The Bravest Man in the Universe

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    This is the first album by Bobby Womack I've ever listened too, and I must admit, it's one of the best, boldest, and biggest surprises I've listened too in the year 2012. Bobby Womack sounds tired, drifted, beat up, and 100% soulful. Womack sings the blues the best, he still sounds fantastic. The lyrics are powerful, and made me really look at things differently. The production is slick,This is the first album by Bobby Womack I've ever listened too, and I must admit, it's one of the best, boldest, and biggest surprises I've listened too in the year 2012. Bobby Womack sounds tired, drifted, beat up, and 100% soulful. Womack sings the blues the best, he still sounds fantastic. The lyrics are powerful, and made me really look at things differently. The production is slick, mixing Gorillaz style beats from Albarn with Bobby Womack couldn't of been a better movie. All In All, this album will forever go down as one of the best American releases of 2012, and will stick with me for the rest of my life. A Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I have little knowledge of Bobby Womack's past. Whatever that past was it has conspired to create a voice that is full of hope and sadness simultaneously. It is a voice both old and new and definitely beguiling. This album has a power and soul that continues to make me pause for reflection when I listen to it.
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Check out the full review at Manik Music! http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/bobby-womack-the-bravest-man-in-the-universe/#

    For those of you who donâ
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    Bobby Womack returns after many years of hiatus - and most importantly - he is back with a worthy successor over twelve years ago "Resurrection". The new album entitled "The bravest Man In The Universe" is above all the release maintained in the conventions of R&B music - but if you expect the album, whose songs are constantly played on the radio you'll be somewhat disappointed. But in theBobby Womack returns after many years of hiatus - and most importantly - he is back with a worthy successor over twelve years ago "Resurrection". The new album entitled "The bravest Man In The Universe" is above all the release maintained in the conventions of R&B music - but if you expect the album, whose songs are constantly played on the radio you'll be somewhat disappointed. But in the positive way. Songs - among others - created featuring Fatoumata Diawary, Gil Scott-Heron or Lana Del Rey, have this sophisticated and difficult to forge element which no doubt makes album is not only an interesting proposition for fans of R&B. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    It's to Russell and Albarn's eternal credit, then, that they not only noticed but reach out and made this wonderful record happen. [Jul 2012, p.99]
  2. Magnet
    Jul 24, 2012
    85
    The dramatic new music made by Bobby Womack - a true survivor - is an important listening session for any serious music lover. [No.89, p.60]
  3. The Wire
    Jul 24, 2012
    80
    The gift that this record has offered him is the gift of being who he is once again. [Jul 2012, p.59]