The Campfire Headphase

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Campfire Headphase Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Well, they certainly aren't the most prolific of artists, but the acclaimed Scottish electronica duo of Michael Sandison and Marcus Eoin finally return with a third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Urb
    100
    The Campfire Headphase is enough of a genre bender to finally introduce this music to a well-deserved new audience. [Dec 2005, p.94]
  2. [A] supreme collection of future-perfect broken nostalgia.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While The Campire Headphase sounds slightly defalted compared to [earlier] discs, it stlll has many charms. [Jan 2006, p.144]
  4. Billboard
    80
    It is a testament to Mike Sandison and Marcus Eoin's production acumen that the songs here sound so organic despite their computerized origin. [22 Oct 2005]
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    The likes of 'Chromakey Dreamcoat' sound like they were made on a potter's wheel rather than an iBook. [15 Oct 2005, p.36]
  6. The Campfire Headphase lacks the transcendent grace that made Music Has the Right to Children and even Geogaddi classics in their field.
  7. “Dayvan Cowboy” is almost worth the price of admission, but it makes the remainder of the album seem derivatively “New Age.”

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    An absolutely stunning masterpiece, The Campfire Headphase proves that Boards of Canada are deserving of their position at the pinnacle of theAn absolutely stunning masterpiece, The Campfire Headphase proves that Boards of Canada are deserving of their position at the pinnacle of the ambient genre. The woozy and calming vibes emanated throughout are nothing short of unparallelled. Expand
  2. TreyW
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    Boards of Canada offers a taste of the right-brained world and what lies beyond. (Psychedelic music of epic proportions.)
  3. ThomasH.
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    Stunning record! One of the best albums I've ever heard!
  4. kg
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    Much has been written on the third long player of Boards Of Canada. 'Guitars' is the word that is mostly associated with this Much has been written on the third long player of Boards Of Canada. 'Guitars' is the word that is mostly associated with this album, but I think that the focus on organic intruments doesn't touch the weathered down, nostalgic atmosphere of the Boards' music a bit. The cricts demand change, but I conservatively like it that way - their sound is the reason I love the artists in the first place. You got to embrace this album. Make love to it. What at first seem to be bland tunes without any direction will soon open up their insides to you... just give it some time. You can't properly review this without letting it stick in your cd player for a week. This is why this album, which I consider better than their highly acclaimed breakthrough album Music Has The Right To Children. While this dreamy album may not be as varied and deep as the darker Geogaddi, this piece of art will truly grow on you until you won't listen to anything else on a misty nature walk or a sunny road trip. Sure, there are some low points on the album. Texture showoffs like 'Ataronchronon' pass by unnoticed, and with tracks like 'Hey Saturday Sun', the feeling you've heard this before is not far away. These are countered by songs I consider BoC's best: the haunting 'Slow This Bird Down', the playful '84 Pontiac Dream', the uplifting 'Chromakey Dreamcoat', the magistral 'Oscar See Through Red Eye', and the closer 'Farwell Fire', slowly dying down like a real campfire. Get this album and let it soak into your brain. Expand
  5. EricJ
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    A bit lighter than geogaddi. They're getting back to that old MHTRTC sound yet they're pushing things in a new direction too. Only A bit lighter than geogaddi. They're getting back to that old MHTRTC sound yet they're pushing things in a new direction too. Only real problem with this album is that it took YEARS to make Expand
  6. ChairmanSac
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    I am thoroughly enjoying this album. After repeated listenings, I feel it is just as complex as their previous releases, if not more complex I am thoroughly enjoying this album. After repeated listenings, I feel it is just as complex as their previous releases, if not more complex at times. It's lighter, folkier and less sinister than their older work, but I don't feel this is a problem at all. It's a welcome change. See you in hell if you think otherwise. Expand
  7. EirikS
    Oct 19, 2005
    4
    Had expected so much more.

See all 36 User Reviews