under the guise of all time Travis classics, but the rest is tossable, very much like paperclips on 12 memories.
  29. JasonB
    May 8, 2007
    10
    Very solid return to form after the misstep of 12 memories. Using the same formula from The Man Who and Invisible band the album sounds like an instant classic. Shows like Greys Anatomy and Scrubs will likely be jumping on this to use as an end of show montage.
  30. MarcelC
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This is a gem of an album,in my opinion their most consistent to date...getting a hammering from the critics which is unjustified...great comeback and receiving high rotation from this listener.
  31. IAlt
    Apr 21, 2007
    8
    Good album from a good band. Interesting arrangements and mixtures between pop and sad songs. Worth a listen!
  32. deegee
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    what a great band. welcome back!
  33. CarlosM
    May 13, 2007
    8
    A very good record, with solid melodies and a very controlled instrumentation to convey Healy dreamy voice. Songs like "Closer" may sound like many others songs, but that's just how they stick with you. You'll find yourself enjoying the melodies. What elsecan you ask for?
  34. NW
    May 13, 2007
    9
    This album is absolutely wonderful--never have I enjoyed any of their albums so!Travis have truly showed themselves to be amazing.Why?Because they have remained true to themselves and this is reflected in the deliberation of the beautiful music that the lead so effortlessly has us pinning over.It's so pure,so genuine,such a godsend,and I thank them for creating an album that is so This album is absolutely wonderful--never have I enjoyed any of their albums so!Travis have truly showed themselves to be amazing.Why?Because they have remained true to themselves and this is reflected in the deliberation of the beautiful music that the lead so effortlessly has us pinning over.It's so pure,so genuine,such a godsend,and I thank them for creating an album that is so obviously dedicated its fans.The last time I felt this way about an album was when 'Hopes and Fears' came out...great job! Expand
  35. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This is crazy... I did not like Travis till this album, for my taste as a musician that I am, they were good... but depressing. This album comes, (except for the first song), in a happy, optimistic, well played and inspired way. For all that say that it sounds like classic Travis believe me, it doesn't. Good mood pretty much go from Selfish Jean to New Amsterdam, they are (thank god)This is crazy... I did not like Travis till this album, for my taste as a musician that I am, they were good... but depressing. This album comes, (except for the first song), in a happy, optimistic, well played and inspired way. For all that say that it sounds like classic Travis believe me, it doesn't. Good mood pretty much go from Selfish Jean to New Amsterdam, they are (thank god) downs too in this album, but it is pretty much very fun to listen to. If you like the depressing part of Travis this is probably not the album for you. Now I can look back and listen to the "old" stuff and love it too, pretty much I understand the sad part of Travis in an artistic way. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Under The Radar
    80
    Travis has taken the last four years to square their sunnier sound with their darker one. The Boy With No Name pulls this off without seeming overly planned or calculated. [#17, p.87]
  2. Alternative Press
    60
    Overall, The Boy With No Name has just enough personality to remind imitators like Coldplay and Keane from whence they came. [Jun 2007, p.151]
  3. There are plenty more wishy-washy guitar tunes present like the drippy, tambourine laced Battleships, the wheezing Out in Space and the sub-danger of Eyes Wide Open; all riddled with Fran Healy's girlish croon. Spare us.